August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry King

by NorthernCrux - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time entry, had a ton of fun and I learned a lot! Categorize this under "Public Library's 1992 Shareware CD".

But my jokes won't satisfy the King's hunger.

Format is HTML five, so best to go with Web. HTML files are zipped for the "Windows" version.

Tools:
- Construct 2
- Paint.NET
- Pickle
- Reason 7
- sfxr
- GoldWave

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Audio3.53
#81Graphics3.94
#84Humor3.47
#144Fun3.50
#256Overall3.39
#392Theme3.33
#606Innovation2.89
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

greysphere says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

Was fun. Definitely hard to catch the sausages though!

DavidBittner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10am

Good game, fun to play, my only issue was the collision detection. It just wasn't as smooth as I would have liked. Anyway, good job :D

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

Nice arcade game!
The physics were, on the whole, good, but I didn't like the way a lot of ingredients would stick to the rim of the pot.

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13am

Art, music, sound, and concept are all great. The physics of the food seem a little wonky, though. I'd like to see it drop a tiny bit slower and be a little more forgiving to avoid having a giant sausage plugging up my pothole (heh heh). The bouncing food mechanic could use some more feedback, too, such as having a little multiplier text follow the food after it's been bounced, along with a pleasant little bleep or bloop.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:16am

"But my jokes won't satisfy the king's hunger" lol. That was a lot of fun!

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01am

Ha! That was really fun.
The mood was right and the game was hilarious.
One qualm however... it was a little too easy to get a good 5000 above the score for each round (it was still great though).

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40am

Good game, but there is a lot of physics bugs :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Pretty cool idea. I found that just violently shaking the mouse up and down let me win, I stopped at 21/50K when I realized it was endless. I might have made the "edge" colliders further apart, that could have helped with the collision issues. Nice music, nice graphics.

vvolis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

Very very nice job, except for those cursed sausages that won't fint anywhere.

doonay21 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Hell yeah I will be executed :P It was really nice to play your game, thanks! And yeah, good luck with ratings!!!! BTW Love the audio!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Fun idea. There were a few times were some veggie got stuck on the border of the pot. And it would be better if the pot moved with mouse instead of having to drag it and have the mouse button pressed during the whole game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]