Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defuse - KevinWorkman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to defuse the bomb! Cut the correct wire in time, or the bomb goes BOOM!

View KevinWorkman's journal. | View all entries by KevinWorkman

Ratings

Coolness52%
#59Theme3.88
#347Fun3.19
#568Innovation2.94
#647Overall2.97
#693Humor2.00
#831Mood2.37
#992Graphics2.13

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:04am

Ha, lovely idea!

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22am

Tracing the wires in 10 seconds alerted me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered gradually introducing the tangles?

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Thanks for playing!

@ethankennerly: I actually tried to gradually introduce the tangles and ramp up the difficult as you go. The first few levels only have 1 curve in them, then more curves are added as you play to make it harder. The problem is that there's a big different between 1 and 2 curves, but then less of a difference between having 2 and 3 curves, even less for 3 or 4 curves, etc. It's an interesting problem though.

GNecro1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Cool locking game but sound would be nice :)

HeroesGrave says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16am

What kind of crazy person wired up those bombs??!!

Highscore: 171110

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:44am

Liked it, got pretty far into it too :D

Kramin42 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10am

It would be better if the wires didn't have sharp kinks. That should be possible if they're made out of cubic Bezier curves.

Good game though, I got 180653 on my third try :)

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Thanks everybody!

I agree that sound would be nice, it just didn't happen.

@HeroesGrave: the same kind of crazy person who leaves exploding red barrels next to groups of enemies in every shooting game! :D

@Kramin42- they are indeed cubic Bezier curves, and I did try to get rid of the kinks, but this is the best I could come up with. I'd be interested to hear how you'd do it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:28am

Makes me want to join the bomb squad. Not sure if this is a good or bad thing but I enjoyed this game. Nice one Kevin!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

Nice take on the bomb theme!

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Nice little game. Seems easier than it is at first, which is great! Some sounds like ticking and a scissor sound when cutting would be cool.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36am

Fun entry, quite hard sometimes when ALL the cables is like a ball in the middle :P

triforcespark says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:02am

I thought this was a bad game, but as I progressed,
...
...
Earphone chords.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Challenging game. I really liked it. Good job! :)

truiton says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

BOOOM
Nice idea :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Like the idea and implementation. Nice use of the theme.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

This could be a really good mobile game if you polish it more =)Sound is definitely needed.

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I scored 66942. I really like the concept of the game.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice concept! Simple works well.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice one! Getting harder and harder to find the wire.

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Nice and sweet game, short and to the point. The lack of sound is a great disservice to this game, but other than that I really liked it!

Have a video review :-)
http://youtu.be/pUlP6yTNfFw

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Too many booms in this LD. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]