August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CatAstroFree

by haxpor - Jam Entry

A cat falls down from the real physical world 490 m above the ground, **that means it would takes 10 seconds for the cat to reach the ground.

There's a myth called Nine Live (see wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nine_Lives) as before it actually died in physical world it goes into a virtual world to find the way out and live again. And this is your mission to cleanly avoid all obstacles and go directly to the ground in 10 seconds.

The catch is that the cat falls down from the space! Then you need to help it passes through each chunk of world!

- Control -
W A S D for movement (for block movement)
**Space** to activate ghost trick (slow down time) + **Mouse drag** obstacles object in any direction to clear your path (3 chances to do this).

- Credits -
@haxpor - Coder
@blufiro - Coder
@suepphatt - Modeler & Animation, Texture Artist
@5argon - Sfx & Music

Check all updates while we were doing the jam at http://basementdojo.tumblr.com.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#51Humor(Jam)3.63
#120Fun(Jam)3.36
#131Audio(Jam)3.33
#242Mood(Jam)3.06
#256Overall(Jam)3.19
#283Graphics(Jam)3.29
#306Innovation(Jam)2.95
#363Theme(Jam)2.93

Comments

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

Haha that soundtrack at level 3 :D Cool Game...

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

Nice game although it took ages to load for some reason, maybe the asset size? The bullet time style mode was useful :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

Also you can go way off screen if you keep going hahah

haxpor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:25am

@Nick Thanks for mentioning about loading time, we minimally concern that while we're building stuff. This is the first time I do something solid with Unity. Glad you like that mode :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I really like this game. Its really cute and I enjoy falling down to the earth as a cat. I featured it in my compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8Polnsp4F8

Kad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Short but fun, fell in love with that kitten XD

haxpor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks so much! Love the video :)
@Kad We as much as we do, thanks :)

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

WIEN CAT! :D
Takes a loooooooooong time to load. but hilarious xD

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

@Soundless_dev Thanks! I moved the file to dropbox instead of putting at our own server. I hope it would make it loads faster.

Siegfur says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:32pm

This, good sirs, is just epic.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Wow, have lot of laughs from this game. 8D Too random in levels sometimes, but maybe it for better here.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Took a long time to load but ahahahaha, worth it xD

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:08am

Okay, this is way cute haha!
There doesn't appear to be bounds/invisible walls, so cheating is very possible :O Awesome game!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:09am

damnet. extra points for cats. I also like the cat model and the atmospheric music. the movment could use some work. also letting me see a little better if i was about to get hit.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11am

Lovely :) Like the nice variations of levels.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:55am

Fun! I just moved the cat out of the screen up top and got through all the levels pretty easy. Quite a few times I died before getting to do anything though

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:10am

Solid basis! With a lot of potential. Currently it's a bit rough around the edges, but still fun.

Music fits nicely, and Ilike the sound-effects.

Controls are a bit wonky though. Mouse+Drag does nothing, and on level 2 the cat spawns inside the geometry more often than not and immediately fails.

Still, solid work!

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

Thanks for feedback guys!
@syradinegames It's bounded far away from the perspective from the camera, I would like to introduce some kind like a curiosity if they gone too far :) But thanks for your feeback.

@matthias_zarzecki Thank you so much! Sorry for that spawning situation to occurs, right now it's purely random in some ways. We will possibly work more on that in post-jam. :)

REIN1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

Very funny~Fantastic cat voice~

gmaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:38pm

haha)) really fun game! =) great job!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Finished!
It's amazing to see where cats can find themselves if left without supervision.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Great sound effects and music, but there are some bugs which others already pointed out... but there is still one unsolved mystery... what came first, the name or the gameplay :D

nolann says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Funny liked the sounds

Sherun says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:45am

This game might be more fair if you used cube shapes like in stage 2 for all stages

acro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Great graphics and music. I liked the ghost trick mechanic once I got the hang of it. The randomness could be tweaked a little, a few times I died straight away because there was an object right in front of me. Good fun though, well done!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Ok..strange idea, but pretty fun

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:05am

Haha that song. I was doing fine until the christmas angel level. I couldnt get the object ghost grab to work successfully unfortunately.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:13pm

The melody in level 2 sounds kinda like Legend of Aokigahara by ZUN. The music is pretty much what makes this so funny.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Or more like the audio in general, but yeah.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]