August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Robot Time

by wally2069 - Jam Entry

A poor automaton is trapped in a temporal nightmare and must escape the terrible factory before his past clones catch up to him.

EDIT: After watching caranha's Lets Play of my game, I finally understand the bug. Clicking the close button was supposed to bring up a prompt asking the player if they wanted to quit were they could select yes and end or no and resume playing.

I have since patched that issue, tested it out, and uploaded a new version (no gameplay changes). Sorry about the problem everybody.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Theme(Jam)3.89
#29Innovation(Jam)3.82
#97Fun(Jam)3.45
#115Overall(Jam)3.51
#257Mood(Jam)3.00
#306Audio(Jam)2.78
#397Humor(Jam)1.97
#496Graphics(Jam)2.53

Comments

tigers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Interesting game. Had to force shut the exe via the task manager, though.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Loved it.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

@tigers: Pressing escape pauses and brings up a menu to return to title. The fifth option down on the title screen is GAME EXIT

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Tremendously clever idea. Well done!

Croze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:07pm

That was incredibly good!! Very well made, had a very good feel to it, and actually made you think!!! Props to you!

Derbdale says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Great concept, really fun to play. Overall great take on the theme!

Entity2D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Very interesting idea, great work!

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very good game but the exit button doesnt work

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Wow brilliant! Top marks for innovation!
It's as if reflecting on how all pain and fear are self-inflicted.
I enjoyed it very much!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

The necessary epiphany on the second level is very profound...
It's so good I have to comment again!

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Heh, another ghost character entry. I liked the clean, simple graphics style and how you had to dodge your old self. Nice little puzzle, would have liked more levels.

thephantom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:28am

very good idea and level design , great job :)

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:29am

Very creative, well done game.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:34am

Was confused how to exit for awhile, just make the close button work. Neat concept.

Dracae says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

This game is TOO GOOD! :D

Great game!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05am

Very interesting mechanic. Quite challenging.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05am

Puzzles are really well-designed.
Graphics are simple but effective.
Good work! :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Really had a blast with this one. Nice concept and approach to the theme.

stenol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Great concept !

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32pm

That was very nice timing puzzle game, i really enjoyed this one.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33pm

It is a very clever game which requires you to come up with a strategy to beat a level rather quickly. The idea that I am my own enemy was awesome.

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

A good and well executed idea with nice level design.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Cool timing/memory puzzles. I'd catch myself about to take the wrong path sometimes, making me feel more clever than I actually am.

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice game!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:00am

Full marks on innovation! Very nice take on 10 seconds. Graphics could've used improvement, but it didn't matter much, really.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:34pm

This is a quirky little entry

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:25pm

clever idea, nice!

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

mechanic are awesome! you r good! well done!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39pm

good job

Taffaz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Really enjoyed playing this. Good job

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

Nice short puzzle game, like the mechanic and the levels do a lot to shown how to us the mechanic.

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I had a lot of fun playing this game! The menu screens are super smart, and controls responsive. A very efficient game :-)

Two suggestions:
1- I can't quit the game by closing the window... don't do that man!
2- MOAR LEVELS!

Cheers, and here is a video review:
http://youtu.be/1Iv9myQtZ7E

Tegu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

At first I didn't get the idea but after the first collision it was all clear and pretty clever. What's better, the maps weren't actually as simple as they seemed and I had to retry a few times. The graphics and the screen size somehow reminded me of GameBoy. :P

marccspro says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Nice game :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Alright, honest feedback time!

The music became really irritating quickly, and I wish the controls were smoother (especially the replay). Some kind of visual indicator of paths you've taken might be helpful (comment of a stream viewer - which I agree with!)

Positives: I *love* the concept. Wish there were more levels (although I was relieved to finish it as is :) Really well done, grats!

m110 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

That's totally cool, well done concept! Loved the minimalism. Also, good job with the difficulty level, it's pretty balanced.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I really liked this, gets so mental when you take ages!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Norton said it was not safe so I could not run it.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Gameplay is great!It doesn't need to be extended at all, or it will loose some of the prethinking.
The music got repititive after a while.

nthird says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:56am

I really liked this one. Its like a reverse of Chronotron. Clever twist and interesting challenge. The existing levels are good difficulty, would love to see more of the same. My only complaint is that I'd like to see the timer not start until the first move. That way you can check out the level for a bit first without making it way more difficult.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Nice idee. Everything worked well and it was pretty fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]