August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

i hate the dark

by angrygeometry - Jam Entry

enjoy your walk home in the dark.

an experimental adventure/text game i didn't have much time to work on. hoping to improve it post-compo!

rpg maker doesn't handle resolutions well, press alt + enter if the screen flickers.

Z/Enter - examine/OK
X/Escape - menu/cancel


if you're stuck on the sound puzzle, there's some tips in the comments below

you can also find the answer at the bottom of my post-mortem: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/i-hate-the-dark-post-mortemanalysis/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#12Mood(Jam)4.13
#137Audio(Jam)3.32
#354Overall(Jam)2.98
#405Fun(Jam)2.63
#426Humor(Jam)1.84
#486Graphics(Jam)2.57
#498Innovation(Jam)2.40
#590Theme(Jam)1.79

Comments

magicdweedoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

pretty freaky! I love the ambience (i can't figure out the tapes in bin part)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm

10/10 WOULD PLAY IN A DARK ROOM AGAIN

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Mood = 5/5

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:25pm

really cool mood

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I do not see how the theme was implemented....

coeoliver says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46pm

wow!!!!

netgrind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I got stuck at the phone part :/ great mood you set up.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

thanks for playing guys! the phone part is pretty dumb, the clues are 'H', 'menu' and 'escape'. should have made them clearer but my mic is terrible. hope this helps!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Not sure where '10 seconds' but the atmosphere in this game was fantastic. It had me feeling the things described. Very good job there.

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20pm

creepy... nice sound effects

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Disconnected from the theme, but pretty awesome mood you set in there !

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Very good mood setting!

I'm also stuck on the sound puzzle, is it something that require knowledge of the american phone system (i.e. a menu key that is also a number for landlines?)

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33pm

thanks! and nope, the sound puzzle only requires knowledge of rpgs i guess, its mostly about where you're looking! i'm writing a post-mortem, so will put the answer there for everyone who is stuck! there's a lot more after the sound puzzle i'd like people to see!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Yeah, I really really tried to get past the phone, but it was seriously cryptic and I couldn't figure it out. The atmosphere, music, and even visuals are really coherent and I was having lots of fun with it tho. Can't wait to have the solution!

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Nice graphics, the puzzle was just too much for me!! Nice work!!

Andrew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

It's as surreal as I expected it to be but I'm also stuck at the phone puzzle. I'll check back later for the solution and will give it another go.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06am

Great atmosphere to this one, it was surprisingly effective in what it set out to do. Definitely do more with this one if you can, I'd like to see where you could take it with a little more time. Nice work!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:16am

thanks a lot for playing! i'm really glad you enjoyed the mood.

the solution to the phone puzzle is at the end of my post-mortem

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/i-hate-the-dark-post-mortemanalysis/

it's in stars so you can find it easily! i hope it helps you understand my silly mindset when making it!

Wertle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice ambient sound, it would help if when I tried to interact with something that wasn't interactable if I got some feedback to let me know I was doing it wrong. Good job!

boddiul says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:20pm

I hope it'll be ok if I will make a 3d version of it? And with better graphics. It was very atmospheric, I enjoyed playing it. However your game is disconnected from the theme.

23 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07pm

This is not the kind of game I'm really into, but it's definitely come together enough that it feels like a lot more than a weekend went into it. Good stuff!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Loved the mood of this, special graphics, I like the minimalist style. Nice storyline, you write pretty well! I liked it and immersed myself in it.

cafeine says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:39am

OK, so I managed to finish the game, I liked it a lot, your writing is very good and the minimalist art style adds a lot to the atmosphere.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:01am

Awesome game. It definitely reminded me a lot of playing RPG's on the SNES.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

u have a mood for sure and that is very hard to do

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

It's a little spooky and the puzzles don't make much sense, but I liked it.

I wish it wasn't fullscreen by default because fullscreen applications screw up the window management on Windows XP.

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Not much to do with the theme as far as I could tell. But it was a great little game! Lots of mood and the simple drawings only made it more creepy. Nice work :) It reminded me of something I can't quite remember...

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:20pm

surrealistically crude and atmospherically haunting. a personal and cogent entry. nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]