August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keep Up

by Geroro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I originally wasn't going to participate because I had a busy weekend but I ended up finding a few hours to make something simple :)

I used to play this at a park when I was a kid (IRL)

Goal:
keep the ball(s) in the air for 10 seconds without touching the ground

Controls

Red - WASD
Blue - Arrow Keys

Tools Used
jsbin - http://jsbin.com - Code
bfxr - http://www.bfxr.net/ - Audio
GeroSoup - https://github.com/Geroro/GeroSoupLibrary - HTML5 Game Library

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#617Fun2.85
#771Audio2.11
#830Innovation2.60
#922Graphics2.25
#925Theme2.70
#943Overall2.63
#1738Coolness22%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37am

Ha, nice take on pong!

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Playing on my own, once the second was introduced my brain went into meltdown. For something so simple, it's done well and looks nice. When a ball gets stuck between them both it hurts my ears. I'd like it if that didn't happen haha

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

ARGH. Got down to 4 seconds with 3 balls once. Game is fun, sound made my ears bleed.

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17am

The first 10 seconds is fun but I don't know how it's supposed to be even close to possible with 2 balls! :/

sanojian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Really good concept and use of the theme. Its really hard with just 2 balls going. Great job!

GagaPete says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

4 Seconds with 3 balls? I'm happy when I can handle one ball. I had to give up when the second one came in. The game is really funny and the art is appropriate for this kind of games. Very good job. Will check it out on my phone tomorrow.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Nice game, i like the concept

fgielow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

it has really simple and yet good looks!

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:22am

A really neat little game. Not much to it, but I enjoyed it quite a bit.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:52am

Good stuff! Nice concept you made there :D

Sestren says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:33am

Wow, that gets hard very fast. I'll have to try this out with a second person on the other set of keys. Cool idea, and well-executed for only having a few hours to work.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 9:58am

Bug: ball can get stuck in the (down left) corner
Love the minimalistic art. The sounds fit as well. It is too hard if you play it alone when the 2nd ball comes in, though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

Simple and quite challenging for just one player

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

It is actually kind of mesmerizing. I thought having one ball in the air was challenging enough and then another one came down. I think this game is meant for co-op which I guess is possible.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]