August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keep Flying

by bushmango - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: The Post Compo Director's Judo Chop Edition is now available! v1.1 adds
- Fire Extinguisher and Hull Fix buttons that are easier to see and click as well as visual feedback as to what you are fixing and extinquishing
- Main Menu introduces all of the characters in the game for easier identification
- Expanded credits!
ORIGINAL ENTRY FOLLOWS:

Our two heroes set off on an ill-fated 48 tour through intergalactic space. However, perhaps they should have brought along extra red-shirted crew members, bought a more reliable ship, or chosen a safer route!

It seems as if EVERY 10 SECONDS something goes horribly wrong. Do whatever it takes to KEEP FLYING! Your space engineering skills will be put to the ultimate test.


~~~~Controls:
Move your character with WASD or Arrow Keys.
Click on buttons and toggle switches.
Buttons on the right control your fire extinguisher and wrench.
F11 to enter Full Screen mode.

See the Full "Tips and Instructions" link above for help getting started.

Made with Haxe / HaxeFlixel / FlashDevelop / Photoshop / Audacity


As always, thanks for playing, thanks for flying! <3

Please leave feedback below so I can improve.

EDIT: Here's a few credits I missed. Actuate tween library (saved me so much time for basic animations), POLYGONAL Haxe Game Library (just a tiny part for friendly formatting of floats), and my 7 year old son for being patient and supportive, as well as for supplying the cat MEOW noise.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Humor4.19
#44Audio3.66
#69Overall3.77
#105Fun3.57
#121Theme3.72
#130Mood3.43
#136Innovation3.65
#277Graphics3.37

Comments

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23am

Awesome! Really freaking overwhelming, but super cool : ]

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

WE HAVE A WINNER FOR THE HUMOUR SECTION! That really cheered me up dude, keep on bringing smiles to the internet!

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42am

That was epic, didn't quite know what everything was but that was incredibly fun. Love the voices and talking, it made the game.

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

nice space ship management game, the concept is super cool, feels kinda confusing but good job!

Stryphe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

Nicely done!

isharacomix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:59am

this is the best game forever

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

Tricky. Cool though. Excellent "music".

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

Awesome entry! So much fun, and the sounds are hilarious.

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17am

Amazing. The sound really made it.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34am

I loved the use of voice as music, though i had to turn it off for the 2nd time I played because I wanted to understand the mechanics.

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

AHAH awesome :))

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

i stepped into catshit o.o :D

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Nicely done!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I love it! Glad I'm not the only person using mouth sounds. ^_^

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Very fun sounds!))) Crazy game)

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06pm

This has a lot of stuff going on and I felt a bit lost at the beginning, but overall it was pretty fun. I'm not sure I'd call that music, but it was quite funny :)

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Like a SUPER FRANTIC FTL. :)

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:04am

BEST MUSIC EVER!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

I didn't expect watching my ship go down in flames would be so entertaining. Music and sound are top notch!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29am

Loved it!Just great!
Murphi's law:"If anything can go wrong, it will."

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I love the concept of this. May need a better GUI so you can tell exactly what problems are happening (e.g. air levels), but fantastic otherwise!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

HA, that was pretty funny. I did mute your song but I listened to it a few times. :) I love some of the random events, especially leaving your burrito in the microwave. I was super confused constantly though. I just kept randomly flipping switches, but that's what I usually do in an emergency. Great Job!

bushmango says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

~AUTHOR~ Thank you all for your wonderful feedback!

Because of all of the great feedback, I've released a POST COMPO edition where I fixed some GUI things, adding another few hours to my time (of course don't count that stuff in when you judge...)

A few notes:
1) Yeah, it was supposed to be overwhelming ... sort of a debug wtf is going wrong with your ship under extreme pressure.
2) There's no direct indicator of your health or oxygen, this is so you are forced to look at a console to get feedback. I wanted tension between looking at consoles and not being able to see what's going on in the rest of your ship. Tunnel vision! All consoles show your health and the ship's oxygen.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59am

A funny FTL? Awesome!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

this game is amazing in so many ways. I love it.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

This is awesome, will play again

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

This was awesome and you have warmed that cold black lump of coal I call a heart

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

So much fun!

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

LOL, very fun, and poopy, and the audio was voice...tastic?

Very enjoyable.

And I sucked at it.

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Picked at IndieGames.com! Good job!
http://indiegames.com/2013/08/ready_browser_pick_keep_flying.html

Beavl says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Wow, a capella soundtrack. Brilliant!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

Pretty hard to stay alive. Very cool concept. One of the most innovative games I've seen for LD27.

Anachron says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:12am

Highly entertaining narrative.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:11am

Now that's near perfect :)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

That audio

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:52am

Thanks for that wonderful experience :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

funny game.good job

jujule says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Just perfect. I buy it for both my Macs, My PS3 and my XBox, my PS Vita, my iPod, my girlfriends iPhone and my son's iPad. I'll buy it from Steam and GOG. I'll fund it 71 times on Kickstarter. I'll bully my mother into buying it too.

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:30pm

this is AMAZING
at first I was a bit put off by the voice tutorials but man, this is great
loved it
solid game as well
nicely done, one of my favorites :)

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:54am

Best "music" ever :DD

I got a bit lost at first with all the options, but once you start the engine and chaos ensues it gets really fun.

Great work!!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:16pm

super fun but really hard -- nice job

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:33am

Best game!

someone says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

That was awesome, great job.

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:27pm

COMMENT: You'll figure it out! :D Man, that was stupendous! Really good job!

bitowl says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:22pm

this is the game where I laughed most yet :D

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:26pm

A bit hard to understand what's wrong and how to fix it.

Other than that it's a good and amusing game! The background song is very good, but might be less so after playing more than I did.

moomoo112 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Confusing at first, and then addicting, very addicting

porglezomp says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I loved the "Remember to work together, as a space team, except you're alone"

That was great, don't know how many other people got the reference.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:37am

That was fun, great game.

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Woa liked it a lot!

xhunterko says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:00am

Very clever. Felt like FTL for just a little. Would be nice to clean up the poo. I thought the fire extenguisher could do that, but alas it slowed me down instead. Very neat idea!

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:31pm

That was scary! Cool idea and implementation!

GFM says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Nice game! :)

It took me 3 tries to understand how I could heal my self... but I was still burned to death... >_<

After some time, I started to understand what I was supposed to do and how... then I started to have lots of fun! (though I found quite fun to see the ship burning... xD)
Anyway, I only got to stage 2, so I probably still don't quite understand your game (I never even fired a potato through the weapon system...).

My main complaint was about the fire extinguisher... I couldn't really tell where it was extinguishing. But seems like you fixed it on the post compo.

I'll definitely play the post compo later! :D

Jexel says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Fun but hard.

rincewind_cz says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Nice! Seems little bit inspired by FTL and that's positive :-) I think the GUI is just too chaotic (for 10s based game-play) but I used to it after a while. Main song is cool so as game mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]