August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mercurial

by sorceress - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About
-----
The theme for this Ludum Dare was "10 Seconds". My interpretation of the theme was to have a game which consists of 3 separate subgames, and player control switches between them every 10 seconds. Items collected in one subgame may be used (rightfully or wrongfully) in another subgame. Meanwhile, the player is plagued by ghosts, and must avoid them at all costs. Since death in one subgame means death in them all.

The switching makes the game both interesting and challenging, as you have to remember both what you were doing, and where the dangers lurk. And iIt can take a couple of seconds after switching to get your bearings again. It is quite challenging trying to plan ahead, to avoid running head into trouble when the game switches back.

I hope you enjoy playing my game, as I've certainly enjoyed making it :D

Controls
--------
Descriptions of the controls are available in game.
Cursor Keys = Move // Control = Shoot // Escape = Quit

Notices
-------
This application uses FMOD Sound System, copyright (c) Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd.

Updates
-------
26/08: Fixed what I believe to be the cause of the terrible lag experienced by some users.
26/08: Fixed an issue where some doors (at random) fail to open correctly, leading to the game being unwinnable.
26/08: Fixed a non-terminating loop which occurs when the player wins the game, causing the game to hang.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#7Fun4.14
#12Overall4.11
#18Audio3.91
#25Theme4.05
#66Graphics4.00
#73Innovation3.84
#80Mood3.60
#206Humor3.00

Comments

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Well done! The graphics and gameplay are amazing ;)

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

For some reason, the game lags terribly every couple of seconds for me.

Friday says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

couldnt move

ezolotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Great

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Oh, good stuff, stylish graphics, nice music, the context switching every 10 seconds is a neat twist!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Loved the gauntlet style game, and the graphics were fantastic.

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Cool game!
Needs some time to get in though...

L says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

This will probably do well, and I think it has merit, despite a number of irksome flaws:
* Having both the platformer red key and the Gauntlet red key makes one or the other unwinnable.
* Gauntlet area is overly dangerous and enemy-infested compared to other areas.
* Gauntlet area preserves some of the original game's tense health sinks (rapid-spawning enemies) which feel badly misplaced in a one-hit-kill game like this.
* Reaching the locked doors in the wrong order makes the game very tedious.
* Other than providing invincibility in the platformer, the Pac-Man segment has no real purpose other than increasing score in an unrewarding fashion. (Had it provided invincibility to the Gauntlet area instead, where enemies are prolific, I'd find it much more interesting.)
* No checkpoints!!

These are my feedback bullets.

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

The game looks great, and promises a great fun, so I'm looking forward to playing it. Unfortunately, it's unplayable for me at the moment. The game lags terribly on my machine (a Win7-x64-based laptop), I have barely been able to reach the first coin :S

(Oh, I opened the source folder out of curiosity to take a look at the code and it was empty)

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Stylish and fun. Gauntlet portion was definitely the funnest. Unfortunately on my best run, I used up the gold key and got myself stuck indefinitely and wasn't able to finish the game.

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Excellent game, and I'm totally in love of the Music. Did you make some music like this ?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Game crashed for me when I beat the final world. That did make me kind of disappointed.

I liked the game apart from that and I think it have a nice take on the theme.

Schwiggy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19pm

If it was in an arcade, this would be the game that I'd put my quarters into :)

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Really good.

Too bad it hangs when you complete it.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

For some reason, the game lags terribly every couple of seconds for me also.

Vaughn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Some additional things after beating it. It seems like a lot of my deaths were from a bug where you can't open locked doors in Gauntlet-mode. You keep trying and trying, and sometimes works, unfortunately by that time, the ghosts are ready to insta-kill you. That, and to beat the game, you need a very specific order of unlocking things in each mode, which can be frustrating since you have to play the game over and over to find that out. Again, still love the game though, enough to beat it, and comment twice :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Really, really wanted to play this (got impression from the feedback that it is awesome, and it just looks great, with the aesthetic reminding me of VVVVVV), BUT, it crashes every time I press UP arrow with a divide by zero error :S

I'm running on Windows 7, x64 if I'm not mistaken...

Daisuke909 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Very nice work. The take on the theme is highly original and creative, the presentation is good, the gameplay is hectic...

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Amazing game! I love the gameplay changing every 10 seconds mechanic!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02am

The fixed version works for me now,yay!

I'm happy to see that the wait was totally worth it. The combination of the 10s countdown with the three different gameplay mechanics works beautifully. And great polish, too. I love the retro art style.

One of the best entries I've played so far. Great job!

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Woohoo, Gauntlet!! This is very fun, good job!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05pm

WOW, really grate game! I am starting to thing I cannot stand to fight such excellent games with mine...

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:38pm

WOW COOL GAME! it switches between game types :D and also the gameplay is smooth :D great job :DDD!!!

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Awesome entry! Although it's a bit hard, how do I avoid the ghost in the platformer-part?

The "source" folder in your ZIP-file is empty, BTW.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Super cool idea! I love how everything comes together! And the music fits perfectly, totally let's me restart after every fail. (Jana)

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42am

It's like a brain context switch! Love it

Killswitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:02am

Kinda reminds me of FleeBuster by ChevyRay. My Score: 1980
Good job!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:19am

This is lovely!

The combination of the different types is great. Music fits really well too :). Also love the sinning-coin faux-3d-effect

I got stuck in the red-wall-room with the red key. I didn't open the re wadll on the first try, and afterwards I couldn't open it either.

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Love the idea! Seems a little easy to die when you swap games though - if you start right next to a ghost and immediately you walk right into it :(

Codexus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice retro style, everything is smooth and well responding! Personally, I would have rather played those games one at a time but you had to find some way to implement the theme.

Sos says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Nice! Much fun was had! And the music is sweet!

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Really love this game!! :D
Really like game switching every 10 seconds and the stylish graphics. The game plays smooth on my computer.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Very nice!! You easily get 5 stars for fun, very well done :D

triplefox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I played the "fixed" version but it still hanged when I finished all three games.

Also using the cherry with spacebar(removes nearby enemies) is not listed in any of the controls, I learned about it by accident.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

the most polished mini-games game I've seen so far! Congrats!

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

Nice game reminds me of Chevy Ray Entry to LudumDare couple of years ago :) where the game is changed :D

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:58am

I like the execution of the concept. Have seen other games trying to do similar things and this is by far the best game I played out of those.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

One of the most professional and polished entries I've played so far in this LD. Great concept, nice retro style (makes me nostalgic for "Gauntlet"), and excellent graphics and sound.

Unfortunately, it's also very hard. I still haven't beaten it, though I intend to get back to it at some point. This in itself isn't a flaw. A bigger problem is that there's quite a bit of difference in difficulty between the different worlds: the "Pacman" world is so easy you almost have to try to get killed, whereas the Metroidvania platformer is a lot harder.

Still, that's about my one nitpick about this game. Congratulations on a very good entry!

Pitzik4 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:29am

A great idea, and well-done! I couldn't seem to get the hang of it, though.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:41pm

excellent game. very hard, but fun. thanks! the platforming is the most annoying and hard as there is no way to defend yourself from that single ghost. lol not that that's bad, i the blue and orange levels were getting intense! Once i managed to control the red level the others got much harder. (i died on pac man)

gamepopper says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Audio and graphics were great! Really challenging and fun! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]