August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LABYRINTH10

by Nizan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note on Audio: It is turned off by default as not to annoy everyone... but do try it out, see how long you last ;)

Use your cursor to navigate a maze and collect Bits to score points. The catch? You only have ten seconds! Grab what you can, then retreat to the centre of the maze to use your Bits to buy more time! That said, the longer you stay out there and the more you collect in a row, the bigger your multiplier and the more points you'll score!

Integrated with an on-line leader-board, so let's see who gets top score (...or hacks it first!) :)

Developed entirely with Construct 2 - using AudioSauna for Audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#307Graphics3.32
#347Overall3.27
#406Theme3.32
#451Fun3.05
#515Innovation3.02
#535Audio2.59
#536Mood2.75
#778Humor1.88

Comments

VictorGrunn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

I remember there's a name for this kind of game, but I can't recall it offhand. Sort of like operation? Either way, nice and slickly executed - well done.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:13am

Nicely polished, this one, really like the audio especially. On the negative side I've had a few goes and it's still absolutely kicking my ass :p. Still, I can hardly blame it for that. Nice work!

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

surprisingly hard. I can't imagine how someone got 3000+ points.

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Pretty fun and interesting idea, but does the difficulty go up? It seems like my points and time left continue to rise even later in the game.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

Really hard game, nice audio. Simple gameplay, good job! :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Hmm, every time I start, it just tells me "collision detected."

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Clean. Simple.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Good graphics design, nice gameplay.

superfoonly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I set the high score... nicely done, my only complaint is that there wasn't any difficulty increase as the game goes on, it actually get easier the more you play. Other than that, very well made!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This is hard. I am no good at this game. All that starcraft 2 has not paid off. Its pretty unforgiving. It reminds me of that surgery board game "Operation". But I feel like it could be mastered. Nice Idea using the mouse pointer as the avatar :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Really nice idea, well done and nicely polished. Also like the audio. The difficulty varies greatly tough, as sometimes you cannot even reach 7 gems due to the random maze creation which allows many unreachable blocks, unless i didnt understand something.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Cool idea. I would like a 'try again' button so I can get straight back in the action. I only want to submit my score when I have something to be proud of. ;-)

Very minor change: perhaps just amend the text to 'Navigate the maze with your *mouse* cursor', I'm a bit slow and it took me a while to figure out why the game was ending - it was due to collisions caused by me moving the mouse out of the window - just my first instinct really.

Nice procedurally created levels by the way! :-D

doonay21 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:38am

Hard enough :) Good job as the game seems polished and finished

CrossBread says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:29am

Fantastic concept, one of my favorite so far. I love how the player has to balance greed with difficulty. The multiplier was a nice touch to make it worth while to stay out longer. I noticed a lag sometimes when trying to end a level. Is it possibly that the "EXIT" text is not part of the same button that ends the level? Great work!

Ossi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:01am

Really hard game! That was super fun and well polished. The music was great and the buying time mechanic made the path back to the center really frantic. Amazing job!

haloflooder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:18am

Spent 10 minutes on it. scored 10,000. Pretty good concept but the maze generation could be better. It wasn't possible to get any bits in some "sessions"

Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:36am

Very neat, made me spend a very good time :) Very well executed too, and the audio is great. Very good job!

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:10am

Great graphics and music. The game was difficult yet really fun :D

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:28am

Really nice game. Love the music. All very polished. Only problem is that I'm really bad at it. But that's my problem not your problem :)

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:10am

Pretty fun one.
But "end"-game is missing. Once you know how to play it's easy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]