August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Wizard

by zzForrest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Time Wizard, you play as the Time Wizard. He has 10 seconds to retrieve the Golden Scepter from his foe, the Green Wizard. How should he complete this task in 10 seconds? By reversing time, of course! The Time Wizard has the ability to reverse time without reversing his actions, and can therefore flip a lever, reverse time, and the lever will still be flipped!
Control him with WASD or Arrow Keys, flip levers with X or Down, and jump with W, Z, or Up!
*Edit*
As pointed out by one of the players, this game can in fact play on Linux.
*Edit*
Works on mac too.
*NOTICE* if you get any errors, most likely you don't have the most recent JRE. Update your java and it'll work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#115Theme3.73
#144Fun3.50
#224Overall3.43
#324Humor2.67
#432Mood2.88
#455Graphics3.05
#563Innovation2.95
#622Audio2.43

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I really liked it. the time warp was a very interesting mechanic, especially when you added in the sand.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

A well done game. Not very innovative, but fun and clearly thought out. Cheers!

jwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

Pretty solid entry! I was a bit confused at first, thinking that you had to always just use 'R' (which resets the level), but when I saw the 'X' in the timeout screen, things made more sense.

I like how the difficulty ramps up.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:24am

Certainly fun in its own special way. Time warp was the most interesting part, for sure. Nicely done!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:45am

Interesting gameplay, needed to be quick to built those houses ;)

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Why "Windows (JAR)"? This runs perfectly fine on Linux, too. ;)
Anyway: nice game, lovely ending screen. :)

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I liked the sand. But if i jump on the sand repeatly it doesn't break. I used this glitch to pass the levels :D

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Great! This is true, finished game, which is tricky, fun to play and with bossfight :)

grozamorei says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01pm

i cannot launch the game. the error is:

Could not find the main class: net.zzforrest.ludumdare27.Main. Program will exit.

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

The time-warp puzzles are clever. The controls are a bit floaty, though. I think if the handling was just a bit more solid, the game would feel better.

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Very fun game. The levels were nicely designed and were a good challenge. I think the controls could have used some work though. Sometimes I would try to jump over 1 tile and jump 3 high straight into a death spike. Maybe change the jump height depending on how long the player holds down the jump key? Nice job.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37pm

This game is really going somewhere. You should keep making it. Very complete for 48 hours!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Nice game, good level design and concept :)

Latcarf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

Good game! I liked the fact that there are many levels.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36am

Very interesting entry, I like it.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Fun, especially time warp! Good job.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Sorry, no Java here.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

HAHA! What an awesome mechanic! Great puzzle game :)

cyanpelican says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

The hitboxes on the red triangles seemed a bit big and the boss was a bit under documented, but it was still fun

m110 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Fun to play and challenging, although jumping felt a bit weird, I kept on hitting the platforms with my head. :)

timothyolt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Did not work on Linux. D: I got a Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: net/zzforrest/ludumdare27/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Finished with 14400 points, and only 12 warps :D

It was fun, and had some good level design, teaching you the workings of the time staff.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:49pm

A good entry for 48 hours. The first few levels were fun, but they got increasingly difficult. At first I found dying very annoying, because restarting turned back all the levers as opposed to warping(I was pretty used to warping at that point) xD
Nice graphics and sounds, too!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:14am

Great Game!
The jar file worked on a Mac.

Sink says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Really fun and cute. I like the warping mechanic, really neat.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]