August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ESC: The Game, the Experience

by Spaceoff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is called ESC, because it's a mediocre, generic, rushed platformer and that's the key you'll want to reach for after playing it :)

Game mechanics should quickly become obvious.. I think.
You die after 10 seconds, and the shining beacons of light restore your time and act as checkpoints. Why? Well, because I was low on ideas, short on time and tired.


I really wanted to make a platformer puzzle game for this theme, but too much time was lost, forcing me to make this a generic platformer- and a rushed one at that. Ah well...

Notes:
-Made in GM Studio (hopefully the last time I will EVER be using it for LD).
-Sounds thrown together in SFXR
-Spriting done in ASEPRITE
-This entire post consists of me being salty over not using my time well during this LD.
-The game uses only 8 colors... because why the hell not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#115Graphics3.82
#161Theme3.65
#207Fun3.39
#264Overall3.38
#351Mood3.00
#539Humor2.25
#640Audio2.39
#1018Innovation2.25

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

Hey, that's damn nice! Awesome graphics too. Funny how the timer reallly starts to stress you out... I'm glad the core mechanics were simple, otherwise it would go from exciting to petrifying ;)

Soundboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:41am

It's a bummer you didn't get everything you wanted done, but the game's a lot of fun for what it is! Great sprites too!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice graphics (although a background would be nice) and, well, it works. :D The controls seem a little unresponsive at times, but other than that there's really nothing wrong with it. It may be generic and the ending is indeed a little lame, but it's still a nice game. I've seen a lot worse.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Hey, it's pretty good, even if it's generic. The art is nice and it's highly polished and that's great.

If I were you I'd give more space to the player, sometimes it's hard or frustrating because you keep hitting the wall too often.

Just curious, why the "Made in GM Studio (hopefully the last time I will EVER be using it for LD" thing?

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Great super-shit ending :P Nice graphics, and fun smooth gameplay

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

@Ludipe - because the asset compiler glitched the fuck out with texture placement, countless times. There's a reason I only released a Web version.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

This is pretty neat. Simple platforming. Pure and simple :)

Diamonde says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51am

I think the game overall is very solid and enjoyable. Too bad it is so short.
The graphics style is beautiful, and the mechanics are simple to understand and makes a fun game.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very cool game, really liked what you did with the graphics. The clock kinda made me nervous at the end, haha.

Temich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Good game and such a nice graphics! But i can't reach 4th checkpoint

Szedouu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice use platformer elements with time(10 seconds), arts remind me of old Prince of Persia. Done very well!

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Cool graphics!

Stop complaining about not getting done, and just be happy for what you made :) Makes people negative before playing the game, which i personally don't think is a good idea.

Gameplay was fun, and fairly unique! The game mechanisms worked really well, and even though not that long (which isn't necessarily a bad thing if you want people to play it trough before playing) a had a great time playing it.

The controls were really oldschool. Stiff and a little annoying - exactly how it should be in those type of games :D

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:41pm

i meant: "and even though not that long (which isn't necessarily a bad thing if you want people to play it trough before RATING) I had a great time playing it. "
sorry for the type-o's :)

bombjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Very fun platformer :)

goyal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50am

Great. It reminds me of old prince of persia classic.

There was one thing I spotted, if you mistakenly push the block in the wrong direction and it fell down the ledge there is no way to recover it and you have to start from the last checkpoint. I found it too harsh for such a small mistake.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:01am

Very fun jump&run, nice concept and execution, especially considering it's a compo entry. I just wish the screen area was a little bigger, but other than this: very good job!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I gotta be honest with you: I kind of liked it. Reminded me a bit of the old favourite Montezuma's Revenge on the C64.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

I love the graphics, and the platforming is pretty solid too. I got stuck pretty soon into though.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice game! Very hard too! Only thing I dislike are the sound, a little too invasive. Graphically it is great, very old school, and gameplay is great! I'd work on a complete version adding the stuff you wanted.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Thanks everyone for the reassurance and feedback :D

Also: fullmontis, after LD is over I tend to not want to do anything with the game I've just made for at least a few weeks, if ever. I consider it a done game once I've pressed submit.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Nice pixel graphics and platforming. It's hard but not impossible. I like the dark atmosphere too

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:57am

Solid platformer!

Sense says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Like the graphics, the mood, but jump mechanics is very stressful.

markusfisch says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice platformer! Especially the graphics. Reminds me a bit of the original Prince of Persia.

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:54am

Cool game!
Too bad you didn't get a chance to finish the ending.

Bernhard says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Simple but very well done. All smooth and good jump feeling and everything, cool!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:28pm

You're not giving yourself enough credit. It doesn't really push the envelope for platformers, but it looks very good and gave me a challenging few minutes. The environment has a lot of atmosphere, and the main character reminds me of Trilby from Ben Croshaw's games. The clock being reset when you touch the light is a nice touch (though it feels weird that "orange" is a lower danger level than "yellow").

The only things I didn't like was that jumps could be difficult, and I wasn't too fond of the jump or death sound effects (didn't mind the walking one).

The only thing that actually felt rushed was


SPOILER

the ending. But that's a minor nitpick, since the rest of the game was so good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]