August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fire, Ice, and Purple

by Andrew - Jam Entry

####################
VIDEO GUIDE LINK ABOVE (this game is hard)
####################


Wizards need not only quick wits but a good grasp of the 3 basic elements of wizardry: fire for burning, ice for not burning, and purple for being awesome.

You're not quite there yet, hence the 10 second trials of wits and mastery.

Fire and ice need to be activated before use(mouse 1 and mouse 2 respectively to select, and once more to activate), while purple can't really be used, you just select it.

Fire shoots a fireball. It pushes things.

Ice summons an elongated high density ice cube. You can walk across it.

Purple makes you faster and lets you jump higher. It goes away when you activate any other element.

You must reach the purple portal in each of the 6 levels.

wasd & space to move
mouse to look/cast

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#264Innovation(Jam)3.04
#356Graphics(Jam)3.00
#403Overall(Jam)2.86
#404Humor(Jam)1.95
#440Audio(Jam)2.23
#445Mood(Jam)2.46
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#553Theme(Jam)2.29

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19pm

wow, impressive engine, i liked the animation and effects. the starting instructions screen was a little unintuitive however,i managed to get stuck on level 3 lol.how do you activate purple?

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

You click the middle mouse button and that's it. I edited the description to make it clearer. I've also added a video guide, hope it helps: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kNcYe4MW2M0

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I like it, nice animations and particle system!

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I really liked the concept for this, but the collisions were a bit of a mess for me, so I couldn't get very far :/

Mesene says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice camera, gived a cool Mood.
Ice is hard to master :S

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Awesome idea, Id love to see this concept pushed to the next level. Personally, I think the cast animations took a little too long, but thats a design decision and I can respect it. Solid entry, great job :D

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Great concept. I felt very confused at first however. I didn't realize the squares at the start were buttons and i clicked level 3 to start. I also got a bug on the web version which wouldn't use mouse movement to look around. Good job overall!

tokw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Nice game very impressive and innovative

onzephyr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:43pm

very impressive. it took me a few tries to figure it out, but once I got the hang of it it was rather enjoyable. nicely executed. the video helped me figure out what I was having trouble with.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:53pm

An interesting puzzle-like entry, the ascetics reminds me a lot of the old hexen games. Cool entry andrew!

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:56pm

@lordjosephdeburg I'll take that as a huge compliment. I loved the hexen games. :D

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:52am

any game that gives me the feeling of being a wizard is a great game - this one is no exception

well done, I really like the concept - would love to see this game developed further

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Works on Linux.
Delay on fire was bit bad. Trying to push the box and the plank. Nearly got to the end. But didn't :-(
Also mouse sens is way to high.
But good entry overall.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

The effects were nice! Keep it up!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Good animations and lovely music! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]