August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Project: "Explosion"

by Ghostik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In each level you spawn near a bomb which has 10 seconds remaining until detonation. Your goal is to survive. Whole gameplay is in slow-motion mode so you can enjoy the explosions and effects that come with it.
__________________________________________________________
You can't stand too close to the explosion or get strong hit by flying debris otherwise you die.
__________________________________________________________
In general there are 3 types of levels.
Survive - You need just to survive.
Escape - You need to survive and get to an exit.
Place bomb - You need to manipulate with bomb.
(throw it / place it somewhere)
These level types can be combined.
__________________________________________________________
In some levels there are special structures like wooden doors/baricades which you can kick out of hinges or special iron anti-explosion object that you can use to hide / be blowed away across a the map without taking any damage.
(for example you can see level with zipline system in the screenshots)
__________________________________________________________
There are 5 tutorial and 5 normal levels (I didn't have time to make more). Some of them are pretty challenging. Just try to move as fast as you can and jump a lot.
__________________________________________________________
Audio is in slow-motion too. It was recorded with my cheap microphone but its better than nothing ;)
__________________________________________________________
Normally you had to unlock levels one by one but I changed it so people who do not have time to play whole game can at least check them.
__________________________________________________________
Controls:
- W,A,S,D,Space - move
- E - use
- Escape - back to menu
__________________________________________________________
Thanks for playing!
Download the windows version if you want to play in the best available quality.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#44Graphics4.14
#66Innovation3.86
#76Overall3.73
#160Fun3.48
#184Theme3.60
#193Mood3.29
#336Humor2.66
#338Audio2.93

Comments

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03am

Game is way too slow!!!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Read the description first. It is ment to be slow :D

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

The slow motion actually kills it for me. Looks amazing though and can tell that is where the main aim has been (and if it wasn't daaaaamn!)

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16am

Words are currently escaping me. This is an awesome game. The cell shading is pristine. The slow motion is expertly done. Mechanics and controls are tight. I can't find anything wrong with this game. GREAT job!

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44am

The part at the end where you dodge the shrapnel is really fun. It'd be cool if the game just started there and you could see the explosion and then dodge random stuff.

Budda says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44am

Very awesome game. Love the explosion effects, and dodging the debris is a nice challenge!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55am

Thanks guys! :)

AmyDee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56am

Great game, love the concept. The main thing that would have improved it IMO was a "detonate bomb" button, and tighter movement controls to compensate for the time dilation. Great work and tons of fun!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

This is a quite interesting idea :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Being so slow is quite annoying. If you make it run normalspeed that would be way better i guess. This slow-mo only ruins the experience.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

OH MY GOD THIS IDEA IS BRILLIANT Too bad the slowmo is too slow, otherwise this would have been the perfect game for me

KamikaziUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Fantastic game but it's too slow. It would be more fun if you were rushing to try to get out, rather than waiting forever to get out. Still amazing concept and really well done.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Slow motion should turn on when bomb is starting to explode, I think. Anyway good simulation. Cool.

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Wow, what a fun game! I feel like this should be called Micheal Bay Film simulator haha. Pretty decent overall, but some more sound effects and the slow motion being a little bit faster would make this better. Nice game!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Love the cel-shading. Great little action moments :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49pm

I liked the concept and I get why it is slow, but maybe a little too slow? Nice sounds and look and feel though! also plenty of levels! Nice work.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

It's quite fun, but I wish it would stay normal speed until right before the explosion went off. The slow-motion just forces you to wait too long, and the controls feel a bit awkward when you're not dodging shrapnel.

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Awesome game, although the slow motion effect is a bit weird, couldn't it be present just when the bomb is exploding? Love the menu design! :)

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Very well done!
Yes, the movement is painfully slow and sometimes I can't walk over a 2 inch 'wall', but the overall feeling of that adrenalin moment being stretched out is fantastic! I lost most of the time and still enjoyed watching the pyrotechnics.
Also, in place of the very generic name 'Project: "Explosion"' I would like to suggest "FUUUUUUUuuuuuuuu.....", because that was in my head a lot while playing. :)

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Ok I have adjusted slow-motion a bit. It should be more playable!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I really like it, but the slow motion is just too annoying

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

good job

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

brilliant idea, nice execution also!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Can't really play it. Nothing happens.

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

That was pretty cool, I love effects, but I found the slow-mo a bit too slow. Still it was super cool, good job!

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Neat idea. The game is very well made.

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:29pm

A cool idea and it was fun seeing the explosions and such in slow motion.
It's very frustrating with the slow motion controls, however. Maybe you can tweak that a bit.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Fun as hell!

