August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to run

by Danvil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to get to the exit!

RUN!!!

Default key bindings: WASD to move, SPACE to jump


Update: New version which fixed a bug with cubes which looked solid but actually weren't.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#352Graphics3.25
#441Humor2.44
#603Theme3.13
#650Mood2.60
#724Overall2.90
#737Fun2.70
#830Innovation2.60
#948Audio1.39
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

biscuitdough says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

Liked the idea, with the bite sized levels. The jumping was a little unresponsive(and I don't like how all your character movement stops when you hit jump), but was still had a good bit of fun with it. Also liked the art style.

jrbitt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Very cool!! Bizarre the legs =D
The first red level I can't jump very hard the controller

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20am

I liked how you control a pair of legs ina game about jumping. That's all you need to jump, right? ;P

The controls were a little floaty though, made jumping hard.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Solid puzzler! I like the cube-effect, this could do with a lot more of it :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Loved this game, its very fun, but sometimes I fell off the screen... xD I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:11am

Interesting concept! The cubed style looked really nice as well. Could do well with good music and nice sound effects. :D The controls were okay, except for the pretty unresponsive jump control. It made the later levels really frustrating to play D: Other than that, nice game! :D

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

fun little game the jumping was a bit difficult though. I had fun regardless :)

skywing says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

The walls of the rooms make the game lag pretty hard, but its okay overall.

cwkx says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Cubes are awesome! ;) Really fun to play, loved it.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

It was pretty fun, and I liked the graphics, but the controls really weren't very responsive. Also for some reason I kept falling through some blocks?

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

good idea, it has potential for developing interesting levels! however, jumping was a little odd, sometimes it also felt like the floor i was standing on was not solid because I tried to jump from solid ground but I felt on the abyss right there on the solid ground.. nice entry, nonetheless! =)

raver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Great game, but jumping is bugged - maybe because its grid based game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Cubic incredible thing! The game is excellent. Very interesting transition between levels. Legs-man funny too! I liked it!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I like the art, the controlls are a bit tricky, though

Sebastian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Awesome character but the controls are awkward and the collisions dubious at times. Interesting graphical style.

Liz England says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I saw another game like this, but yours is better implemented with better level design. I had some collision issues at times and running off the world, but nice game regardless!

pragmascript says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

more cubes of death :) i liked it.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Very simple, but fun and with good graphics. I like the character sprite: simple enough not to need a lot of animation, but without looking cheap. The levels are attractive, too. Nice learning curve, and some good level designs.

A bug I caught was that you can sometimes get stuck on the edge of blocks. Also, not a bug, but I was stumped on the level with two buttons for quite some time before I figured out that some blocks were illusory.

Fun, and a nice use of the theme.

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Love the idea, and love the LEGS. After about 5 levels, I couldn't jump across the chasm, tried about 15 times, gave up. It looked like I was falling through some of the cubes.

So, great job other than some weird issues like that.

And I like the legs.

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Nice art! I like the Minecraft style, hehe!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:31am

Good job, the core mechanic is well-explored and fun. And you play legs! :D

One small thing though: I thought that either collisions or perspective made me die in some of the levels. Like I thought I was standing on a tile, but I was, in fact, falling. I'm not entirely sure what you can do about it, perhaps check that collider on the legs is big enough and maybe change the texture of the tiles to be more in contrast with the character.

Anyway, solid puzzler.

neocrey says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:55am

Just fun and great!)

shablazm says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I thought adding the button was a nice touch, added a little more puzzle to things. Nice work.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:01pm

nice graphics.I saw a game similar to this but this one is a bit better.if you added music,it would make the game better but i didn't add music to mine either

NateAGeek says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I liked the way it looked. Only thing is the controls are off. I don't know if that is what you wanted. But they feel buggy

Manoloko says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Great looking game, but not easy to control. Not very entertaining and with bugs.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:49am

It was a little buggy, but good job.

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:22am

Not bad... I like the parkour game concept... with more time im sure you could figure out cool mechanics

Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:29am

I liked the game but not the unity.

EmptyFlash says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Good game, nice lighting. The controls are pretty wonky, but otherwise pretty fun.

g_o says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:21pm

The gameplay was so awsome that I forgot about the annoying fact that there was no music, the problem is that the controls aren't really good and it's disturbing in a game like this where the graphic is nice (not fantastic on effects such as in the game over screen) and it's the only thing that bugs me.

Gonzo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I liked how you introduced new elements such as the switches and spike traps. The visual variation was also quite unexpected. Too bad that the controls are a bit inaccurate.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:51pm

I like the look and feel of this. The levels falling apart on completion or death is a really cool touch. I think that with some refinement on the controls this could be a really strong game. Great work.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

Solid entry. Would continue to polish it up and work on player physics, etc.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]