August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10s Zombies

by Myyyvothrr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The small game I made for Ludum Dare 27. Made with Impact, should run in any browser. WASD or arrow key to move.

You are a zombie. You need to get to the huge brain. You need to eat every 10 seconds. Stay away from the guards. If you die you can continue as one of the remaining zombies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#295Humor2.74
#343Audio2.92
#501Mood2.80
#566Theme3.17
#660Overall2.96
#705Graphics2.64
#756Innovation2.71
#766Fun2.68

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

Liked the idea, liked the game but like faster games, everything else is great

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Yup could be a little bit faster, but I guess this slowness is somehow moody. SFX is hilarious ;)

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

i feel like the predator hunting arnie in the jungle

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

The zombie was a bit sluggish but I like them that way

kratorspore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Very atmospheric soundtrack and pretty compelling gameplay. Yeah the slow speed was an issue and there was a little too much luck involved for my liking.

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Works nicely :) The game would have been even better with an additional gameplay trick, like a way to manually switch the controlled zombie, or a faster paladin but who follows predetermined paths.

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Liked the idea, but gameplay a bit felt slow for it to be a homerun. Great with ingame tutorial "comic" :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Movement speed is a bit too slow =/ Apart from that I like the Human > Zombie > Guard food-chain :P (The guards don't actually *eat* the zombies, right?)

01010111 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

I wish it were faster too, but it was a cool game nonetheless! I really liked the graphics and lifebar

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24am

Neat little game. Each level, I spent the first seconds finding the zombie I am currently playing. Maybe you could give it a more prominent color? Good work though!

Meedoc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24am

Nice entry! However, I miss a score system. On some levels, I didn't know if it was more rewarding to eat all those humans or just to rush the brain

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:39am

great game could have used better graphics though

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

Liked the concept, but a little faster zombie would not hurt ;)

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:46am

Finished it. Cool entry, liked the atmosphere and the audio. You could accelerate the game a bit, plus using some feedbacks to indicate the position of your rebirth after one death. I guess the guards could be a bit faster to improve the challenge (= dodging them). Nonetheless, good job !

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Simple, cute, fun. Nice one.

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25pm

A huge swarm of paladins ganged up on me :(

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:45pm

A higher pace would be nice, but apart from that this is a nice game. I like the music, too.

spliter says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53pm

The premise seemed pretty neat but the painfully slow pace at which you move removes quite a lot from the experience.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Thank you for all your feedback! I think I know exactly what to change ;)
kristof / EggDestroyer: Visual feedback after respawn is a great idea!
Meedoc: Score system and points for eating would also be cool... :)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Will post video review when ready.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:34pm

BRAINZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

awesomesauce says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I like the fact that are pulsing brains just hanging around each area. It's just like where I live.

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I liked the Brainz timer on the top :) Apparently I got killed by a human that wasn't a guard.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:28am

Video review link: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2840475

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

good job

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Nice + fun game! Reminded me a bit of Infectionator (I think that's what it's called). Sound effects were funny! The speed could've been a little quicker,but it wasn't too much of an issue. Great job!

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:24pm

The game is fun, but it seems you have to be lucky to get to the brains as the zombies are so slow. Liked the background music.

flarb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:47am

Love the music.

garygreen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nice idea. The music worked really well with this and added a bit of menace to the game. I liked the way you used Brainzzz as a timer too. :-)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:18pm

What I liked: The music was good. The concept was an interesting stylistic twist on "get to the goal in ten seconds". And the minimalist graphics reminded me of the days of ascii as characters in games.

What I wasn't fond of: The game is kind of slow. It's pretty simple.

All in all a good entry. I enjoyed it.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Love the sounds :)

Make the player a wee bit faster, make him stand out more (the first few Zs are lost when looking where you are)
Oh, and some reset level function. I accidentally ate all humans in the middle, died and resurrected at the start without a chance to reach the end part.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:32pm

The game's idea is good, the art looks great for a 48 hour entry as well. But the zombie's movement is a bit sluggish.
So it slows down the gameplay by quite a bit, especially when you have to take the path all over again with a different zombie.
Otherwise, a good game. :)

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:38am

a little slow -- but of course, that fits the concept.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:46pm

The game is pretty slow, I think it would be more fun if it was a little faster (maybe just a little, even). I do love the "brainzzzz" timer :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

great idea but just a little too slow -- nice effort

Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:51am

Nice little game, but yes, I do feel that is a *bit* slow. Other than that, well done. I featured this game in my LD27 compilation video, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/jm5J5gdV81o

Myyyvothrr says ...
Sep 23, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Thanks again for your comments! I tried to improve the most important ones in my post compo version: http://www.myyyvothrr.de/compos/ld27-pc/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]