August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Can you count to 10?

by BackwardSpy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I don't really know what this is, I had no ideas and this is a result of that.

For best results, please play with sound on!

NOTE: If you get an error about missing DLLs, try installing the latest VC++ Redist from the following link:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Mood3.95
#78Audio3.55
#113Humor3.33
#246Overall3.40
#289Innovation3.35
#438Graphics3.08
#601Fun2.87
#971Theme2.63
#1359Coolness42%

Comments

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21am

This is pretty clever, brilliant intro! :)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:16am

Despite the only "themed" portion is an over glorified intro, I found it very entertaining. The platformer is really good too so it was worth sitting through!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16am

I love the platforming section, the character is cute and I like the colour palette you've chosen

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46am

good :3

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

It says I am missing msvcp110.dll and couldn't open the game. I downloaded visual c++ redist and still has the problem. What is the requirement?

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

If you are getting an error about msvcp110.dll, you need to install this: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679
Hopefully that helps!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Doesn't work on my PC. :( (WinXP 32Bit)
After gamepoppers comment I really wanted to see that intro...

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Hey ShellfishGames, what stops it from running? If it is the same issue that theholychicken had, then see my reply above.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I simply get an error message that sais the exe is not a valid windows executable. :/ I already downloaded and installed the VC++ thing you mentioned, but to no effect.

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Same issue here unfortunately, also on XP.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I just tried it on my laptop (vista) and it finally worked. And what can I say - very well done! Great atmosphere, unsettling yet kind of funny lines, a few surprises here and there. Not a lot of actual gameplay but a cool experience nevertheless. :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Interesting game.

Too much time is spent waiting.

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16am

The intro is fun, but far too long ;)
Otherwise it's a cool little platformer :)

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Thanks for the reviews.
I'm afraid I'm not sure why it says it's not a valid executable, I'm using Windows 8 so it might just be a case of XP being too old to work with the newest development tools. It's a shame, but I'm afraid I don't have an XP machine I can test and/or build on.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

All i have to say is: I Love It! :D

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:14pm

I really liked this! So creepy and disorienting. And the ending is brilliantly weird.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

1... 2... 5... Dammit!

Interesting little experiment. Moody.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

crazy game, i love the intro. Good job

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I don't really know what I've just played.
Do you know what I've just played?

Do you know how I'm going to rate this game?
I do.

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Hah, nice one ashdnazg. Quite honestly, I'm not entirely sure what I made, so I'm afraid I can't tell you what you just played. :D

Thank you all for your comments so far.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

Very nice mood! I get some of that vindictive AI feel from it, and I like the font and colors that you used.

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Hehe... weird.

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Love the atmosphere. The ending really scared me. Also that block was cute :3

EmptyFlash says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:36pm

This game had a great, creepy atmosphere. Really enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]