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Awesome graphics and a nice take on the theme!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52am

The idea of a game in slo-mo is great, makes it that much dramatic! :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:58am

Too slow movement even for slow motion.
But still good game for me. Like this explosion.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:43pm

This is great. Very resourceful. One of the best entries in terms of innovation/theme imo. I really like the 3d interface but I was baffled by it at first.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Beautiful graphics and very clever concept!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Fantastic idea, too bad the game is so slow !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Loved watching the explosions, good job.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Crazy and fun as hell! wow those explosions are fantastic

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Really nice special effects!! Epic!!

Slader16 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

So much fun I downloaded it for later!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Awesome! Really liked the level designs and after you get used to the slow-mo the game becomes really fun and challenging!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

The best part for me is just watching the explosion and things flying off in different direction. There's also some good game mechanics as well, like finding a way to hide and dodging debris. I really love the premise of this game, really unique! Also, nice interface!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19pm

i liked the part when it exploded

flod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

theeee gaaammmmeee iiiisssss toooooo ssssslllloooooowwww - even if its intended i think this was not a good design decission. But the graphic is very nice - slow mo in explosions feels good and even by dying this game makes a good figure! keep on making games!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Man I just can't get enough looking at that explosion. It awes me every time.

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Great concept. I absolutely love the visuals. I enjoyed it very much. Constructive criticism: I don't enjoy moving in slow moving in the 10 seconds leading up to the explosion. My suggestion for that would be that you move at regular speed up until just before the explosion, and then it speeds up again once the explosion is "over" (however you would determine that). I would actually prefer a 2D menu for level selection, rather than interacting with buttons on a 3D bomb in order to do that.

In summary, I like it a lot!

As a side note, the physics engine in Unity is pretty impressive, running so smoothly despite having all these interacting blocks.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Cool idea!
Question : Did you own the pro version of unity before or did you buy it for the compo ?!? :)

mollymus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The game looks stunning at times, I just wish it wasn't so slow!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Martin I did buy unity pro like month ago as I am working on some projects. U can check my profile and there should be some links.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Great style/graphics. I love the lighting and slowmo special effects.

Though more of a simulator then much of a game. Could use more puzzles or objectives

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:00am

This is a great game, a bit tough on my machine but I love the explosions

Jordo76 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

I love destruction, thus I love this game ! Also graphics even if it's being simple look really sweet !

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Feels very sluggish, but cool concept, and I did have fun dodging the objects.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50am

I like the idea and although i understand why is it in slow-motion there should be a normal speed option too. Overall i enjoyed the game :)

Ailin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:07am

Really funny game, nice concept. Great job !

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11am

Good! Very original!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:10am

Amazing.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47am

The grapics are awesome, simple but yet beautiful :)
And the slow motion is great :)
I love the sound of the explosion :D

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I simply adore the idea, splendid use of blur shadings, cool physics, good lightning (i love cell shading) hope it'll evolve!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Epic!

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:11pm

A bit slow, but looks sooooo good!

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Pretty cool physics simulation game! The player moved a little slow and I think maybe the bomb could detonate faster, but other than that. Was a great experience :D

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Amazing game. Really well done. :D

DevMax says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Very good idea, nice graphics and gameplay. Running could be a bit faster though.

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Excellent game ! I love it !

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Looks good and it's crazy fun. The first explosion had me completely in awe :)
But I too don't like the slowness much (if it were a controllable effect it would be quite good)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:26am

Genius. The idea is great, the graphics are good. I love the slow motion effect on the explosions.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Slow and gorgeous! That's all I have to say :)

Mekuri says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Very nice game. The controls does bother me quite a bit, and I tend to get stuck in the wooden planks on level 2 when climbing the "tower" thingie. The zipline fell down all the time as well.
But apart from that (only 48 hours and all) I really liked the idea. With a bit of polish and such, this could be an awesome game! Really good job.

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

sexy.

esayitch says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Couldn't play it... kept freezing up my browser :S Could even switch tab from this page to the game tab... too bad, wanted to try it :P

Ghostik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

download windows version man

yagiz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Awesome idea and execution dude! My only concern was the controls and the drag they have after releasing a specific movement key.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Cool game. Explosions look's veeery awesoem

lasertictac says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Great Game. Loved Every second of it though the slow motion threw me off a bit. all in all great game!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

Tough guys don't look at explosions.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:16am

The graphics are spectacular. I like the simplicity of the geometry of the maps. Goes well with the outline shader. The explosion is really well done, as are the puzzles. I agree with the people in the comments that the pre-bomb should be faster. I like the slow-mo during the bomb. It's totally vital for dodging debris after the bomb's gone off, it's just that slowing character movement down before the bomb just makes me want to smash my keyboard to bits. I appreciate your artistic decisions, though. Excellent entry. Very fun. Challenging, too, which I haven't said of too many things.

