August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mission Luna

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

After 10 seconds countdown your ship will lift off to moon, where you must try to take pictures of alien devices and return safe to earth to prove their existence to world.

*** HOW TO PLAY ***
All is done with the mouse. The cursor controls where are your view/hand. On game start, onboard computer will print information about the mission and you can hover mouse over cockpit controls to get some help on what it does.

This game was made to bring some real space flight feeling, so it will be hard to figure out controls at first. Firstly, the ship moves towards its velocity vector. You will get a strong push toward moon from initial lift off but in space this vector is adjusted only by rocket thrusts. This rocket (when active) push ship to its nose direction. So to bring ship at full stop for example, the rocket must be directed contrary to velocity vector. Keep an eye at moon and earth distance, as well the current craft velocity displayed in panels in front of you.
Did I mention that Earth and Moon gravity are in play? =)

So, the challenge is to reach moon, find orbital path and get gravitational pull to return earth with limited fuel.

Those black panels display information or device status (gray: off / lime: on). Each device that is turned on consumes battery.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#29Innovation(Jam)3.82
#60Mood(Jam)3.66
#118Overall(Jam)3.50
#155Fun(Jam)3.27
#248Graphics(Jam)3.44
#318Humor(Jam)2.31
#374Audio(Jam)2.56
#578Theme(Jam)2.05

Comments

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Well well, I have to say that the whole exprience is quite intresting and atmospheric, I liked it a lot but the controls are a bit too hard.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Not bad, it was pretty interesting, however I only crashed into the moon :( not sure how it relates to the theme very much. but good work

Katamori says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Also crashed on the moon :c also, it doesn't fit to the theme very well. However, I fell in love with it, since I CAN CONTROL A DAMN SPACE SHIP! 4 overall, but theme is only 1.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere created :)

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Great ship! I'm a bit disappointed with the engineer who designed my viewports, but I think that's realistic.

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:24pm

The player can't control the thrusters and see the viewport at the same time. A keyboard control would have been better.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Nice experience, bit hard to control but very enjoyable. I'll be honest,I din't manage to reach the moon :D

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Humorous simulation game, it might be a good idea to display the velocity vector and rotation on a screen somewhere, as it is sometimes difficult to determine where you're going.

tamat says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Great experience. Maybe if I could control some stuff using the keyboard or at least look through the window while I do it.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Not a fan of the mouse controls. I guess KSP spoiled me too much. But that's not a fair comparison, is it?

Interesting concept, and fun idea. Clean presentation. But very disorienting. Having a mission control where you could plan things out in advance would have been awesome.

Also, if you continue on this, make the sound a bit more in-your-face. That would really add to the overall atmosphere.

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Very cool spin on kerbals and other star based games. enjoyed every second of it!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:45pm

This is pretty cool, but I would have liked to see more with the theme.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Very atmospheric nice concept

Sebastian says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Oh shit, everything was going fine until I started touching the controls... I'm awful at this, but it looks and feels very nice. Great work. The theme was used quite sparingly.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Really like the resource system, keeping the solar panels lit while manoeuvring is quite the challenge. Sadly trying to work out your direction of travel from the information given is difficult so I had no idea if I was ever in a good orbit or not (every time ended up crashing on the moon or getting lost in deep space). I like the alarm and all the computer panels, lots of features that KSP would be awesome to have.

Mesene says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Awesome, I crashed too but I'll try again later, this game deserves more coments!

psychomonster says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Cool simulation... I never reached any object... but i feld very good to play this...

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:55am

It would have been nice to be able to see what the controls did while in flight.

XaiZil says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:31pm

I couldn't really "do it" at all, didn't understand what bits meant

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Took a while to get used to controls. Great, I can control spaceship! Took photos of a few alien saucers (they were mostly around Earth) and crashed in the moon successfully. Theme is, I think, the start that is bugged when I launch before computer stops beeping? :D

Gear says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Had fun playing with the controls :)

Tater_hater says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Wow i love this game

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:41am

This is seriously more than I can handle. Is there anyway for you to put a download link for the game? I'd like to hold on to it forever!

Stars aside, the only thing I manage to relate to the theme was the launch countdown. Is that all? Because it's a shame such a well worked game would fail on the basic aspect of the competition. =(

Please, a download link!!! *-*

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I loved this, its a great concept and well executed - very tough but awesome gameplay.

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:29pm

This is an excellent simulation game! I think I've been playing it for the past two hours or so.

I REALLY hope you take this at least a little further and like ghRibacki said, let us play it fullscreen!

There are some little issues however, like how it's freakin impossible to find your way back to earth :3, (if you're lost in space,) there needs to be a way to end the mission and see your score as well as a way to restart the mission, and against all odds, I actually DID TAKE some awesome pictures of alien craft, but you gave me twice as many points just for breathing! :`(

See?
http://i.imgur.com/6REQE4F.png

Anyways, this is an AWESOME entry and I'm going to go back to trying to land on Earth now :D
p.s. My high score is 1941

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

One of my favorite games I have played. Its at some points thrilling, at other parts stressful/terrifying. Once I ran out of power, I was like "CRAP!" and then I got stuck spinning around in circles until I figured out how to stop spinning. I am very happy I got to see an alien flash by my top window (maybe it was just a satellite or something). Anyways great job.

