August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Card Smack

by Gazok - Jam Entry

Note: The Windows version has had a crash-fix.

Card Smack is the flagship game of SBS: the Smack Based [Game] System.

Featuring a high-fantasy setting, Card Smack focuses on lightning-quick reflexes and tactical decision-making.

Sounds good, right?
Wrong.

Abilities don't do anything, and nor does the AI, floundering uselessly in the corner over there. The user-interface barely reflects the state of play, and you clearly have no idea what you're doing anyway, so why did we even bother?

Controls (my apologies to dvorak users everywhere):
s, d, f, j, k, l - play smackhead/toggle smack.
a, <SemiColon> - shift deck left/right.
<Space> - Deliver Smack.

Take care not to smaceroniously.

Mac Requirements:
libsfml 2.x "Clang" version:
http://www.sfml-dev.org/download/sfml/2.0/
libboost

Linux Requirements:
libsfml 2.x
libboost

Credits:
Jamie "Gazok" Bayne: Programming/Design
Ed "SalamiChild" Horsey: Graphics/Design
"Gothic Pixel" font by SparklyDest
http://www.dafont.com/gothic-pixel.font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#118Innovation(Jam)3.41
#208Graphics(Jam)3.59
#294Theme(Jam)3.06
#365Humor(Jam)2.13
#392Mood(Jam)2.63
#450Overall(Jam)2.74
#462Fun(Jam)2.47

Comments

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40am

Crushed when i choose "Play" in main menu on Windows.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32am

"retry a few times if it crashes on "play"" Just out of curiosity: what causes that bug? ;)

As a side note:
Using ";" as a game relevant key is a bad idea because not only is the ";" keys location a different one for differenttly localized keyboards but the keycode for the input event will actually correspond to a completely different key in some cases. On a german keyboard what you refer to as ";" is actually "Ü" :)

I really really like the idea and style of the game. But it is so increadibly challenging to keep track of everything going on that at least for me it probably would have been too fast to take a lot of tactically meaningful decisions even if the abilities did anything.
Let's not talk about the AI ;)

I really would have enjoyed this a lot if it would work a bit better :)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

A card game!! Say it ain't so!? I'm a sucker for these kinds of games anyway, but this one was really fun (aside from the crashing bug).

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Your control scheme makes literally zero sense.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Looks interesting! The Linux binary does not run (ld shows me is 64-bit, awe), and compiling from source fails - seems your Tank engine is only linked in and is not included in the github download. Trying to mannualy build Tank fails as my repo libsfml is only version 1.x. A 32-bit version would be nice to have :D

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Crashes when I select play as well

Gazok says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18pm

To people who are complaining about the play crash: read the description, which says it will crash the first time you run it. Tonight I will try to work out why.

@keyboardmoney Thanks for your effort to try to get it working. From what you said, I've put build instructions in my github release - very remiss of me not to include them. I'm going to build and upload a 32bit version now.

Gazok says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I stand corrected - it turns out on my distribution, there are no x86 sfml2 libs, so I can't actually build it.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:20am

I'd love to play a more complete version of this, I love card games and the visuals are actually pretty good!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:58am

It crashed when I pushed play.

Gazok says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42am

@madk - my control scheme makes perfect sense. You have limited time: you need to be able to respond quickly. asdfjkl; correspond to the "home row" of the most popular keyboard layout. I apologize if it is not a layout you share.

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:50am

The game doesn't run for me. I can open the main menu and the tutorial, but it crashes when I select play. Probably my old Windows XP...

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Ha! Please finish this! I'd totally play it with some fantasy illustrations and an easier control scheme!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Once I got past that strange crash bug, I found the game terribly confusing (yes I read the tutorial). Somehow I ended up winning. The game doesn't seem to communicate much who's winning, apart from in the console window. I did like the graphics though.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice graphics, game didn't crash on me. Looks like a game that could be very interesting with a complete AI, and all the other things you're talking about. Don't be so harsh with yourself. :) You did a good job!

GigaBass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Didn't crash on me either: loved the idea and concept. Could become a really cool game if finished, and polished. Great idea for a 2-player tablet game.
Love the artwork on it :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

That was nice. Loved the graphics and the pace. I would suggest friendlier controls though.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Visuals are pretty nice!!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:10am

I really liked the idea but it was kinda hard to play because of the controls. I would love to see a mouse control. I think the combination of a card game and the theme was spot on. I never experienced a sense of urgency in a card game. Good job on that regard. Loved the art!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Good seeing an original card based game here! Couldn't figure out the damaging system though. This would be great if finished!

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:00am

Nice Visuals

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

fun :D

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:03am

Very well developed card game. Loved it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation video series, if youd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/7EzKbFuvC2A

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice card game ... well done

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Hmmm, looks cool, but if you say it is broken, there is no need to try and understand that obscure control scheme... What a pitty, I like card games myself! :(

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Looks solid, but I didn't find it very intuitive at all, even after reading the tutorial. That coupled with the large array of keys to control and the 10 seconds left me with a lot of panic, frustration and confusion. Having said all that, this game looks like it could be pretty good with a bit more work and I liked the visuals of it.

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:10am

not bad, but there is no fun

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:08pm

You're right. I honesty had no idea what I was doing so I was just throwing out the strongest card I had. No I wasn't even doing that I was just throwing out card. And still won.
I liked the graphics and had fun with it and might actually play again. It would be nice if you pursued this more and added things like difficulty setting and maybe 2 player local or online. And music would be nice.

-AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]