August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Will you beat 10 seconds?

by Urfoex - Jam Entry

Can you shake it?

This one will make you sweat.

It's plain simple:
You rotate and shake your android device till all balls are gone.


1) Put the Android APK on your device.
Then install it by opening it the apk.
With update 4 all needed libraries should be included.
---After installing run the controller. It wants to download some files via Ministro - it might take a bit. Ministro is providing some shared Qt libraries.---
(Thanks caranha for mentioning)
2) Load the the game on your computer.
3) Start the Android controller in listening mode.
4) Start the game.
5) Get ready to shake!
6) Push any key on your keyboard.
7) Shake it!
8) Rotate it!
9) Shake it!

You lose when the lower lane is full with balls.
You win when there are no balls left.

Hint: Turn off your screen / cover it to not accidentally touch something and disconnect.


Have fun!


PS: Colors matter!
Green kills Green. Red kills Red. Blue kills Blue.
And Yellow can be killed by all three.

PPS: How long did you last and how much points did you get?
Let it in the comments ;-)


PPPS: Could anyone please help porting to Windows & Mac (&iPhone?)?


Update 1:
-> It starts in fullscreen now.
-> Connecting to your device is done in the start-screen now.

Update 2:
-> Made a Windows port via mingw cross-compile. Does it work on Windows?

Update 3:
-> Resizing Android GUI. It should fit now on all screens. But you now really need to cover it up to not accidentally touch any button.


Info:
-> Thanks a lot caranha (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=7847) for making a video! I've put it in the top.

-> There is now an image that shows the axis that are used to move your balls. The Binding is XYZ to RGB. X - Red , Y - Green, Z - Blue. Hope that helps a bit.


Update 4:
-> You can now restart via R or SPACE.
-> The android controller is now separate! But includes (hopefully) all needed libraries.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#72Innovation(Jam)3.58
#420Humor(Jam)1.88
#464Audio(Jam)2.00
#477Theme(Jam)2.65
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#500Overall(Jam)2.63
#511Mood(Jam)2.18
#591Graphics(Jam)1.84

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12am

Linux + android only? Bold setup. Hope this gets found!

zanval says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I tested this on Ubuntu 13.04 with Android 4.1.2.

I had a bug that the rendering ingame froze for some seconds regularly, so it was not fully playable for me.
(Also the window size is too big for my notebook. My total height is 768)

Now to the game:
The controls are very impressive from a programmers view.
The controls themself worked very smooth for me and reacted very fast.

I can imagine such a game being a lot of fun with multiplayer!
Reminds me of Wii Gameplay.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52am

Thanks for the comments!

I currently am not able to compile other builds then Android and Linux :-(
But I would put them here if somebody could build them ;-)

I fixed the initial game freeze by putting the network connection in the start screen. It might also reduce freezings in game.

Also it now starts in fullscreen mode so it should fit *any* screen size.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Ahaha, I have an Android Device, was cool ;D

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51pm

No linux or android here :/ You could link an android emulator or virtual linux machine,

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:33pm

An emulator would be great, I can't play this either unfortunately.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Sounds fun, looking forward to trying this if someone makes a Windows version. :)

Meep says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Would be nice if you could put up a gameplay video for those without android/linue. :)

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Sorry people, Android emulator would make no sense because it's about using the sensors(rotation and acceleration).

I made a mingw cross-compile for Windows. But I don't know if it works right :-( (In wine it nearly does.)

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Doesn't look like the windows version works for me. The device never finds a connection, it just listens forever.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Okay, after typing in my IP manually it worked. Overall the idea was good, but the controls were kind of confusing. After I got the hang of it, it was pretty fun. Great entry for 72 hours!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:40pm

How do I start this with android

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

I have a windows, so I couldn't play :P

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

@killerstarbunny:
You need both: an android device and a pc.
You download the version for your OS.
Extract it.
There is an android apk inside.
Put that on to your device. Install it there.
In the extracted files there is an executable. Open it.
You will get greeted.
Now launch the app on your device. It's the "LD27-Android-Controller".
Your PC should now show a message that your device is connected.
If your device is still listening then you might wanna insert the IP of your PC yourself and then click "connect".
At least now your computer should show the message and you should press any key to continue.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:07am

Haha odd. Froze at first for me.

Serilyn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:18am

Very interesting game and neat choice of controller. However it was an exercise in frustration for me. The buttons on the android program were very small on my phone(HTC One), like 2mm high, and the text about IP and connect status was half off the screen. It would be nice to have a restart option on the exe because when I had to quit and restart every time I lost I would have to reconnect the phone.

dagothig says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:54am

I agree with Meep, a video of the game would definitively be nice, since I don't own an Android device :/, but this looks quite interesting :D!

Spiridios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

The Android app's GUI is unplayable on a Galaxy S4 - all the controls are grouped together on the side of the screen not allowing me to interact with any of them.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Update 3: Made the Android GUI scale to the screen. Everything is now BIG on my tablet. I hope that it now also is big enough for phones.

Will check for the restart-option a bit later.

Thanks for all the feedback so far!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

it will be great if I can play it

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Bookmarked, I need to try that at home!

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Heh, you did something truly unique here, I salute you!

To be quite honest, I didn't have much fun - the controllers were kinda hard to understand. But I totally respect what you did :-) I hope you have time to develop the context further.

Maybe make the game a bit slower, so that the player has time to learn how to control the shooters, instead of just randomly shaking the controller, would help in the fun aspect. Sound effects would also make a world of difference!

Now, from one android developer to another: Do you REALLY need to ask for "read phone status permission"? That is a super invasive permission, and you don't really need it for a game.

Oh, here is a small video of me playing your game (just the desktop side though):
http://youtu.be/P1_PckO074s

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Thanks a lot caranha!
I've put your video in the links on top.

The balls are falling a bit "weird" in your video. On Linux it's much smoother. I guess I need to make a proper video of that to show the difference. But you might already see a difference to the screenshot I made. For a better version I need to investigate in that a bit further *somehow*.


It was my first Android thing I pushed to others.
Just got in contact with it.
I'm using Qt for it. And I haven't really done any "android things" there. It's just writing native C++ code and then you choose your target - Desktop or Android. So I don't really know about the permission status and how to minimize those.
Will try to remove it.
(I also should try to include all Qt libs so there is no need for Ministro.)


Yeah, playing for the first time is a bit strange.
I definitely should put some training levels before, that let you experience each axis on its own.

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

An interesting concept. I'm glad that the youtube video can show it to those of us without the correct devices. I like the idea of the different axis acting on it. An nice innovative idea.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Update 4 is on.
- The android controller apk is now an extra package. It is bigger and contains needed libs. So no need for Ministro.
- The min Android version is now 2.3.3 (API level 10). That removes "read phone status permission" question.
- You can now restart the game with "R" or SPACE.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

although I got it working on android, I would have liked it on windows with windows controls or any desktop would have been fine. was interesting

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

good job

crueltear says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Android, huh? Well, at least it's not some kind of unknown system (make one for bada or keyboard/mouse and i'll be happy d; )

Towanime says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I really liked the idea of using the Android device as a controller but I admit I had a hard time figuring out which movements affected which ballls.

I made it to 44 seconds!

Qaterknan says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I was quite amazed by the idea of Android controller. Good stuff, man.

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

The controller says right after I start it: "Your application encountered a fatal error and cannot continue." :(

Galaxy mini 2 - Gingerbread

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]