August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds of hell!

by djdduty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTICE: PLEASE READ THIS: There seems to be a lot of confusion about this. You can NOT win this game, when it says "You won" It really means you beat the round, it isn't over though there are infinite rounds and they become progressively more difficult.

I made this game in only a few hours, I had wasted so much time, ~20 hours, trying to come up with an idea I just decided I'd make a simple game since my day today, the last day, was too busy for full programming.

About the game!
Made in roughly four hours(too long...) using java and lwjgl, plus a small hacked together framework called Wolf2D that I made, same one as last LD. https://github.com/djdduty/Wolf2D

Controls:
W/S control the scale of your triangle.
A/D control the rotation of your triangle.
Mouse move control the translation(position) of your triangle.

Objective: As closely as you can match your triangle's transforms with the other, you have a certain degree of tolerance but it slowly degrades until eventually a negative value(which I just realized in my head and probably didn't fix) so it will become impossible to complete! Also the random transforms used for the other triangle slowly become more difficult to match. If you become out of sync with the other triangle, you have three seconds to re-sync or you fail. The goal is to NOT fail for 10 seconds, then you progress to the next round, have fun!

p.s. this game wasn't made to impress anybody, but feedback is still nice!

EDIT, PLEASE READ THIS: There seems to be a lot of confusion about this. You can NOT win this game, when it says "You won" It really means you beat the round, it isn't over though there are infinite rounds and they become progressively more difficult.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#250Innovation3.41
#274Theme3.47
#562Overall3.05
#572Fun2.91
#818Graphics2.46
#842Humor1.76
#844Audio1.87
#941Mood2.17

Comments

djdduty says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:58am

Heh... there is a glitch that can allow you to go up to 3 seconds under the 10 seconds, caused by if you go out of sync in the last 0.5 second, then it waits for the out of-sync timer to run out before failing you... too lazy to fix.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:45pm

nice concept! It runs smooth like butter, and the shapes have a nice mystic, I dare say, Hellish, look to them.

I was wondering if it is a java related thing why the .jar files seem a bit excessively large - but that's off topic.

I like.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14am

The .jar has all the libs and natives for ALL of the platforms packed into it, they add up to quit a bit, and all images are .png.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Good concept, smoothly executed.

Drachlen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

I really love the graphics for this. The controls are fun, overall it's a great idea and I think there's a ton of potential for it. Good work

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30am

The project isn't working on Mac osx,I have Java installed.

borden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Runs very smooth, and it was probably hard to make, which I appreciate.

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38am

This is great game! I enjoy rotating & scaling these triangles :D. But you could make it infinite like it doesn't say that you won, it will just keep going with random triangles until you fail. That'd be so much fun :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

Amusing
Wish it was harder/faster.

Felt like the game was too easy

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01am

It is "infinite", when it says "You won!" it really means you won the round, there are infinite rounds that become infinitely more difficult!

shs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05am

The controls feel a little too responsive, but it's still a neat idea.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14am

@Zephyr89, can you run it from a command line and tell me if you get any ideas? @shs the controls are sensitive on purpose, eventually the triangle will start rotating a large amount, and in order to match the rotation in under 3 seconds you need fast controls, sorry but I saw no other solution.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15am

#Zephyr, I meant errors, not ideas, typical of me to make an error in a comment and them spam my own comment page. But if you can it might help me to fix it, since I cannot test on mac.

lucidlarva says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30am

That was more fun than I expected.

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

This is pretty interesting, even though you made it in only a few hours. I agree that the controls seemed a little sensitive, but I can agree with your justification for that.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37am

Decent concept and execution. I know it has been brought up before, but I would have loved to see a real round-based game with an ending using the idea. Good work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Cool idea! Reminds me of an entry from the Minimalist theme from last year, can't remember the name of it though...

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Enjoyed playing that, nice time killer.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I really, really love this game!! Its pretty cool and I love the challenge of it. Its great! I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vsw

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

The jar unfortunately didn't run on my Mac.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:34am

Such a simple idea, yet such an addicting game. Really good arcade-style game! It runs really well, and it is the kind of quick thinking/reflex game that really get you to try again and again to improve. Really well done!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Will post video review link when ready.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2833614

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:43am

fun :3

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

I really like the concept man, I think you should make it for touchable device.
Also you could reuse the mecanism in a more graphical game.

For instance, imagine in a hen house game, that the red triangle is eggs and the green triangle is a hen, you have to cover your eggs to protect them from something (a fox?).

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

I had fun playing it, even if it gets repetitive after a few minutes!
The old-school graphics work well, too. :)

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Really nice concept.

Aslai says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

I found it fun up to round 17. At that point I could hardly keep up with the other triangle. The graphics are simple, but crisp. With some frills, I could see it as a mobile game.

djdduty says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Did anyone make it past 17? I know I can't, pretty sure it'll become impossible. But since the velocity of the triangle is entirely random, then multiplied by a speed multiplier, it could be 0.5 x 30, being 6px/frame, or 0.01 x30, being 0.3px/frame, so you can still beat a hard round by just loosing a few times until you get lucky.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Very strange game, but not so bad :-)

djdduty says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:10am

Did I say 0.5*30 = 6? I must have been drunk again... AND tired. D: 15*

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]