August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Hero

by lucas_gaspar - Jam Entry

You are a Superhero!, but your powers only lasts 10 seconds, but dont worry, you regain your powers on another 10 seconds!

You can not get hurt when you are a Superhero, but as soon as you lose your powers you become completely vulnerable.

Movement - LeftKey & RightKey
Jump - UpKey/SpaceBar
Crouch - DownKey
Shoot - Z (Only while HeroMode)

The current HighScore is 17,170 by Me! :)
Post your HighScores!!!, im going to post here the highest one!!

I hope you Enjoy :)

Game by: Alan Gaspar Einung
Music by: Aldo Martinez Chavez

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#143Fun(Jam)3.30
#163Theme(Jam)3.39
#204Audio(Jam)3.09
#222Humor(Jam)2.71
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#314Overall(Jam)3.06
#322Innovation(Jam)2.91
#498Graphics(Jam)2.52

Comments

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Nice idea to swap between 2 game states after 10 seconds. Movement feels really nice and fluid. I found it very hard to stay alive though and haven't once lived through the second 10 seconds. If the enemies were slower and the robots didn't come in until the second time you turn human that would be cool. With a bit more balancing I recon it would be really nice!

lucas_gaspar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I did some balance now, i hope it gets a little easier, thank you for your feedback!! :)

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

I love the concept here! It's very hard to survive in normal form, so you're running around trying to kill everything before you turn weak again. Nice job! :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Nice combination of platformer and avoider! The animations are fun, and the music fits nicely :)

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Was hard to get passed the ten seconds, couldn't work out what the goal was for a while. I like the switching though

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Those dos are pretty harsh :p

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Those dogs are pretty harsh :p

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Really fun! nice ide :D

lucas_gaspar says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Im going to change it so you start as a SuperHero, i think it will become a little easier that way, the people can see the enemies behavior before they become a danger and the action of shooting will be available from the start.

CrossBread says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:04am

Liked the high score feature and how you drop straight back into the action to try again. Took a second to realize you can't shoot unless you're the hero.

shard123 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Really fun concept and really well executed!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Nice simple game. The graphics could have been a bit more polished but fun to play anyway. Good job :)

Jayjay says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:10am

Fun game, I like alternating between offensive and defensive gameplay

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

Great game, loved the music. Good use of the theme :D

doonay21 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I cannot believe how fun this game is :) Even simple graphics did not bother me. Good job, You have got one of the highest ratings from me, and I am after more than 320 games! Well done!

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:13am

Fun game, solid controls. :)

lucas_gaspar says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:56am

Thank you everyone for your support! :D

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very fun game, love the idea of becoming a normal person then a hero. Great job! I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

jwolf says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Harsh! But pretty fun. Amusing to see the hero cowering and/or jumping dogs for 10s.

psc1997 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great game :)

fferro234 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:34am

Fun idea. I like trying to dodge dogs and lazer beams as a normal guy and then get my revenge when I turn to a super hero.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]