August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

0x0A Seconds

by D-e-X - Jam Entry

*FIND THE DAGGER* and kill all the ZOMBIES before THEY kill *YOU*!

WASD to move.
Space to attack.
(It's supposed to be clunky to feel more frustrating as they start ganging up on you.)

EDIT:
(Going back looking at the code, I see there's a flaw in the attack-timer logic, oh well, it still kind of works?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#387Graphics(Jam)2.89
#452Audio(Jam)2.13
#456Theme(Jam)2.74
#478Overall(Jam)2.68
#506Fun(Jam)2.33
#565Innovation(Jam)2.16
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

D-e-X says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

I uploaded the wrong version, resulting in some mobs still being able to spawn outside level or in edges of solid tiles, and not all 50 mobs spawning. They're supposed to spawn in an increasing number every 10 seconds from the "openings" of the level. Too bad I had to rush my ass off to even have anything to submit. Better luck next time, I guess.. :]

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:25am

There is a problem with the .jar. A java window appear but there is nothing in it :(

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Hey D-e-X :) I tried downloading and running the jar on windows, but I get the same problem as "archaeometrician", just a blank window where nothing happens.

Also, check out the rules regarding to the wrong version. I think you should be allowed to upload a new one to fix those kind of problems. But check the rules just to be sure :)

Croze says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Same here @arch I don't think your game is runnable D-e-X, you most of exported the images into the .jar files improperly, I did the same thing but I found a solution before the required submission time. It will run perfectly on your computer but any other won't have the images so they won't load into the game.

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

Sorry about the late fix, the game should run properly now, I was incorrectly "pathing" to the resources!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Hi D-e-X,

Just had a go at running it and also had a problem, tried JRE6 and JRE7, here's the error message, perhaps it'll help?

ERROR:
---------------------------------------------
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld27/tenseconds/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:634)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:277)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:73)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:212)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:266)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)
----------------------------------------
Let us know when it's working.

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Hey lazyeels, the major number 51 references J2SE 7, and the error means you're trying to run the jar with an older version of the java runtime, hence it's not compatible with the JDK version the code was compiled with. However, I made some changes to the project and how the runnable jar is exported, it *should* be working now..

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Nice entry, i couldn't attack the zombies though

Almax27 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Attack didn't work for me either =/

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Not bad, it felt like it got very overwhelming very fast, but then I just stood in one spot and spammed space until I won, hahaha :)

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Sorry, I didn't have time to squeeze in any particular GUI, but like mentioned in the note, you have to find and pick up the dagger first!

D-e-X says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:49pm

[-BipolarDesign+], haha yes, the AI is also very primitive, so in some cases you can literally stand right next to a mob without it dealing damage to you, I should've also made their attack tick faster than it does to make it slightly harder.. o - well. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:49pm

i have no idea where i found the daggar -- nice graphics but the controls were clunky

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very simple game, controls are a little weird, dagger is kind of hard to find, which makes it a little confusing... When I was with 29HP a "powerup sfx" played and the game froze. I don't understand what that means! Also, the game maps was a little uninteresting and there was no goal other than "survive", which was very frustrating. =(

That said, I really like the circular effect around the player and the sense of "clunkyness" you intentionally put into the game. I believe if you had more time to work on it you could add some cool stuff to it! =)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

Very cool! I like the idea; definitely needed more weapons. The art style was nice.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:14am

Cool idea, attack didnt work for me however, I liked the graphics but it also couldnt record via fraps so I was unable to add this to my compilation video series of LD27 games. Sorry

dagothig says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Game freezes every time I die, or this is how the game is supposed to act? Anyway, I enjoyed this quite a bit! Fun and just a bit mindless, best combination for an addictive game!

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:30pm

When I learned there was a dagger, it got found!
Then I enjoyed killing zombies!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Oh, damn corners!! the first minutes were fine there were some zombies on my back but I could handle them, after a while things got serious, there were zombies ganging up on me like on the old school days... Finding the dagger is very hard but it is the best part of the game, it changes our status from the prey to the hunter and we feel just great because now we can have our revenge.

I only wish the sound and graphics were a little bit more well executed so they could settle better the mood and there are some bugs in the zombie spawning mechanism as sometimes they appear outside of the area.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]