August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Moore's Last Seconds

by Tainted_Code - Jam Entry

PLEASE SUPPORT US:
Buy the high quality OST for a mere $1 here: https://sellfy.com/p/CC81/

If you don't wish to buy, then go ahead and listen on SoundCloud: http://snd.sc/1capQ9w

-----------------------------------------------------

Mr Moore was in a fatal car accident, and his life flashed before his eyes. He remembered the key events in his life, and he was troubled by a few. Take it upon yourself to witness Mr Moore's life, and help him steer away from fate's harm.

Spoiler:
This game isn't meant to be 'hardcore', it simply a game that has a short story, with a solid narrative. The character is about to die in a car accident, and he goes through his past when his life flashes before his eyes and he solves his problems so he can die in peace. He also has to make sure nobody else is hurt in the accident.

Controls:
Left / Right - (A/D) or (Left Arrow/Right Arrow)
Jump - (SPACE) or (Z)
Start Game - (Left Mouse Click)

Note - APOLOGIES FOR THE DOVE COLLISION

Credits:
Tomas Banzas Illa - nobledemon.tumblr.com
Joey Clover - springmissile.com (@SpringMissile)
Paul Fredericks - paulfredericksmusic.com/
David Colgan) - davidscolgan.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Audio(Jam)4.25
#8Mood(Jam)4.22
#43Overall(Jam)3.81
#65Graphics(Jam)4.20
#171Innovation(Jam)3.26
#236Humor(Jam)2.63
#274Fun(Jam)2.98
#379Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

HardScore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57am

Great audio and nice graphics, the collisions in the wedding scene are a bit weird but other then that its great entry :)

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very nice. Platforming on the doves was a little less fluid than I'd have liked for the theme of the piece.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Dat artstyle.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Where is the theme?
Otherwise, Nice and touching story. Congrats for your game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Love the graphics and music, and the voice-over. Interesting stuff done with the narrative and linking it in with the theme. Can't think of anything bad to say really!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Thanks guys! The theme, is the fact that you're reliving his life, fixing memories that are embedded in his mind. Then he can die in piece. The reason you push the car at the end is to make sure it doesn't hit anybody.

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05pm

perfect!!! i love your art!

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Nice. The controls were a bit glitchy in places - especially when jumping on the doves.

The graphics were nice, but the audio was exceptional (and great voice acting & script too!). So created a really good mood. Nice work guys :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great art, music, and narration.

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Good audio, great graphics for the audio. Nice game for the jam.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Beautiful, great music, grafix, only the dove jumping was a bit difficult.
Nice one.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Beautiful audio, and great graphics. A nice match for the story :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Great game. Makes me thing that this would be it if To The Moon would be a platformer.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08pm

awesome graphics, voice acting and sound. Very poetical, I had a great time playing this and cried a bit inside of me.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10pm

If anyone would like to hear the standalone music you can do that here: https://soundcloud.com/paulfredericksmusic/sets/mr-moores-last-seconds/s-FJeSw

villhest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Fun game! The art is fantastic!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Thanks guys! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13pm

played it through.... very good dialog and story.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Excellent storytelling and graphics and music you guys. The mood was excellent too. Thanks for letting me voice act in it!

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Beautiful, and quite moving.

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Lovely art and storytelling. I really liked the concept of platforming with doves, even if the execution was not 100% perfect. Great entry!

Ian Small says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Simple but moving little story. Very simple gameplay with little innovation, but still enjoyable.

boneloaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

We enjoyed the narrative and how it frames the gameplay (and jumping on doves)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

I had this weird glitch playing the web version (haven't tried the others), where most of the levels weren't centered in the frame - also, I got big black squares on top of everything during level changes.

I really enjoyed it apart from that! :) Loved climbing the doves.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Cool game! I quite like the idea of exploring a moment in time. The platforming in the wedding scene especially.

Kad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Why did mr Moore had to die ._.;?
It's hard to believe that such a short time can be enough to create a truly piece of art.
Your voice actor is really cool too.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:31pm

It was a clever idea with the theme, I liked the approach of telling a short story over any serious game mechanics too.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Thanks guys, means so much to us :D

arezita says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very nice game! Congrats!

farmergnome says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Awesome story, nice art also.

