August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lunar Rush

by timmahh - Jam Entry

Try to survive for as long as possible.

Controls
WASD - Movement
Left Mouse Button - Shoot

Too many things came up over the past 3 days which didn't help because I am just learning Unity but I am happy to get something finished :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#370Fun(Jam)2.72
#449Audio(Jam)2.16
#459Theme(Jam)2.72
#483Graphics(Jam)2.58
#533Mood(Jam)2.00
#574Overall(Jam)2.35
#604Innovation(Jam)1.72
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

wombatica says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Nice game. Firing didn't seem to work but might be my laptop config

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Keep Going man! :D Nice job!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29am

Great graphics! Was it stock art because, if you drew them yourself, I predict great things in the next LD :)

Thijsku says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice little game! It's a bit basic, but I think it's amazing that you made this in one day. (especially since you're new to Unity) You made great use of the theme!

Too bad there is no music in this game. It would've been nice if the tempo of the music would go faster each round. Some powerups and more variation in the enemies would be cool too.

A simple thing like a rounds-counter can be great, because it will allow people to easily compete with each other.

Anyway, keep up the good work! :)

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Keep up good work mate!

One thing might be good to add is the wave or round counting, as it's kind like an endless for now.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Hey great job on finishing something after just learning Unity! And just wanted to say that the description says right mouse button to shoot, but it is obviously the left mouse button!
Anyways well done

5ants team says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Congrats and welcome to Unity. Keep working, it's really amazing that you finished your game!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Simple and easy to control, gets pretty hectic further in. Great entry!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Nice job overall! Gameplay is addictive me, and graphic is quite cool. The only small bug that caught my eye this is that a few enemies bugged in the corner of the map, but it doesn't have a major impact on the game, I finally lost in the next wave :D

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Thanks to everyone for playing my game thus far :) Just some replies:

@Will Edwards - all the graphics were my own creation, I went through a tutorial to create the background in GIMP (http://www.gimpusers.com/tutorials/starfield-tutorial) and all the other graphics came from my limited pixel art experience.

@Thijsku - I had added power ups but they kept on bugging out :( I agree a rounds/points counter would allow some competition so that there is more of an incentive to do better each time! Thanks for playing my game!

@TijmenTio - Woops! Will fix!

@MuciojadPL - Thats because sometimes enemies spawn on top of each other and freak out BUT you can get 2 free kills that way :P

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

It's a nice little game who can become addictive really fast. :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

It's quite cool! Love the idea of using 10 seconds as a spawn interval.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice start for a game. With some depth to the combat and a high score system or ending it could be really nice. Like the graphics and sound.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Ship movement felt a little off - needed more inertia maybe? Agree with the others that it needed a score/wave counter and also a game over state. Pretty good for your limited time though!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Pretty simple concept. I think I got to around wave 15? Not sure though. Would be nice to have a counter. I noticed some enemies would get stuck sometimes and when I died, I just kind of stayed there, taking hits, haha. Decent effort though for learning unity, keep it up!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Nice game, the controls where super smooth and a joy to play.

Only thing that bugged out was, when I died my ship froze but the mobs kept coming, you probs know about that though I'm sure.

Anyway, cool!

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:41am

Oh man, those saucers show no mercy once you finally lose.

The game could use more variety, but it's pretty well made for what you set out to accomplish. Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]