August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Harvest in 10 Seconds

by Atridas - Jam Entry

Resource management and formula discovery game!!!

Mix your workers in the building with some resources and see what they make! Some formulas give more points than others!

The game finishes at 10.000 points (normal mode) or when time runs up (time trial!!! That's 2 game modes, YAY!!!!!).

To run the game, make sure you have Java 6 installed and double click on the "Harvest10Sec.jar". If that doesn't work, you probably need to run it throug console, the command is:

java -jar Harvest10Sec.jar

Any problems? Leave a commend!


Credits:
- Design / Programming : Isaac 'Atridas' Serrano Guasch
- Art / Music : Ada Ferran Rubies

P.S.: that's not the best song I'll ever compose, I hope - Atridas
P.P.S.: now Ada has recomposed the music, much better!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#160Innovation(Jam)3.29
#190Audio(Jam)3.15
#243Graphics(Jam)3.45
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#322Humor(Jam)2.29
#344Theme(Jam)2.96
#361Overall(Jam)2.96
#466Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I really like the art style and music, but I wasn't really able to discover any recipes apart from the basic harvesting actions. Some instructions would be really helpful for working out things like how many ingredients are needed in a recipe, maybe with one or two examples. Couldn't work out what the building ingredient represented, and how it needed to be used.

Just needs some instructions and it could be fun! :)

Atridas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41pm

maybe I'll add a wiki xD

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Yeah, same problem as chinchilla.. but it looks like it has plenty of potential, send me a tweet @SpringMissile when you create some instructions and I'll re-evaluate my rating! :D

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

The art is very cute and the gameplay intriguing.

Genista says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

In my Ubuntu, It works with the following command:


java -Djava.library.path=. -jar Harvest10Sec.jar


Thank you!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51am

nice music, graphics, really strange to start, but when you understand so funny. Good game

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57am

Lovely game and great concept

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice little game, I could see this being developed further after the Jam. I found some formulae, yay! \(^_^)/

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very interesting game, good job.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Interesting idea, although a bit obscure to figure out. I really like the art style, and the music is nice.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Looks like an awesome concept. Graphics and music create a perfect mood. Nice work.

I must add that you must give more hints. It took me 5 minutes to understand that I had to craft the resources listed in the bottom right (and I'm still not quite sure about that). Plus I see hundreds of variations how I could arrange buidling/resources/people. Trying all of them and waiting 10 seconds for each would take an eternity.

But keep up the good work. With a few more hints this would make an great game.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:26am

interesting game -- nice job

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Interesting game, I think it just need a tutorial to start so player can get the basis. :)

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Cool concept (it reminded me a bit of Little Alchemy, plus a bit of resource management), and nice visuals and music.

Good job! :)

deepnight says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Even though I'm a fan of games like Agricola or Civ5, I couldn't figure out the available combinations. Too many possibilities, no guide and a 10 sec timer that makes every experiment waaaaay too slow.
This game could be excellent with tweaks and some kind of negative feedback when combining useless things.
If you happen to make a post compo version, please poke me on twitter @deepnightfr :)

canvapps says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

wow! the game looks quite complicated, I couldn't play it for a long time but it is really impressive.
I think it is a very completed job. Both music, graphics, idea and playability are at a nice level in relation to the average of the competitions and the time available.
Sincerely, a great great job :)

PD: tio, no se si sabies qui som pero la coincidencia ha sigut brutal jajajaja t'he posat una bona puntuacio eh! pero sobretot perque esta ben merescuda :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]