August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Timed Strategy

by Zelosfan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey,
this is a time pressured tactics game which you play against a well balanced ai (challenging AND beatable).
It also makes time the currency and enables it to
give you more "thinking" time if needed (and if you have enough).



The game has a step-by-step tutorial which introduces more and more tiles ,units and mechanics to the game. This makes an easy entrance into the game.



Controls (also mentioned in the game):
-> Camera movement: W/A/S/D
-> Skip planning time: CTRL
-> Use currency to add time: SPACE
-> Fullscreen: F11
-> Skip Level: F8 (you can use it if the game crashed on you and you don't want to repeat the already beaten levels)

I hope you have a lot of fun and take the time to write a comment afterwards :)

(made in Java with LibGDX)
[requires latest JavaSE (7) to play]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#306Overall3.32
#389Fun3.12
#404Audio2.80
#520Theme3.22
#539Humor2.25
#545Innovation2.98
#566Mood2.71
#664Graphics2.71

Comments

valgriz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02am

Pretty neat game!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10am

When I try to run it I get an error.
Could not find the main class:
de.zelosfan.timestrategy.DesktopStarter. Program will exti.

On Windows 7 x64 running java 6.

ghostonline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

Feels very much like a complete game and the tutorial is sure helpful!

tomsik68 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35am

@Empyrealhell you need Java7 to run this game

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57am

Nice job integrating the theme into the game :)

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

Really nice game, it was fairly complex and yet easy to understand while playing. Interface and controls were great, good job!

hungyg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

A bit hard (not necessarily a bad thing), but very well executed and fitting for the theme. Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

This is a incredible game. It was a huge success to beat the AI.. :)

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Really good Advance Wars clone, with quick rounds.

Don't know easily if I can play or not : maybe add the information more clearly than only the color of timer.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Nice!

X-0r says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Neat gameplay. I like strategy in general, tbh :P
The music was a bit too "uplifting" for a wargame.. you know, killing stuff etc... Too bad that the game crashed on me after the tutorial, but what I saw was great. (Man... you actually coded an AI from scratch? That alone is an epic achievement!)

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:17pm

It crashed once and the game closed after reaching the HQ on the fog of war level, I'm guessing it means there are no more levels.

Really neat idea and the gameplay was solid. Fun game!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I agree with hungyg a bit hard but still good :) I got owned aha. Yeah pretty cool game man. Sound didn't work for me tho :/

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Neat! I'm not sure I like how the theme is integrated but otherwise it's a solid game.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The game crashed after the first shots where fired during my first try. Didn't happen when I started it again. I find it really hard to identify different units and buildings due to the lack of contrast sometimes. Liked the "time buying" feature :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

good job

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

The game just quit on me two times (Windows 7 64bit), and I don't want to do the tutorials again :(

From what I've seen so far it's a nice tactics game with an interesting twist. I always forgot to buy more seconds though when I was pressured, because I was busy with commanding units!

"It also looks pretty cheap but hey it's just dirt :D"
Oh, you!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Strategy games are hard to make. Good job!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Simple and good concept, nice realization and the graphics are not that bad at all. :)

acro says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I'm amazed you did this much in 48h, with all the elements needed, AI, progression, units, FoW, and levels. I was a bit dense to start with: at no point do you explain that the player is BLUE (I thought the camera starting on the right was just to show you how to move it with WASD) and it doesn't explain about moving units, whether you can select buildings, etc. I spent the first few minutes frustratedly trying to issue orders to a red tank. I'm advance wars' biggest fan, and so really wanted to like this, but maybe my assumptions worked against me (orange star?). Anyway, once I persisted and realised I was blue, it got pretty darn good. The worst thing is the pathing - the fact you can't have a unit path through another unit, so they all seem to roadblock each other (unless I missed something else). I think I crashed it by somehow getting an infantry unit to occupy the same space as a scout truck.
One other oddity you might be aware of: sound doesn't work (Win7 64bit, latest JRE7) when you double-click to run the jarfile: it only works from commandline java -jar (and a load of debugging lines spew out as well).
This is really great for a compo game, I must admit.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Like it's idea, and the gameplay realy reminds me of stratego... I happen to just love that board game!

BomberGames says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice!
I like the concept and I really like how it was implemented (especially the way you introduced new ideas slowly). Well done.

foumart says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:35pm

This is a pretty good tactical strategy game :) (it halted badly in the way that acro described)

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:37pm

The music and graphics were ok. The gameplay was a lot of fun. I really liked the concept and found the game to be engaging. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]