Zap says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

Awesome atmosphere! I found it very difficult to control, but that was all part of the challenge. And even though I only managed to see objects zoom past my window too fast to take a photo (full throttle, all the time!), I still really enjoyed this and played for quite a while with a few attempts. Pretty cool.

mortus says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:57am

Wow, a space simulator game in 72 hours. A fun one too! Many people mentioned KSP in comments but I am an Orbiter player and I accept your challenge! Of course, the fact that your spaceship has only a gyro of all navigational equipment will make it much harder.

Anyway, my first try killed me (forgot about oxygen, there was annoying beeping sound to remind me but as I turned off my computer I had no idea what was it for) but I'm going to try few more times. Consider me dead if I won't return to leave a comment again.

Btw, In post-mortem you said that you fail most of the times too, so I'm curious: have you actually ever succeeded in the game yourself? :D

mortus says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:17am

Well, I'm back and I hate to say but I'm disappointed.

I actually managed to go 50 km away from moon surface, take great photos of saucers and get back to earth and after all that time I got crashed on the Earth surface. I didn't even think it was possible! How do you get a success screen then? Is it even possible? Do you have to land really slow on the Earth surface?

Solar panel bug is annoying as hell. I had to spend half of the time in game just aligning myself in random ways, waiting until it will get some power. It seemed pretty much random to me whether it works or not. And sometimes it will stop working even if I don't turn around.

Another unpleasant bug is saucers detection system on photos. I had 3 or 4 photos with big clear saucers on them that said "No anomaly in this picture". On the other hand, most of my close-distance photos of the moon seem to have Alien Base on them even though I've not seen it even once.

Consider following screenshot:
http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/1018/zz2d.png

Having said all that, it's still a great game for 72 hours. I hope you don't mind long reviews and criticism. :D

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Great game, i really liked it, it's really well done :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Really nice ideas. Especially the virtual reality simulation and the photo mission. It really feels a bit like flying to the moon, although I was more crashing on the moon...

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice game! Cool idea! Good work.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Very traumatic game. I made it to the moon then when trying to turn around I made the whole thing spin wildly and I lost all the power and all the fuel. I shouldn't be an astronaut. I do like all the other space crap you added in though!

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 4:10am

I would like to thank everyone that played and rated Mission Luna.

Reception and results was better than I expected! I can reinforce my will in finish a more playable post compo version with all features discussed in post mortem as well suggestions from this page.

Some answers:

- The "10 seconds" theme usage was supposed to be the initial launch countdown... Ok, I admit, very poor hahaha... did my best.

@ghRibacki: Thank you! Glad to see that you liked it, fell free to contact me, so I can write you a line when post-compo version is ready.

@Jedi: Post compo version will have full screen support =) Nice UFO picture! Sadly, the photo capture and rating system is currently crippled with bugs as it was made VERY close to deadline.

@mortus: Thank you for the review! Sorry about the bugs =D This project was far too ambitious for 72 hours so bugs runs free. And no, I didnt get better results =)... One time or another I did achieve very temporary moon orbit and then kissed moon surface for good. To return to earth in safety you must touch it in less than 20 of velocity (overall this part of game was very rushed)

rex4 says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 10:38am

I hope you still look those comments because it seems that we can't send private messages here: I think it's simply bugged and you can't land on the moon, I could land on earth by doing a 180° twice and being still quite fast, while I couldn't land on the moon by being very slow after only one 180° so with less imprecision. Not like it's the goal of the game but it's something that could be fun to do.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 18, 2013 @ 4:29pm

@rex: Sure! Moon landing will be implemented. Not only land but drive a hover across moon surface and get closer pictures of alien bases. Sadly, I was unable to code that much in 72 hours but please stay tuned for post compo version.

rex4 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:16pm

So, will you happen to do it ? That much time after, and after participated in this next "ludum dare" I doubt about it. You wouldn't be the first developer I see that say to be "very motivated" to do something and never do it in the end. I though that they did reward anything for creating those games but I saw after that they didn't, so I don't even see a reason to loose any motivation once this "ludum dare" is finished, it and its imposed theme...

LTyrosine says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:42pm

@rex: I understand what you said and would like to apologize for the delay. I understand that I made a commitment to finish Mission Luna to you and many players that wrote to me, and I will, in fact this is exactly what I'm working on right now.

I will post on Ludum Dare front page when its ready for a first beta test.

rex4 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Thanks then, not like I pay you for this but you promised this to a game I really liked (maybe you can see that an IP connected much more often than others) so I was disappointed it had no future despite your promise.

LTyrosine says ...
May 24, 2014 @ 8:10pm

First post compo preview video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HqpwgkNUkw#t=20

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]