Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stache Of Glory 2: Shavin' Through Dimensions

by Royal Railway - Jam Entry

This is a time-based action platformer where you navigate through three(!) different dimensions to find three shaving tools in order to s(h)ave yourself, before the ANTI-MOUSTACHE MILITANT GROUP catches you!

Once you pick up a shaving tool, bring it back home to the house at which you started.

Controls: WASD or ARROW KEYS to walk and jump. Pick up and/or drop items with SPACE.

NOTES: WALL-JUMP by jumping against a wall! YELOW ZONES are SAFE ZONES. You must stand in one before the time runs out.

Credits:

PROGRAMMING
Ava Skoog
Carl Lenngren

GRAPHICS
Ava Skoog
Erik Schroder
Mehdi Forozandeh

SOUND EFFECTS AND MUSIC
Erik Schroder

SPECIAL THANKS TO
Marcus "KB" Blomqvist

Thank you so much for playing our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

VERY fun game!
I would only change the gameOver screen, it's pretty, but you die a lot and it's boring to see over and over, I think.

Top marks for graphics and humor too! Bravo guys

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46pm

It's a very fun game, with a nice soundtrack. The music in the background loops nicely and is not annoying. Good music for solving platform puzzles.

And I also must say that I love the game mechanic you made here. Never seen anything like that. A+ for innovation.

The downsides:
* It took me a while to figure out that I should've wall jump (mention that in the notes).

* I also didn't understand why, out of the blue would I die. You should explain that you are SAFE when you are in the "cheese thingy". Also, one suggestion to this: you can give the player a game over screen if under 10s the player fails to reach a "safe zone", instead of praying to not lose. This would reduce player's frustration.

* Jumping is a little weird at first, and so is the camera. But this is not game breaking stuff.

* Adding more levels, like intro levels explaining the game mechanics (no need for text) would improve the game substantially.

Good game, rated 8/10. Would play again.

Royal Railway says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Thanks for the feedback, people! It's much appreciated!

Updated the description with notes about the wall-jumps and safe zones. Also added a link to the soundtrack on Bandcamp at the top!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51pm

quite innovative and fun -- great artwork and music -- nice entry

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38am

Live video review: http://www.twitch.tv/n0_named_guy/c/2831013

Royal Railway says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

@N0_Named_Guy: Thanks once again for reviewing it! Also, I've changed the typo you commented on.

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

It had a lot of charm, but I found the game far too frustrating to play all the way through. One simple mistake brings you back to the beginning of the game, and I've played the first six to nine dimension instances dozens of times. Some of the agents move at such a speed that you can't jump over them until they turn around, but they won't turn around until after your time is up.

Royal Railway says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

@awppy: The reason why it takes you back to the beginning is because it's a very short game. Once you figured out where to go it doesn't even take 3 minutes to complete.

The agents' placements in their set course are randomized, so if an agent just turned around in front of you, you probably won't make it to the next safe zone, so be patient and wait for the next turn.

I hope this helps and that you might try again.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I totally love the game over screen! The in-game sprites are very cute! That house with the 'stache cracked me up.
But at some points, I seem to be teeported to the next level before the game over screen comes.
In any case, great job on the game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]