August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Combat Time!!

by Sheepolution - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play the game in browser!
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/l%C3%B6veliness/mompnkcmpbopandjnddeecgeeojegohc
__________________________________________________

Combat Time!! is a turn-based-real-time-fighting game where you need to out-think your opponent. Can you predict his movements, and obfuscate your own? Find a friend (no really you need a friend for this game ( I'm serious, 2 player only)) and find out who is the best at the ultimate fighting game!

Will you choose Willhem the Sergeant?
Has years of experience from fighting in the cold blooded. wars. Fighting for the ones he loves, he never gives up. His bullets may not do a lot of damage, but they are as fast as.. bullets!

Or will you choose Alfred the Wise?
His magic spells can be cast all over the place. From studying the art of magic in his room for 50 years, he has gotten old and slow, but oh so powerful!

Or will you choose El Marco the Armless?
Losing his arms in a wrestle accident didn't stop him from what he loved! He's the fastest you'll see and uses his own body to crush you. You can't outrun this big guy. He never lost a single wrestling fight, and is not planning on losing this fight either!

Choose your character, choose your opponent and choose your destiny, in the world of Combat Time!!

F10 for 'The cheat'

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#66Innovation3.86
#152Fun3.49
#165Humor3.14
#212Overall3.45
#247Audio3.10
#289Theme3.45
#351Mood3.00
#427Graphics3.09

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

Interesting concept!

Is player two supposed to look away as player one plays?

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:32am

Haha yeah. It's really silly but it's the only way to make it work :P

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Quite interesting. Reminiscent of old turn-based hot-seat 2-player games, where you had to trust the other player to not peek.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

Yeah, I guess you could say it's the same thing. If you watch you ruin the fun for yourself.

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Cool concept, and very fun to play. More characters would have been interesting, but the three available are adequate for a 48 hour game (read: I would love to see an extended, post-ld version).

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Looks great but I'm on mac right now.. I'll come back later!

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

@vrld:
I am planning on learning LAN connection and I think this is the perfect game to practice that on :D

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Interesting!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

That is a really innovative and cool idea. This would work really well as asynch multiplayer over the web.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Love it! Sadly there's nobody here to play with me, but this must be incredibly fun. But even when playing alone - which is completely stupid - I was really enjoying it. Nice music as well.
"Loosing his arms in a wrestle accident didn't stop him from what he loved!" - Oh god. :D

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I can upload a mac version!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/47802619/LD/LD27MacBuildOthers/CombatTimeMac.zip

I just had to rename some folders and package it up with LÖVE

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Yea, an interesting idea. It would be very nice if you implemented a network multiplayer. It would prevent peeking effectively. :P Currently I've only been able to try it against myself and it's a bit boring (ofc, like all the hot-seat games). Looks nice though. :)

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

@porgelezomp Thanks! That's really nice of you!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Interesting idea! And a very fun game :)

srimech says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Just played the Mac version and I really like it. I couldn't figure out how Alfred's attack works though.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:13pm

@srimech
The attack appears on the mouse's position. I'll make the controls more sense for a future version.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Ha ha, well this is amusing. The concept is good, and I like the chiptune music as well.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Also, I left the game sitting in the instructions for a while and I got the error screen. I downloaded the source and used the command line to run it, if you're wondering.

Sheep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

@BlackBulletIV Yes I'm aware of that, but too lazy + not really allowed to change it. The chiptune music was made with an autotracker so it's not my most proud asset of the game.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Nice! I liked Evething!

feyleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

This is a great idea! Took a second to really 'get it' but that's a game I think I have never played before. Also, the graphics and music are cool. Keep up the good work ^_^

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:00pm

This is a really neat concept with great music. Much love for the hotseat game!

Delca says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I do not have another player near me, but it looks like fun! The concept in itself seems interesting (I thought about something similar last week : real-time turn-based. I almost brushed it off as being silly at the time). I wonder how it could be extended to other genre ?
The players animations are well done, and I liked the graphics in general.

Oh, and also...
"Losing his arms in a wrestle accident"
"He never lost a single wrestling fight"
Does that mean that his opponent lost more than two arms ? Scary guy...

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I love the beard animation! Works under Linux too!

Sheep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

@rfgpfeiffer http://i.imgur.com/2aISsEF.gif :D

Catmoo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:08pm

That's a really interesting concept!

I suppose the only flaw is if your opponent watches what you do for your move. Awesome idea though, it's really quite different :)

Sheep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:11pm

@Catmoo The unspoken rule is that he closes his eyes!

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

The character variation is very cool and it is nice to seem some multiplayer games.

alts says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

This is a really interesting idea. I think it might be more effective if there were rounds (say 5 rounds of 10 seconds). It'd give players a chance to adjust to opponent play styles rather than throw something out there and hope for the best. And as someone else mentioned, this would be perfect for async multiplayer. Looking forward to seeing what comes of this.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:44am

Funny game. Player selection screen was somewhat counter-intuitive, I didn't get that I must press the Lock It (and not even understand the fact that it was a button at all - I thought it was some Tetris-style in-game screen already). Nice music.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:11am

Kind of an interesting day, I dont quite understand how it would work in multiplayer XD I featured this game in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/biBzDWmV3kc

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I wish I had someone to play this with...

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:32am

@Klianc09 Yeah, me too. Haha! Haa.. ha.. hmm.. :(

murilo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:08am

Well, I guess it's pretty cool as a 2 player game! nice idea!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Haha, fantastic. Even if they aren't jumping constantly. Now it just needs netplay or something so that you can play with someone even if you live in the boonies in Japan.

Sheep says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:37pm

@Crowbeak F10 to cheat! :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Interesting idea! I can't wait to try to play it with somebody ("home alone" now...). ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]