August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Factory Hero

by shinD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A videogame about an assembly line in a factory, where you're tasked in assembling modern phones in quick succession ie. you have 10 seconds to assemble one phone.

Windows binary is included, but the game is written in Python, so it should be crossplatform if you run it via source. Just copy the res-folder into the sources-folder.

Requires python 2.7 & pyglet

I ran out of time - cause well, I forgot - to include a proper ingame tutorial, so do check out the video link for a bit clearer demonstration on how to play.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#289Innovation3.35
#382Graphics3.19
#426Audio2.76
#497Theme3.24
#585Mood2.69
#622Humor2.13
#714Overall2.92
#948Fun2.42

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47am

I like the industrial colour pallete, and the gameplay itself is clever, but very challenging to get used to. The first time I played this I had no idea what the keys did and I just ended up failing all the time.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

Liked it. Nice graphic style!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

Fun game. Idea and gameplay pretty original. I like your work, good job :)

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

woot, this game is quite difficult! my highest score is just a bit above 230 :P i like it. the art and sounds are nice. i just find the w key a bit uncomfortable to use :P nice work :D

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:12am

Wow, hard game but still fun and a good idea

manabreak says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:16am

Really original idea! I love this kind of games. :)

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

love the visual style

Surrealix says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Unfortunately I couldn't get it to run:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 2, in <module>
File "core.pyc", line 20, in <module>
File "src\game.pyc", line 10, in __init__
File "pyglet\window\win32\__init__.pyc", line 131, in __init__
File "pyglet\window\__init__.pyc", line 559, in __init__
File "pyglet\window\win32\__init__.pyc", line 261, in _create
File "pyglet\gl\win32.pyc", line 263, in attach
File "pyglet\gl\win32.pyc", line 208, in attach
pyglet.gl.ContextException: Unable to share contexts

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Hmm, that's weird. There are apparently some GPUs that pyglet has issues with, which might be the cause. Sadly the list of those with maybe workarounds returns 404 it seems, so that's not a big help. :(

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Hard work. Great graphic style!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Interesting game but limited game, a little confusing to learn (had to look up the youtube tutorial). Audio is good, fitting with the grungy industrial graphics. Good fit for the theme!

johnl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Won't run for me either.

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "main.py", line 4, in <module>
File *core.pyc", line 25, in init
File "src\resources.pyc", line 76, in load_sounds
File "pyglet\resource.pyc",line 610, in media
File "pyglet\media\__init__.pyc", line 1406, in load
File "pyglet\media\__init.pyc", line 1382, in load
File "pyglet\media\avbin.pyc", line 296, in __init
File "pyglet\media\avbin.pyc", line 198, in f
WindowsError: exception: access violation writing 0x6E6BB26C

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Pretty original concept, although very difficult until you get used to all the keys and patterns

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I like your idea, I doubt anyone would pay for the devices I assembled, he he. Nice touch on the artwork and sounds, it really feels like I'm mangling hardware.

Technical note: for anyone running from source if you get the error "IOError: decoder zip not available" you can solve this by installing pillow (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3544155/about-the-pil-error-ioerror-decoder-zip-not-available)

zn01wr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

The drawing is really nice and the concept is original. I got into an error the first time I ran it, but it worked fine after. Anyway, the game is fun !

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Very hard game. Very cool idea though has potential, seemed a bit sluggish and lack of audio made it a bit more boring. It's a frustrating game but once you get the hang of it it eases up and becomes more fun to play.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Pretty tough and challenging, interesting idea though! Good job!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Way too complicated for me...
I think I'll even do better in a real factory :)

Nice music though!

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:06pm

It was a bit confusing at first but once you get the concept it's pretty fun to play. Good graphics and audio, fun game overall.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]