August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Off and On

by gbear605 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Off and On.

A game involving pressing buttons according to lights on a screen in a ten second time frame.

Requires Java.

The source is included inside.

Read the readme.


Made using Processing.

If you have an error like:
Exception in thread "Animation Thread" java.lang.RuntimeException: java.lang.RuntimeException: Framebuffer objects are not supported by this hardware (or driver)

Then try running the Older Graphics download. Those ones will run slower, but they should work more consistently.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#735Innovation2.74
#828Theme2.85
#1011Fun2.30
#1027Overall2.50
#1157Graphics1.65
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

jayitinc says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 4:42am

Windows Version Doesn't Work

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:03am

pretty cool little game

Fanvadar says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 5:04am

btw my window version did work o.O

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 8:48am

Nice, simple game.
Although, there might be a problem for users whose keyboards do not allow more than 3 key presses at the same time. Oddly enough, there are keyboards like that.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 10:40am

If you had a problem and you have a 64bit machine, I've uploaded a version that should help with that.

As for the limited keyboards, there's not much I can do. I guess I could make a 3 button version of this, but that wouldn't be too much of a game :/

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 2:51pm

It's alright. For this kind of problem I just bring my USB keyboard out XD

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:40am

Simple and nice game.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Ok, I changed it some graphically, but because the 48 hours are up, I put the source for the new version on Github.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Very simple. Could have done with some audio.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

My keyboard doesn't support multiple keypresses, so this game's quite problematic on my system. Seems like a neat idea, though.

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Very interesting game.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Great idea. This really needs to play music though. Also, platform. iPad, perhaps?

kristof says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice game. It was a bit hard to see when one pattern was finished and switched to the next one. Also the download size is a bit large for this little game.

Skully says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54pm

A simplistic game that's actually quite addictive!
Also great job on making so many various builds so more people can enjoy it.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Music: I needed to do it, but I forgot :/
Download Size: it's 10 versions of the game (5 os's, 2 modes for each OS), I should separate it out.
Multi-Keypresses: Yeah, it's too bad about that. Can't really do anything for it though.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Ok, I've separated the downloads out.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:08am

Just played the windows version and I can confirm it works.

The game was very simple, too simple for me. It's alright in a small burst but I really would want more content or mechanics added to it, but that's just me.

gikdew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28am

you should port it to processing.js and make a web version...

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Neat little idea. I feel like this type of game would benefit from being on tablets and perhaps with some moving buttons for even harder hand movements!

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

The 3 keys limit hitted me in the 5th round :/ I like simple games.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

A nice, simple concept. The lack of audio and a timer is a problem though.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:14pm

nice consept but it needs sound and a timer

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:07pm

It was interesting to see how bad my brain was at connecting the screen output to pressing the right buttons.
Although extremely simple, it's a bit entertaining.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Simple, but first I missunderstood and tried to turn them alll white!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]