August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orction House Panic

by Dry Tree - Jam Entry

Orction House Panic is a high-fantasy high-speed auction simulator.

Win or lose, the house keeps EVERY bid in these 10-second auctions.

Use your point'd fingerclicking to shove the other bidders and the orctioneer will take their money. Waste enough of your rivals' cash in the first four auctions and you'll be able to outbid them all for the real prize: The Sword of Fash'um Kalish!

Don't make any fast movements or you'll place a bid yourself. The other bidders may flinch or jump with the tension of the moment so seize these opportunities to leap while the orctioneer is distracted.

Good luck, adventurer!



[NB: Linux users may need to launch the game with the command "java -jar Orction-House-Panic.jar", Windows & OS X users can simply double-click to launch the game]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#7Audio(Jam)4.20
#28Humor(Jam)3.89
#33Innovation(Jam)3.81
#59Theme(Jam)3.67
#90Overall(Jam)3.57
#117Mood(Jam)3.40
#120Graphics(Jam)3.91
#244Fun(Jam)3.04

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12am

Amazing audio.
Fun idea for gameplay. good integration with theme.
And awesome humor. good job. :)

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:13am

Interesting take on the theme. The audio and graphics are well done and there are some pretty decent jokes, as well. I like it!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16am

Amazing audio.
Fun idea for gameplay. good integration with theme.
And awesome humor. good job. :)

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16am

some nice idea, I pretty enjoyed your game, good entry!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

Great voice, funny stuff!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39am

Best audio of this LD so far!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03am

Pretty original, nice artstyle and the voice-acting feature is great.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00am

Wow full voice over in an LD game hah. Now i've got 'poke poke poke' stuck in my head. Not much of a fan of the art but Very original cool game guys!

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I LOVE THIS TO TINY WET PIECES

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:45pm

It's funny! And there's a lot of good sound and music in this! The game is rather easy to win, however, and winning doesn't reap you any extra funniness.

Still, though. This is very well presented. Good job!

DaVince says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I wanted to say sound and music and art. The art's nice and fun.

domlock says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Agree funny, and good concept for all ages.
Would be good to have a few more surprises.
Good programming and the audio is fun.

domlock says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Ha ha ha. Wait until the very end then it is raining 'kittens!'
Very funny

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:53am

Probably the best audio I've heard so far. It was pretty unclear to me when I was supposed to poke, but no one else in the comments has had trouble yet so maybe I'm an outlier. :)

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09am

Holyyyyyy shit that is a wonderful pun title. Fun game too... great drawings, writing, and music.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18am

Excellent sound and voice! Troll is really cute! Sword in underpants - suddenly)) For "8000 LVL" - hell ya! The fact that the game is multiplatform - a big plus for today! Titles good too. Marked by all the participants. Subject auction perfectly connected with the "10 seconds"!

It would be cool to have this gun fight, but I could not pass on! Thank you for the work done, I had a great time! This is a good start for a great game, I think .. Need to implement the idea, as long as someone did not use it;)!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22am

Very original, and nice take on the theme!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

Terrific audio indeed! Reminds me a little of those old windows point and clock educational games. Not as crappy as those, of course!
Great job!

Sebby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:10am

Really nice, very clever! I found it quite difficult to understand how I was supposed to play, seemed maybe not very consistent or something, not sure. But still, the game looks gorgeous, and I really love the idea. Great job! :D

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Haven't seen that many games with Orcs. And most def not that many with orcs in auction! Real fun idea.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Clever premise; entertaining art, writing and voice acting; fun mechanic. This is just a great, good-natured bit of entertainment. Thanks!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:35am

Wonderful idea, voice acting, and art. It made me laugh too

awppy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Loved the dialog, and the mechanics were pretty nifty as well! Also liked how characters would turn around with this "What the hell, man?" look on their faces when you forced them to bid on something

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Nice graphics, awesome audio.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

very cool and original concept, and quite difficult. great visuals and audio.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I think that this type of biding could just wotk in real life...

TobiasW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Thanks for the comment on my game! Now on to yours:

"high-fantasy high-speed auction simulator"? Sold!

It took a while to get accustomed to how fast I can move, but then I could soon hear that "Victory is mine". I really love the concept. The gameplay is works well too, although I was never fast enough to really use the distractions of the auctioneer - I just touched the people from side to side while moving cautiously. What's really cool is the risk/reward you got going there: The more people you prod, the more you can get from them - but the more you could lose if you move to quickly. Happened to me once, never again.

Where the game really shines is the visuals, and, obviously, the music and voice acting! Everything looks right like an adventure game, and I can't be the only one who still loves those. And the humor. Great puns!

Pretty awesome entry!

Capro says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:36am

This is absolutely awesome. Innovative, fun, and really well realized. Great work! :)

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:05pm

The voice acting is superb!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Great game! I had to play it a few times to finally win, but there were enough items that there was new fun each time!

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:42am

Reminded me of Discworld.

michail says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I have no idea what I am doing in this game, but the graphics, audio and the idea are great!

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:26pm

A very good game and a funny story, isnt too hard once you get the hang of it but glad I played

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:47pm

As others been said: great humor, great voice-acting and music, great graphics, mood, use of the theme!

One thing that I noticed: for some reason, the voices only came through on my back speakers when the game started and were very hard to hear. Maybe because I don't use a center speaker(?)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]