August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Base 10

by Jayjay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The facility is collapsing! Escape base 10 blowing your way through locked doors and narrowly missing the 10 second lock-down in each room!

WASD/Arrows - Move
Mouse - Aim
Left click - Shoot
Right click/F key - Throw gun
R key - Restart

My first Ludum Dare entry! =D Created in Construct 2, music recorded in Audacity, SFX generated in SFXR, and graphics drawn in MSPaint/Paint.Net combo =]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#213Fun3.38
#289Theme3.45
#380Mood2.96
#392Overall3.22
#521Innovation3.00
#561Audio2.55
#668Humor2.05
#822Graphics2.45

Comments

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56am

I like the door that you have to discard weapon to enter.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58am

you did great for your first game!! (credits said so)

About the game itself, you should change the text color, I got stuck like 4 tries when I had to drop the gun, noticed it too late

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

Really fun little game, with some clever level designs. Well done!

zillix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03am

awesome job! the level designs were well fit to the 10 second time limit. I liked that nearly every level I had to figure out a new thing, instead of just having to do something really quickly.

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

I escaped base 10!

I like the door you had to throw the gun over to get around
good job!
decent level design and puzzles and distractions!

Deadlyapps says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:30am

Lol lots of fun. Very Exhilarating

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Cohesive and well put together, from start to finish. It seems that you actually completed what you set out to, good on you.

ericdpitts says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

Nicely done! I agree with those above, the "gun over the door" puzzle was awesome. Nice job on level design as well.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16am

I like those guns they are cool! Good game!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34am

Very clever level design! Love when i had to throw the weapon over the door to pass through!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Thanks for all the positive feedback! @Tork sure, I'll modify the text color if I extend the game after LD =]

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

good idea!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Really nice first LD entry! I thought it was very solid overall. You could have the R restart work even if you are not dead to speed things up a bit.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I really liked the level where I had to throw my gun over the wall. Cool idea and well executed. I could have kept going playing more levels. :-)

PaulSB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Yay I won! This was a nice little entry, with a good level of difficulty. Especially for a first time! Enjoyed it. Improve the graphics and we're really talking.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:55am

Thanks again! I'm definitely hoping to improve/replace the graphics/sounds/music with a friend and make it into a full game in the future =]

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49am

Needing to drop the gun (or occasionally throw it) added a nice layer of depth to the whole thing. Well done!

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:51am

Neat game.
I liked the gun throwing part.
It would be cool if you expanded on that and added more puzzles.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

I escaped base 10. Nice. I thought it was fun. I would have enjoyed seeing more level variation. I liked the level where i had to toss the gun over the scanner. It took me a second to figure out what to do. Nice job.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

I like what your doing here. Good job for your first game.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

Woohoo, I love moonwalking. Fun game!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55am

Nice platformer puzzle game. Clever level design. Very nice for your first time. Hope to see you in the next LD.

kcpunk666 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

good stuff

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:27am

Clever idea and well realized. I'm always anxious to throw my gun away, haha. Good game!

Patriick says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This is a real nice project... Fun and nicely created. =]


Kind Regards
Patrick Griffiths

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Really good for a first LD entry! Cool mechanics and I really liked that you sometimes put things that you didn't need to complete a level.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Cool game, I thought having to throw your gun away to get through the bio scanners was an awesome idea

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Lovely little puzzle moments in this one. Nice job! :)

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:06am

I had a lot of fun running through all your levels. Really clever level design! Keep up the great work!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:14am

Nice game! Some interesting levels and mechanics introduced a little at a time. That one had me stumped for a minute until I thought of running and using momentum :)

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42am

Very clever level design! You made what is a simple mechanic into something so much more. The art and sound is cool too! But the gameplay totally takes the cake!

Being a LD fresher myself, I found this very enjoyable.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

I hope this game will evolve, gives me the stealth bastard feeling to it. Good job m8

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:58pm

good job

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Great work. I love the "drop the gun" mechanic, but I don't like the "10 seconds per level" mechanic. I know that's the theme for LD, but I think if you do a post-compo version then you should get rid of this limitation. The game would be much more interesting as a puzzle-platformer without the artificial time limit.

The "different colour areas" idea is awesome, and the minimal drone sound track fit perfectly. Good stuff.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nice puzzles!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:01am

Finished the game... Nice mechanics there, it's kinda unique... Good job on your first LD game :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:50am

winner! yay! -- great job

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:06am

Solid game! Love the idea you have to throw your gun away

Marcellus says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Nice game good music and intresting to play.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:26pm

A good game! The time limits are difficult but achievable. Throwing the gun is a clever idea, especially since you can accidentally pick it up again if you throw it ahead of you.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]