August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Action Movie: The Game

by poohshoes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are strapped into a chair, you must jiggle yourslef free, but don't cause the precariously balanced bomb to fall while your at it. "Action Movie : The Game" has everything you could ever want in a game, explosions, fast cars, and escapes. All of it crammed into the theme of "10 Seconds."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#79Humor3.50
#175Theme3.62
#290Fun3.27
#298Mood3.08
#409Overall3.20
#521Innovation3.00
#535Audio2.59
#769Graphics2.55

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

Reminds me of some sorta action movie...

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03am

Gives you a Macgyver feeling. It's fun but I keep dying too many times haha.

Metal Axe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09am

Small and enjoyable. Kept me playing until I had finished.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

Fun game! With a bit better graphics this could be an amazing experience :) Always wanted to parachute out of a car with explosions behind me.

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

it is fun to play but it is to short if you had better graphics it would be fine :D

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

I very much enjoyed this - it took me a while to work out how to jiggle free, and the puzzle element made me want to succeed :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

Honestly, games like these are the reason I like LD so much. There are tons of generic platformers and such (I mean, there's nothing wrong with that, I made one too in April), but this one is among my favorites so far. Very short, not a lot of content or gameplay, but it's cool as hell.

DissidentDan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I love the concept, the execution was a little rough around the edges. I must have made that dynamite fall a dozen times before getting it (and even then, there wasn't much to it. It's just a matter of "getting it"). I also crashed that car a bunch of times before noticing the parachute pack. I thought that it was just part of the background. I enjoyed the mouthed sound effects.

pcmccull says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:36am

Hardest part was trying to not knock the explosives off the shelf. Drove off the cliff a few times before figuring out that he didn't already have the parachute. The parachuting at the end was a nice touch. Fun idea, well executed and of course realistic sound effects :)

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:57am

My favorite part of this game is how I win if I don't have the parachute. That's probably a glitch, but I think that's just funny. Loved it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:24pm

i did it!!!! huzzah!!!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Wow, this is really quite intense, I only made it by the skin of my teeth. With polish this could really become something quite special. Overall a really fun and unique game!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

The best are the sound effects :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:50am

Haha, great fun and loved the sound effects!

tchem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:03am

great!!! a little short but very creative,,,

Nights57 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Short and sweet. LOVED the sound effects, had a lot of fun with this little game.

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

Great sound effects and good use of the theme. Fun to slowly figure out the 'correct' action sequence to escape.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

I really liked this! I truly felt like an action hero escaping that bomb! Good work!

hbocao says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Great idea! Please take some time to make it longer. Do it NOW! Great sounds effects! haha

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Silly concept! Funny sound effects and driving off the cliff was pretty hilarious. Nice take on the theme, good job!

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:18am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Awesome game. It had great suspense and everything!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Nicely put together. Really gets the theme.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Nicely done ;). Gret work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]