August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You can't kill the Devil. But your baby can

by onzephyr - Jam Entry

Your unborn child is the only one who can Kill the devil. it's your job to get him there. You have 10 seconds.
gameplay is that of a top down shooter

WASD to move Mouse to aim and shoot.
at the end of 10 seconds your child will be born. be ready and aiming at the devil.

Edit: uploaded a playthrough vid.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#12Humor(Jam)4.12
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#132Overall(Jam)3.47
#138Theme(Jam)3.44
#153Mood(Jam)3.28
#217Audio(Jam)3.04
#219Innovation(Jam)3.14
#272Graphics(Jam)3.32

Comments

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56am

the most disturbing game I've played so far - but also one of the funniest ones

loved it :)
5/5 Humor

(didn't expect anything but a great game from you)

bufbot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Very nice game, I enjoyed it

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20pm

And I thought my game was disturbing!?! This is worse... 5/5 humor!

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20pm

It made me giggle. Nice idea + I love top down shooters :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

That was... pretty awesome. I especially like the remixed children's song. Nothing beats swinging your baby from your umbilical cord into Lucifer's gaping maw.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Aw I didn't fair so well. :'( But mah baby sure did!

sans_seraph says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31pm

5/5 on the mood for sure, even if it's a pretty disturbing, strange mood. Cool game with a crazy theme, and the gameplay was surprisingly addicting. Good job.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

The story is disturbing. But it's a great shooter !

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I really enjoyed this game. Love the comments at the end of each level.

Yoni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:26pm

What.
(Also: Cool game)

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27pm

What the.. Huh no.. wait.. Is it? ...seriously? ..Did I play a mother throwing her baby into the devil mouth to kill it?

Well it was really fun :)

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice responsive controls, addictive gameplay and awesome graphics! The humor fell a bit flat for me (not the subject matter, just a personal thing) but it's got a great mood! Good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Haha you are crazy ! nice game ^^

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Disturbing funny game, and the controls are really good.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53pm

The miracle of childbirth has never before been conveyed so accurately.

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

hehehe nice humor! I wasn't very comfortable with the aiming. Felt like I had little screen ahead of me. But nice overall!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

Nice game, I like the graphics, the music and especially the shot sound. ^^

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15am

Awesome game and fun idea!
I like that sounds :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20pm

great graphics and solid play -- but sooo disturbing

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Tell me, but i see a lot of Hotline Miami ispiration in this game. Just for that, great entry!! I really enjoy the game :)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Wut. Also the web version only half works, I had to download the downloadable one to play properly.

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I have not words. So much dark humor... I need to top that during LD28.

Andrew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

That's an interesting kind of fishing. I was also not aware that babies are born with clothes.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

What a strange game...:D

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

That is a very colourful umbilical cord :P Really fun game ;)

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:17pm

The controls are very smooth and it was a good design choice to have the arrow point in the right direction like a compass. Also what a silly story!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:54pm

This is one of the strangest and funniest games I've played. The woman goes through all that and doesn't get a happy ending?? Liked the messages at the end of levels

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Crazy game, hahahahha, at first I didn't knew I could shoot (I thought that shooting would bring the baby out XD). Then I figured out I could shoot (Patim patim patim!) and things got easier. Game works quite well ^^ gratz

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:38pm

It took me a while to understand the rules of the game, but once I did, I loved it!
Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I love this game. Its so funny. XD I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

onzephyr says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Thanks for all the feedback. The windows version is much more efficient then the web version try it if the web version is slow. Updated the page with a video playthrough

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:54am

I guess you could say using childbirth as a mechanic is innovative...

I like that the 10 sec timer doesn't start until you move, nice design.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

good job

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Super mega umbilical cord attack !!!
Ahah, I'm still laughing. Plus, I really loved you art, second kind of enemies are creepy.

bassarisse says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:24am

Weird but very fun! Fast, really good pace.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:41pm

THAT IS THE MOST FUN GAME GREAT GAME

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]