August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Cave Of Lights

by galman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Join our little friend on his journey into the depths of The Cave of Lights.
Wisely spend your 10 seconds of light each level to find your way through the cave...
What will you find at the end?

Arrows to move
Space to toggle lights
M to mute\unmute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#55Theme3.91
#90Mood3.55
#93Overall3.68
#136Fun3.52
#163Innovation3.58
#249Graphics3.45
#352Audio2.91
#494Humor2.32

Comments

mcbeckjr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Good game! Not a huge fan of the graphics, but very well made.

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44am

Looks like we had the same basic idea! Pretty well-rounded game, Although I think chiptune music would have fitted better. Fiendishly hard towards the end, too :)

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

Nice little game! Although music is pretty annoying and bad, sorry.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Great concept. New game mechanics are introduced well, and the ambient track adds a nice mood to it.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

An other original take on the theme! Great game, simple graphics and gameplay., I like it. :)

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Nice graphics, good gameplay, simple and nice soundtrack
good job :)

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Good Gameplay!

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Watching you in the stream was really enjoyable, and you made a really nice game, I love the graphics and the gameplay.

Misfit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Nice retro style and great gameplay. Good Job!

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Great idea, buddy. Awesome game!

uwap says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Really funny game :)

justicegames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I like this game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:31pm

When I made it to the three button room I rage quit lol. Good game.

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Hey Galman, very nice game. I especially like the use of the theme to enforce the main mechanic.

Slymodi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

Very good!

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Nice game with simple but fun mechanics :) Well done!

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Nice way to exploit 10 seconds. It's a cute game.

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Nice! Liked the way you used the 10 seconds! :D

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I enjoyed playing this game, simple gameplay and graphics (and not as in "boring" ^^ )
It's fun! Bravo!

tylerb1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Great game. A bit slow gameplay for my taste, but I really found it fun anyways. I like the graphics, and the music is very fitting. Great concept and implementation of the theme.

Good job!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I like the mood that the graphics and the music blend into!
The game is a bit challenging (read "hard"), but pleasant to play overall. =)

danielmult says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Muito legal! atima mecanica.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Interesting. I love this graphics style :) Nice job.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Nice and polished. A bit sad, that we do not see the game most of the time ;)

Dooleus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Fun mechanics, good difficulty curve, and a cute, polished art style. The audio is nice, too, and fits the art perfectly. Lots of fun... great job!

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Adorable. Would be fun with some night creatures trying to get you when the lights are off.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Nice cute little game, really like the mood. And the puzzles are good :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:29am

Pretty fun. Played about 5-6 levels. Basically a memory game. I feel like some of the levels maybe should have been a little simpler for the 10 seconds. I died and re-tried a lot :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:04am

Very nice game. The idea is pretty different from the other games I've seen, and I like the graphics. :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

Very nice! I liked the simple design to account for the lack of light.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Super cool game, i love it !

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

enjoyed it

jrbitt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

Congratulations! Very nice game! I loved the timelapse too =D

Photon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

Well executed to be sure. Got a little boring after awhile, but the game works well enough. Good job!

deathray says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

great use of theme!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15am

Solid puzzler! love the effective artstyle and the light-mechanic :)

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

That was pretty neat. Loved the art style and atmosphere, and that quiet little track never got old.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:58am

Cute character and graphical style. The game is a really clever take on the theme. It gets surprisingly tough later on. Nice work!

Patacorow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Love it!

orangepascal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Very nice game! really enjoyed playing this one for much longer then the others so far :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I really like this.

There's a nice variety to the levels, and the memory challenge is cool. The graphics are pretty and the audio blends fine with the game.

Nice work!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Cool idea, cute graphics. Nice ambient soundtrack.

Liz England says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

This was really well done!

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Awesome game! Had a blast with this one. The light mechanic works really well and the graphics are cute! :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:58pm

This got challenging towards the end! Simple but cute graphics, excellent music (the sound effects were basic, but the music more than made up for it), and the gameplay is great and (as far as I can tell) pretty innovative. One of the more polished entries I've played so far.

Nitpicks: movement was a bit slow, and given the importance of the button sound effects, they should probably be a bit louder. These are very minor nitpicks, though.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great solid game, with a nice use of the theme!! I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

simple graphics did the job, it's clear you spent a lot of time playtesting and making the whole thing really smooth and polished - the quality really shows. For a 48h game, this is very, very well done indeed! Good use of the theme, as well. This held my attention completely and I couldn't stop until the very end.

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

Nice use of the theme! :)

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Great sprites! I laughed the first time I saw the character from behind, cute backpack :) The die effect is great too.

Unept says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Nice job on this one. I found it on Kongregate. :) Love the pixel graphics, and the use of the theme.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Really cool idea... I feel like it would be more fair that you get a tiny glimpse of the level at the start, as you are always going to use up a tiny amount of your precious time that way.

I think the graphics and audio were perfect - the drone-y tones work better than a chip tune I think... more ambience.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:25am

Really smooth and good game! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

nice effort but i thought the puzzles were not too hard -- great job

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I like this kind of minimalistic game art. A few pixels, not so much sounds... great designed levels! Cool!

Soundless_dev says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:39am

Very nice, very smooth and not too absurd gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]