August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Deadline

by Kharza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Press Left Ctrl to Crouch!!!

I know that will get a lot of people but I didn't have time to include an instruction trigger.

Be sure to use the Reach version if you have a videocard that is not capable of shader 3 stuff.

800x600 netbook version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59900676/DeadlineNetbook.zip

Esc brings up a menu for vid and some limited control options.

Hope you like it! Was a lot of fun to make.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Graphics4.19
#103Mood3.50
#217Overall3.44
#419Audio2.77
#462Fun3.04
#503Innovation3.04
#851Theme2.82
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17pm

waow, nice post process !

metranil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:07am

Looks really cool from the screenshots! Sorry wasn't able to actually try it...using a mac.

DuFF says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:15am

Really enjoyed this. Got stuck after collecting 6 items and 18 entries. Not sure what to do next. Great work for 48 hours though. Interesting story.

ix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22am

This was attractive and playable, thanks!

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:24am

Hmm need a way to help people that are stuck without spoiling people. I am on irc if you want hints! Thanks for the comments!

The rendering is a 3 stage cellshade -> outline detector thingy cellshade->bleach bypass->bloom then the outline goes over the top

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:30am

Giga from IRC found a crash with fullscreen. If you tab out in fullscreen it may crash. Best to use windowed mode.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:54am

Too lazy to retype all I've told you over IRC!
Good job!

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:50am

Went ahead and fixed that crash since I haven't changed anything else.

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48am

The art is awesome. Love the implementation of crouch movement.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

nice :D

Mironix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

definitely one in a kind - could not get thru the assembler - not giving the controls is a good move, don't change that - it's cool to explore :D

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Wow, nice job. I had fun with this one. The mood was good, and you certainly put some effort into the story.

Kharza says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:13am

Thanks to Beardbotnik for testing my reach version for me!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:48am

Interesting game, the graphic style is fantastic, the outlines make for a very original look. The journals were a little obscure, but the game area was small enough that once I figured out how to crouch that I could spam the interact button on everything and manage to move forward. The matter drive thing's sound was pretty annoying, I feel like something a little quieter could have worked well. Other than that it works as an interesting adventure game! Good job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:54am

Awesome, I really liked this one. The graphical style is quite unique and daring, and definitely made up for the simple geometry. Despite initially not wanting to read all that text, I ended up getting into the story and the technobabble a little.

I accidentally killed the captain so I was expecting a sad ending, but I got promoted?

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:57am

Oh also: Mouse didn't work for me, which I think was because I have a controller plugged in. Controller DID work, and thank you so much for letting me invert the y axis, though I was surprised that there was no binding on the controller for crouch. Hmm. Was there sound? I did not have sound (first link) :(

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:36am

Looks really awesome! It gave me a bit of an eerie feeling. I got stuck behind a bed in the upstairs so that's as far as I got.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:44am

Loves the unique style to the game. I took a while to find out I could crouch. That looping sfx at the start was a bit difficult to listen to.
But otherwise, quite the interesting gamme! Great job!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:20pm

this is a awsome game very cool bro very cool

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Shit what trippy graphics! Nice going..

Kharza says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Whoa stuck? I shall investigate that spot. There's also a buggy wall in the engine room.

I kind of messed up the "touching people kills them" thing. I didn't have time to do a dying animation, but I had already written all the journal entries so it was confusing.

You can also switch controller to mouse/keys in the controls menu.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Nice game!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Really engaging game with excellent graphics. The font was impossible to read, though, so I spent a bit too long attempting to understand the text.

EmptyFlash says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Really solid, loved the glow/bloom effect.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I don't have much to say about this one. It was a nice game; not bad at all, but not mind-blowing either.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Woah Kharza, you outdid yourself with this one! It looks great and the story is fun. Maybe a bit dry for some, but worked great for me. :)

I daresay the font choice was terrible. Apart from that, I loved it. Puzzles were just hard enough and exploring the (surprisingly big) ship was fun.

Hats off man, excellent work!

Kharza says ...
Sep 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Put up a post compo version here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/59900676/DeadlineReachInstaller.zip

That is the installer, I know Ludumites hate installers, but I give out the post compo to a wider audience.

Fixes the terrible journal font, strange shading in the lower decks, proper lighting on crew, crew in lower decks, crouch hint, 360 gamepad support, better light to show crawlspace, lights and sound to show which compy clusters are active, prevent some journal entries from showing up when it doesn't make any sense

Kharza says ...
Sep 28, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I should have used this to make my story: http://www.bargaintuan.com/sttngplotgen/index.php

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]