August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

KunoNoOni's Magical Star Saga

by KunoNoOni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

KunoNoOni's Magical Star Saga is a platform game made in the style of those old NES platform games. This game is HARD!

Everything is explained in the game but for completeness here are the controls

LEFT/RIGHT - Move
SPACE - Jump
M/U - Mute Music/UnMute Music

Tips
----

You start with 48 health. This will make more sense when you read the instructions in game.

The health timer begins the moment the level begins and keeps counting even if you pickup a heart. This is not a bug. Time stops for no one :)

You can jump if you're on a platform or if your falling. But you can only jump once. There is no double jump. This is very important to remember. All the jumps in this game can be made.

I know I said it above but I want to say it again. This game is HARD but it is very completable. I did it twice in a row myself. If you remember the tips above you'll have no problem with the game.

I cannot make music. I recommend you press M on the title screen to MUTE the music.

Please enjoy my submission! I hope you have as much fun playing it as I had making it. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#346Humor2.64
#483Overall3.13
#550Fun2.93
#618Graphics2.78
#630Mood2.63
#674Audio2.32
#944Theme2.68
#986Innovation2.32

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:44am

Wow, this is phenomenally hard! Was OK once I figured out how to jump whilst falling though. Well done on your game

ix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

The idea of jumping while falling is a good one. Something about the controls feels off, though; perhaps its the lack of any momentum (real or visual) in the controls.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11am

Some really tough jumps and the health draining really gave a sense of urgency. Perhaps the contrast on the character to the background and the blocks can be adjusted, I felt like it was a bit tough to see exactly when I reached the absolute edge of the platforms. Since this game requires you to keep moving, stopping to judge distance can cost you your life! Also a pretty funny premise for the story, great job!

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:14am

Neither me nor my brother could manage to do the second jump ):

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19am

WAY TOO DIFFICULT! (Or I'm just horrible at platforming XD )
Anyways, mostly everything is pretty nice!

borden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Too hard for me!
Nice graphics.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33am

Probably one of the most solid games I've seen so far this LD. The falling jump was a little tricky at first, but it kept me playing over an over! Good design, story + music!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

Appreciate the feedback. As ix says, the secret to making the jumps is to run off the platform AND THEN jump. Not every jump needs this technique though but a majority of them do.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38am

You were right about the fact that it is really hard! But I like games that are some of a challenge. Nice little story too! :)

itidus21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

I beat it in about 23 minutes of play. Haw haw haw.

Best game intro ever.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:25am

Hah, I was stuck at that second jump for a while, but finally figured it out. Probably should have mentioned you could jump while falling in-game :P anyway, great work! It's still pretty hard, but the controls are pretty tight. I do feel like the theme was a bit tacked into the game though.

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:42am

Really hard game, but I like it, nice work!

netgrind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:53am

Took me a bit to realize I could jump while falling. I kept slowly jumping later to find out where the hit box ended to discover I could jump at any time.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

Very hard. Once I realized I could jump after falling I could at least get to the second block. The controls were tight. Good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

Hard, which is great! Great, which is hard :) Thanks for the game!

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

The difficulty of game is off the charts!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

Hard indeed, but very fun. Excellent.
A little comment though. The hitbox for the stars you've got to pick up is a little tricky, and the star had fun just hovering above my head, leading me to become a bloody mess just a second later before I could realize I didn't pick it up :P
Fun and stuff for sure !

leafo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:27am

interesting game, way to unforgiving though! You should spawn at last star when you die or something.

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58pm

I like the mechanic of jumping while falling, but either I missed it, or there is no mention of it in the game. Made it really difficult until I read the comments here. Also, maybe ramp up the difficulty a little bit slower.

nolann says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

a bit hard for me but I liked the graphics

PhiL Blunt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Pretty hard, but enjoyed playing.

funkbob says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Very fun game, liked the falling then jumping mechanic. Got stuck on the 4th level for a while, managed to do the 5th first go :-) Def no easier, this is in the vain of super-meat boy etc,

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Again I appreciate all the feedback.

@Laelien yeah this is because the hitbox for the player is half his height. In hind site I should have increased the hitbox of the stars :)

@Jason nope you didn't miss it. There is no mention in the game. I did however mention it in the tips above...
"You can jump if you're on a platform or if your falling. But you can only jump once. There is no double jump. This is very important to remember. All the jumps in this game can be made."

