August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jet Racing

by lulzfish_4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls are arrow keys or WASD, and Space for the handbrake. P pauses the game.

You are a racer of jet cars.

Your goal is to finish as many laps as possible while avoiding the ghosts.

To finish a lap, drive through all the checkpoints in order. The next checkpoint is marked in green.

Every 10 seconds, a ghost will spawn. Each ghost follows your trail, but 10 (20, 30, ...) seconds in the past. If you stop, the ghosts will catch you and ram you, because they want to be where you are. If you crash, then a ghost will crash in the same place every 10 seconds.

You have 10 health points. Every time you touch a ghost, you lose 1 health point and are granted mercy invulnerability for 1 second.

Example video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdXwdCQvJ6s

*** End of important things ***

My record is 22 laps, at which point there were 33 ghosts on the track. (So I'd been driving for 330 seconds, or 5.5 minutes)

Update: I'm up to 30 laps now.

Source code for the game (Git tree):

https://gitorious.org/ld27-jet-racing/cyborgtroy-ld27-jet-racing/trees/1.0.0

Git URL for the game: (Checkout tag 1.0.0)

git://gitorious.org/ld27-jet-racing/cyborgtroy-ld27-jet-racing.git

Source code for the Colorado graphics classes:

https://gitorious.org/cyborgtroy-colorado/cyborgtroy-colorado/trees/83af70948bf6f28c1f43261d9ca0328d7e833452

Git URL for Colorado: (Checkout commit 83af70948bf6f28c1f43261d9ca0328d7e833452)

git://gitorious.org/cyborgtroy-colorado/cyborgtroy-colorado.git

SHA1 sums for the binaries:

Win32: b9570c7e435c52d7f83996116449098b3747064c *ld27-jet-racing-release.zip

GNU / Linux (64-bit): 52f18f330ed0106f696795ca8b14123fb3bab2b8 ld27-jet-racing-gnu-linux-64.tar.gz

The Windows version ships with all dependencies.

The GNU / Linux version depends on Lua 5.2, Qt 4.8, and GLEW 1.7. Box2D 2.2.1 is compiled in.

I compiled it on Debian Testing, so if you have that distro installed, it should be easy to find the packages.

The game may also work with Qt 4.7 and GLEW 1.5 or 1.6. The post-compo version (1.1.0) works with Lua 5.1 and Qt 4.6.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#231Fun3.35
#568Innovation2.94
#610Overall3.00
#864Humor1.71
#876Graphics2.35
#902Theme2.74
#1040Mood1.86

Comments

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:17pm

It's fun to dogde the ghosts, but I dont't think it doesn't really fit to the theme, does it?

Ravetcofx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

It does not have a linux version, sorry :|

12323op says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

I got 14 laps and 24 ghosts :)

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05am

Ravetcofx: It will compile on Linux. You can use the source code, or if you know someone who can help me make a Debian package I can make one of those.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:06am

GNU / Linux*

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16am

The game mechanic is pretty original and a cool way to make the game get progressively harder. Lacking in sound and graphics, otherwise i enjoyed playing it :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

Cool idea! I got to 22 ghosts :D

nandor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Nice game

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:03pm

A ghost system is a great fit to a car game, nice idea. The game is very nice. My highscore is 16 laps - 26 Ghost, maybe you should compute a unique highscore combining those two infos ?

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

NuSan: I've thought about that. A ghost spawns every 10 seconds, so the ghosts are just a quantized timer.

I think laps are fine as the only score, because it already combines how fast you can drive (Driving fast will get you the same laps with fewer ghosts) with how well you can hold off the ghosts.

The ghost count is mostly there for amusement.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12am

Not too bad. :)

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Doesn't really fit the theme, but it was fun to mess around with.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:45am

Started out really boring but quickly got entertaining :)

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09am

I failed to find a purpose on this game, and a connection to the 10s theme.

The controls were fine, I was able to control the car just right. The little touch of recording the player's ghosts did not went unnoticed.

I failed to find an ending and purpose. This seemed like a tech demo that failed to convey the idea you were after.

This game seems like a programmer's game.

Rated 5/7.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:09am

I failed to find a purpose on this game, and a connection to the 10s theme.

The controls were fine, I was able to control the car just right. The little touch of recording the player's ghosts did not went unnoticed.

I failed to find an ending and purpose. This seemed like a tech demo that failed to convey the idea you were after.

This game seems like a programmer's game.

Rated 5/10.

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32am

After 14 laps I finally died. it was kinda boring at the start but then got a heck of a lot more interesting later on.

sounds would of made it awesome!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I got up to 13 laps. I like the ghost mechanic. The colors are a bit dark.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very cool, it was genuinely fun watching the bots hit each other in the middle of the race track! It was VERY hard when I got to the 20 ghosts mark. I died at lap 14 with 23 ghosts. Very cool arcade game, I would like to see a highscore of this. :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

Interesting idea. Gets a bit crowded after a while should be some other kind of goal then simply surviving.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35pm

very interesting... more assets and development would be nice, but this is a solid game prototype

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:00am

Didn't really fit the theme, but the ghosts were really well made so props to you on that

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:06am

Its a neat concept. It has a very basic idea behind it. survival. how long can you survive. Good Job.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

this game was really interesting to me. i think the interpretation of the theme is pretty excellent.

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

It pleases me to no end that you're using whff :D
At first, it seemed quite mediocre, but as the ghosts accumulated, it was incredibly fun to see all the cars zooming by in the middle of the track.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:16pm

More drift! :)

Solid game. When being rammed by a bot I sometimes had the notion that the direction of the checkpoints was reversed? (or I just rotated that much)

lulzfish_4 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

Endurion: The crashes can be very disorienting, and the track has no good landmarks, and the camera is fixed rigidly to the car, so it may be that you just rotated a lot.

It also happens that a bot will push you through a checkpoint.

murilo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:13am

Hey that's a pretty good idea! Rammed by yourself hahaha Add some physics, nice track design and controls and this would be super! Nice one, man!

Tegu says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Dodging ghosts is fun and gets increasingly harder over time which is cool. The intersection gets pretty dangerous. I would have liked to have some kind of lap timer though. Also more tracks would be fun but can't be demanded from a 48h entry. :) Maybe for a post-compo version?

lulzfish_4 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Tegu: I didn't bother putting the lap timer on the GUI. If you play it from a terminal, it should print out your lap times.

I'm planning to add more tracks. The problem is, if I don't have the intersection, then the majority of crashes are from cars sneaking up behind you or side-swiping you. I might move the camera back or something to get a wider view.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Fun game, even more fun when you are a reckless driver and swerve everywhere like a madman. Then the ghosts get extremely hard.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]