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49am

Fantastic in all respects! Very impressive :)

Lustdante says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21am

Wow, such a haunting story. I really really love how you have to push your car away from other potential victims in the end. That was definitely best thing I had to do in LD. Excellent!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

Thanks! :D

MrRoboman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07am

Really nice production! Love the art, sound, and voice acting. It wasn't really a game in the traditional sense, but then again, neither is my entry :) Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Whoa. That was very well done. Very emotional. Nice sound and voice work and great pixel art! Touching ending.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Very good story telling. I like the art style.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

This is incredible! Everything is perfect! If you put more gameplay in it, you got a champion!

MidCry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Nice game guys ... great mixture of story and player interaction ...

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Cheers people! :3

CryoGenesis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Happy to see Colgan doing the narration!

Great graphics and really good story-telling. Reminds me of Bastion. Good work!

Valerien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:32pm

The audio is really clean and the visuals are good overall. However, the game doesn't feel related to the theme and there isn't much gameplay to enjoy there. I think it's a nice try, but you could have had a gameplay centered around changing the character's fate or wife's fate at his own expense in 10 seconds (even with time stretching in his last moments), with different endings for example. The game design just needs a clearer relationship with the "10 seconds" thing.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Nice idea, writting, sound and voice acting. Good job!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Took half an hour to load and when i clicked play i just got a black screen :(
Froom the screenshots, tough, it seems very nice.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

@Valerien, you do, the details are in the description.
@Reaperguy, yeah, that's why there is a 'backup' link, and you're supposed to get a black screen for about 10 seconds.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34pm

It's a game really orginal. They're some collision problemes sometimes and it's a bit short. Good work, though !

rezoner says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Great voice acting and assets. Have a spare handkerchief?

Erhune says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Very beautiful and emotional. The writing and voicing was top-notch, music perfect, really I cannot think of anything bad to say (even the length was just perfect to convey your message I think).

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Great entry.
Visuals - audio - story - very well fitting together.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Thanks guys! ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:18pm

good job. entertaining game

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Very nice thing with voice-over! The graphics were absolutely stunning.

JALgames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice idea to combine a platformer with a story. I don't know if it was that I hadn't got any speakers avilable but I didn't understand how the game was based on the theme.
I personally don't like these quite high-res pixel-art, but as said that's my personal opinion.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:08pm

@JALgames, You have to play it with sound, otherwise, you wouldn't get it. It has a narrative.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:10pm

This is a wonderful piece of art.
Depressing games usually don't depress (from my point of view at least), but this hits the nail on the head. Wonderful graphics and audio, and excellent mood created. Hats off, sir.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice to see a story game. :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Thanks guys!

cwkx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:26pm

This was a fantastic entry with some very talented work on display. Congratulations on working together to produce this. My first 40/40 :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Wow, thanks!!

EncryptedCow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Amazing game.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Perfect game atmosphere, graphics and audio are awesome! Well done.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Not really much of the theme present in the game. Fantastic mood with graphics and sound.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Pretty great art and a good concept. Platforming felt fairly solid. Did not see a strong connection to the theme but I thoroughly enjoyed it

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Good graphics and sound, nice enough gameplay. Story was spoiled a bit by the narrator, as it was supposed to be a sad story (it was, wasn't it!??), and he didn't make it sound sad in any way, at least not to me. The rest was nice! :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Interesting concept and neat game! Very nice art style, too.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29pm

0_0 good and nice storyteling. I really love this one.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:38pm

@Martin_Monosys, well, it was rushed last minute for voice acting. Cheers guys!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very good narration and the music tied in perfectly to the mood of the game. I also thought the dove level was really well done! Great job.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:52pm

simple, but awesome graphics, looks like you put a lot into it. Cool music and points for VO

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:05am

Absolutely amazing visuals. Great narration, good job!

murilo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

After the starting narration the screen goes black and it stays there forever :( I tried more than once. Very nice audio and graphics, from the little I could see!

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

This is actually the first game I play where "10 seconds" is the theme (OK, not exactly "10" but...), not a mechanic (including my own game). That was really nice!