@funkbob yeah the 4th level gave me problems too :) I actually had to update the 5th level as it able to be completed without losing any health!

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

That was pretty fun :D Made it to the second level and almost beat it before I rage quit haha, you should continue developing this and maybe having a difficulty level ;)

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23am

Seriously, this thing is awfully tough, and can get quite frustrating. I finally made it through though....but man, when I fall down 2 levels of floors, I just want to chuck my keyboard against the wall. If that's what you were going for, it was a phenomenal success. I mean this all in the nicest way possible of course :)

DuFF says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30am

This game is really hard! I would have liked to play through the whole game but the first few jumps are killing me. Nice work though.

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31am

Incredibly difficult and invokes roughly the same feelings that "I wanna be the guy" does, but does get a bit addictive

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34am

Once you get the double jumping down, the game is pretty fun. The music kinda drove me crazy though. I will hear the level 4 village music in my sleep tonight.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:49am

Redonkulous! This is very hard. Nice work even though I'm frustrated :)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06am

Awesomely funny background story. Made me laugh. Graphics that fit the game's style. But I must say, the game is really hard. I gave up when I got the first star after I had failed 50 times or so...

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:02am

I'm glad you all like it! Yes it is hard. Very hard. Just like those platformers on various the systems. Those platformers where you scream at the TV and want to throw your controller at. Where you swear once you beat it you'll never play it again! But its one of those games that once you do beat it you feel good about yourself for do it. That is the game I made.

As for the music I did warn you all, I am no musician. LOL. You can hit M on the titlescreen to turn off the music.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05am

Definitely hard, but not overly frustrating. The graphics are bad, but I like the backgrounds. I like that the mute buttons are idempotent.

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:31am

You are HARDCORE. Excellent rainbow!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:52am

really really difficult, but rewarding. great job!

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:07am

Completed! Excellent level design. I found that level 5 is the easiest one :P

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

brings me back to the days of dangerous dave =).. was hard for me tho =)

zeh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Very hard (I had to double-check the description to realize the jump mechanic). Maybe too much text in the beginning too. Nice entry though! With some amount of polish it'd be a great platformer.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

good job

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

The falling/jumping trick was neat. It took me a while to get used to because it's so counter-intuitive but that was part of the fun. This game was maybe a little too tricky for my old fingers but I enjoyed it a lot. Nice mood and general aesthetic.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Its really good to here you all liked it :) Thank you.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Not too hard, but having to start all over is really annoying.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very difficult, I love it :) I think it might've been a good thing to make the stars checkpoints, though. It's nearly impossible to get all the way up in one go. I liked the fact that you have to jump after falling, it really messes with my platforming ideology!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:06am

At first it seemed that it was impossible, then I read the description and found out about the jump mechanic... I finally beat the game :) It was challenging and fun, well done!

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Once I figured out I could jump while falling it was a bit better. But the game is still too hard. Especially considering that it is hard from the very first level. A bit of ramp-up would have been nice. Also a tip on the falling-jump thing in-game.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:20am

Way too hard; it kind of felt unfair. I do the like the mechanic of jumping while falling, even though I couldn't really get used to it.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I was stuck on the second jump for ages until I realised that I could jump while in the air. Once I got past that hurdle, this was quite a decent, hard platformer, if not pushing the envelope in any way. The graphics are a little bit crude, but not bad, and I like the main character sprite. I enjoyed the obvious excuse plot, and it's cool that you made a different tune for each level.

I'm proud to say I beat it, but my thumb aches now...

KunoNoOni says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Thank you all for the feedback, I really appreciate it.

@Niavlys @Christina Nordlander Congrats to the both of you for beating the game!

Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:41am

Nice work, it's pretty fun and polished, and the music's really not bad :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I think you could've put the info that you can jump while falling a little more prominently in the description - for example where the controls are. It's easily overread where it is right now!

After I understood that, I could actually manage the second jump, haha. The controls are pretty tight, but the game was is still too hard for me.

The intro was pretty cool!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:25am

Agree with most comments above. I could not grasp the jumping mechanic until I read your longer description above. It's pretty counter intuitive, but I can see it being an interesting mechanic. The game is punishingly hard :) Harder than I'd recommend for a compo game, but great job for 48 hours. I think I'd prefer the mechanic if the *only* way to jump was from falling, so you don't get the two mixed up and confused?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]