August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Out of Time

by Mjiig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple minigame based take on the theme, you start with 10 seconds on the clock and have to finish whatever games appear in order to get more time (2 seconds). Score is the number of games won.

Tested on chromium and firefox.

This was my first time using javascript and the whole thing was done in just over 24 hours (including sleeping time), so I'm pretty happy with the result. There's actually a fairly flexable system for making new levels in there if anyone wants to take a look at it, which includes at least one set of features that I never used.

No sound as usual, so if anyone wants to recommend some (0 skill required) programs for making simple background music I'd be very interested for future comps.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#219Fun3.37
#459Theme3.28
#643Overall2.98
#778Humor1.88
#885Mood2.28
#938Innovation2.42
#986Audio1.21
#1157Graphics1.65

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51am

Ha, this is great. I love these collections of panicky minigames :)

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice collection of mini-games. Well done :)

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I like this kind of quick games, well done.
PS: congratulations, you won the highest score in my game =).

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

41 highscore is IMPOSSIBLE, for me at least. Fun game.

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Short n Brilliant. The catching circle minigame changing its rules caught me off guard.

Ninquo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

I got to 41 aswell, great game ;)

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Not enough minigames, but well done!

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice collection of mini-games. Had to rate you low in graphics but I ignored graphics and audio when deciding the overall score. Well done.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Fun little game. I like the fact your put into each puzzle with no knowledge of the rules at first. Good game. Some ambient music would have been nice.

wrongcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

A fun collection of minigames. I would have liked to see a bit of audio, even just a beep here and there. Good job!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23am

The difficulty ramps up nicely, but it would have been nice if there would be audio.

justi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Smple and minimalistic game. Rules are clear. Good work.

Suese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Reminds me of a game called "Batman Against The Vampires"
https://www.allegro.cc/depot/BatmanAgainsttheVampires/

Thanks for rating my game :)

Andrew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

My first reaction to catching the circles was to avoid the circles :P

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Simple good fun. Great difficulty curve, too!

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Simple but effiscient, I miss a soundtrack :(

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Its fun, but there is no sound which would be nice.

loxo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I like the mini games, more variety would be great though. Maybe some color variations would be nice too. And the game would definitely benefit from audio. But overall a nice job!

tigerj says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:08am

REALLY FUN!! I like the random challenges and had a lot of fun with this game. the pattern match is brutal!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]