The story is interesting and the music is splendid! Graphics are really cool and detailed, I liked especially the first/last scene!

(also, I couldn't find the problem with the dove collision)

Thanks for this awesome experience! =D

Ossi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

Charming game! I really loved the wedding part and the narration was a cool touch. Pushing the crowd to use as a platform was also neat. I wish there were more things to do that used the environment like that and perhaps have the collectibles be more like the art style of the characters, they seemed a bit out of place. Excellent mood, good job!

hypp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

Very nice. Great graphics and great mood. It really felt like I could correct his "mistakes"

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:42am

great music/audio, voiceover was beautiful.

Great story/mood

Loved the dove scene!!

Although the story is the primary goodthing. The gameplay does complement it nicely, but i think the gameplay aspect of it could be reworked slightly.

Just finished and overall it was simply brilliant

truiton says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

But... But... It's sad! :(
Great mood, great graphics, great audio. It's uncommone. It's art. I like it. :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

Thanks ladies and gents!

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Solid narrative, that's right. Impressive polish and art!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Very nice and artistic.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice story telling.

Volute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Very creative

Capro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:54am

Well realized and quite original. Interesting!

Orni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:37am

great entry - nice narration can improve a game a lot
loved it - the graphical style is amazing as well

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Great story! Really nice graphics and voice acting was really good too! Easy, but excellent work!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Lovely story telling in this

koe415 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:09am

Like others have said, the dove platforming was not as intuitive as the rest of the game was but this is nitpicking. This game is awesome. Great story, great audio and great art. The complete package. And Moore's final act? Pitch perfect. Very high quality production. Please continue the great work. Looking forward to more from you guys!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:19am

AWESOME. I loved playing through that sad little story. Great idea linking the goals of each little part with the narrative. Fantastic entry, just needed better controls and collision (and maybe voice acting hehe) but everything else was perfect and all fitted together amazingly well.

Delca says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Audio and graphics were very good and fitting each other. The end made me kind of sad.
Overall, a nice game, although I do not see the theme very well. Did those flashbacks happened in the ten last seconds of his life ?

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:06pm

@Delca, yeah :P

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Very pretty art, dudes! I also loved the narration and the cute and sad little story. :'(

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Such a shame it's so short, very atmosheric and great storytelling, I simply love the aesthetic, that level with the doves was beautiful.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I love the art style and the use of the narrator.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Lovely story and by far the most effort spent on audio I've heard, really pays off well! Poor, poor Mr Moore.
5* for Theme, Audio and Mood.

Jod says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Wow. I really, really liked what you did there. The combination between gameplay, sound and graphics was really good! Excellent voice acting combined with a really good (and really sad) story! The little scenario's underline all the beautiful little moments he has to lose. One thing to improve would be the final scene. I think I understood exactly what mr. Moore did (and well done to him!), but there's just a few steps that could be explained a bit better.

On the other hand, if I got it, why would we bother cheapening the experience by explaining it? Quite the little quandary. I honestly don't have an answer. Loving it all the same!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:46am

Wow! Just an amazing little game!

Atridas says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Fantastic! The best entry I've found (for now)!!!!! Really, I am amazed.

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Very different from most other entries. Like the story but the game play was a bit trivial.

Mago says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Great story, voice acting and art. This game has a great depth and emotional feeling. I'm amazed truly amazed how so short game make me feel. superb job!

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:41am

The gameplay may be lacking, but anybody who has participated in a LD will be impressed bu just how much content is in this game. The soundtrack is by far the best I've seen in any Ludum Dare game, especially. I like the dove-jumping level especially - it shows the player that Mr. Moore is really just fantasizing, since he can't really jump across a flock of birds to retrieve a ring. The concept reminds me of To the Moon.

andwhatnot says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:35pm

A game driven by good narrative and simple interactions that reinforce that narrative - I like it!

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:15am

cool, but too short))

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:06pm

So much feeling in this game... maybe this games should win the jam... no other game touched me this way. Thanks!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:43am

Awesome arts, music and narration, congrats

Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:22pm

This sent shivers down my spine. Truly amazing work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]