Epiphane says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:18am

oh my god this is just simply the best thing ever. It's not too slow, don't listen to anyone else.

ON A SIDE NOTE I had this tab open: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOwlAebMbJ0
and I had forgot about it, so I thought it was the soundtrack to the game. And it fits really, really well.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:31am

Ingenious. Such a simple idea, with so much scope and imagination. Love it. A prime example of the kind of thing that videogames thrive on. Needs polish and playtesting, yup, but absolutely want to see more of this.

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

This is extremely nice. The graphics are awesome and the mechanics are fun. Good work! :)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

This was absolutely amazing. I personally loved the use of slow motion and its effect on movement, maybe it could've been a bit more gradual or something though with the explosion being the slowest part. Brilliant idea and execution!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Loved it! A rare set of top marks from me.

I personally think the slow-mo really made it. I loved the bullet-time effect of dodging through flying debris. I would have thought highly of this game if there had just been the one level but the extra thought that has gone into it makes it outstanding.

I really hope you're going to develop this further, perhaps tying it somehow to a story. There is great potential here.

villhest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Great job! Love the slow motion effect!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Excellent physics simulation! This game is seriously fun to play with :) And the graphical effects (Cell shading, blurred visual extremes, soft shadows) are very well done. Phenomenal!

kristof says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Looks cool, also nice physics.

oajfh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I agree with most of the comments here. Controls aren't quite smooth enough and the slo-motion effect is a little too strong. But otherwise, great idea and really cool cel-shading.

Khopa says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really cool idea, with it's own original graphic and sound ambiance. Perfect :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:03pm

The clean graphics, the slow motion, the lights and the slooowly flying debris is really a sight to behold - I am not getting tired watching it. The time limit is a little bit to hard for me - in fact, I didn't finish a single non-tutorial level (well, except the tower one, but that doesn't count because it was super easy). Thanks for letting me access all of them though, I still wanted to watch the explosion unfold!

This game would be absolutely perfect on the Oculus Rift. It's a pity you're not living in Berlin, Germany - I'd lend you one so you can port and try it. Guess it's up to me to try it out on a Rift then!

PS: "NOOOOOOOOOO", haha :D

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Hahah hella fun. extra innovation points.
like the slow motion and breaking apart house and the sound. only wish i could hear each block as it hit something.

kraj0t says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Very nice presentation, the graphics deliver are really attractive. Could've had some more work at the audio department to go with it. But overall, a very refreshing entry, good work!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I really like the concept, good job, but I hate the level selection board.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Ohhhh Pretty!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Most fun entry i've seen so far! I know, cool guys don't look at the explosions, but it was incredibly entertaining watching all blowing up.
I've some tips for a improvement (at least for me).
-Add footsteps sound. They would add A LOT on the atmosphere.
-The zipline always break up for me, i've played the downloadable version.
-The towers (actually one) level is still a mystery for me. Maybe add some hints?
-A faster gameover/restart, please.

After that, awesome entry. Full points in Fun for you :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Really cool. I loved frantically trying to escape the buildings. I was surprised at how detailed the level select was!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:42am

Epic awesomeness!
I know everyone said this already but a key to toggle realtime would be nice.
It's not that annoying, though.

DavidBittner says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Absolutely amazing game. Gorgeous explosions, felt extremely awesome.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:31pm

the gamplay really felt strange in slow-motion, would have been nice if you could switch between normal and slow-mo. or have it in normal speed to begin with, and then when the explosion draws near you switch to slow-mo. i understand why you want it the way it is; the graphics and physics are fantastic!

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:47am

The visual effects and slow-mo are great. The tutorials introduce concepts well but I found even the first few levels very challenging.

It'd be nice to have the timer in the HUD.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:32pm

This is great! The games plays really slowly, which got annoying after a while. The level selection could have been easier. But this game is great in every other way. I really wish there were more levels to play. I can easily see this as a commercial quality game. Amazing job!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

It's a bit too slow (guessing because of performance constraints?), and the mouse control is slow as well. But, blowing up stuff is always fun. Dodging said stuff after the explosion is a nice twist.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

Awesome in every possible way, the 3rd level felt really good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]