August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Thief

by N0_Named_Guy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

AUDIO SPEKAERS NOTE: THIS GAME HAS SOUND AND NO OPTION TO TURN IT OFF!!!

EDIT: You guys gave me a DDoS. Don't know if I should be mad, or flattered... There's a dropbox link

EDIT2: Please note that this is a stealth game. The fact that enemies chase the thief (and sometimes outrun him) is not a bug, it's a feature. Avoid getting near the guards.

You're in control of a thief, who steals safes.
After you get the safe, you must escape within 10 seconds, or else, you'll lose.

You must be cautious of the guards. If they see you, they'll immediately chase you...! Avoid running into one of them, so plan your routes carefully.

The Thief runs on devices that support the HTML5 specifications. To control the thief, you can use:

Your mouse: by click and/or dragging
Touch: if you're using a tablet or mobile phone
Keyboard: WASD, ZQSD and Arrow keys are supported

I hope you have fun playing The Thief!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#213Fun3.38
#289Theme3.45
#402Humor2.53
#459Overall3.15
#597Innovation2.90
#620Mood2.64
#664Audio2.34
#920Graphics2.26

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24am

Pretty good, I liked it. Nice touch when you get the safe.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

I am the ultimate thief!

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00am

Very fun game with great mechanics. The only thing I would add would be "line of sight" graphics for the guards.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

Nice job! I loved the floor colors to match the safeness of the area. I really enjoyed the rumbling when you get the safe, to. Keep it up!

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Very fun to play and well built :D

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Very good, I like it, especially the effects when you get the thing you have to steal.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Liked it, very fun and a hard puzzle at first. Art was a little simple but this game really didn't need good art. Was very fun to play.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Nice job, would be cool if the guards had a line of sight, but the way it is definitely adding to the difficulty. Controls work well and the game fits the theme well, I like the sense of urgency from the camera shake!

Whiteclaws says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Pretty nice indeed :)

Now why can't I get that safe ? XD

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Pretty cool, lovely AI! Gets pretty hard in level 3 :)

Aurel300 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I like the way the camera moves. ;) :D

pedroka says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:29pm

A nice game! Addictive!

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Surprisingly fun to play! I enjoyed it. The obvious flaw is graphics. The gameplay, though, as simple as it is, it's engaging and enjoyable. Well done.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29am

That was pretty cool! I like a good stealth game. I would have like do some more atmosphere, hiding in the shadows and all that. Still, deciding when to grab the safe based on enemy movement was a neat choice.

Are the guards all supposed to be Mexican and Asian? Either I'm a bad person or you are.

NgonGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

Loved the game. Was interesting to see how it evolved. Having the AI chase you makes it a lot more challenging.

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

Very fun little stealth game! Footsteps were very satisfying for some reason; they had a lot of weight to them. I also really liked the shaking after you got the safe.

Also, sometime enemies can see you through walls and will attempt to erase the wall with their face. Rather silly :P

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:33am

I am the Ultimate Thief!

It's pretty impressive to see a stealth game that works in a compo like this. I enjoyed the experience. There were times that I wished that i could just outrun the guards but their amped up speed when I have the safe really helps to drive home that this is a stealth game.

5/5 overall. I think the graphics were perfectly adequate but were the weakest part of the game. It's strength was where it mattered: this was fun! Nice work.

And, thanks again for livestreaming my game. That was really enjoyable and informative to watch.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

Was really fun man, the third level was so hard though hahah

mrcdk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

Good game! I liked the mouse movement. It was quite challenging but nice over all.

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nice game. I found the mouse movement a little less clean than just using the keyboard. The game ran clean but i can see that the 10 seconds theme really limits the size of the levels. In terms of time needed to rate the game.. good size, but would have enjoyed some more levels.

Royal Railway says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35am

Simple, solid and self-explanatory concept that undoubtedly sticks to the 10 second theme. The graphics, while not amazing art, suit the purpose of the game well. The colours are bright and clear and there is never any confusion induced by them.

I have to say that the walking sound was very annoying and could be removed. All other sounds were nice, though. The visual cues, including the exclamation mark and the screen shake, were great and really helpful.

All in all, well done. Very difficult, though! I was not good at getting far in it.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Pretty difficult game! The small touches you've added such as the shaking camera and the guards' behavior are definitely my favorite part about the game and make it seem really polished despite the simple graphics. The audio is pretty adequate, and all in all it's a really fun game to play; and somewhat addictive too! The mechanics are somewhat simple, but they're executed well enough to make it very worth playing. Great job :)

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Nice mechanics, couldn't always see when the guard could see me or when i would have been safe. Nice work though.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fun game with some cool gameplay mechanics. Great work, man!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:43pm

really cool concept.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Cool Concept, I like how the game works, its quite difficult. I featured it in my comilation video of Ludum Dare 27 Games, if you wanna check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1UJ96l2scE

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I thought this was a really solid game. I liked the concept although the difficulty was a little too much for me. I like the incorporation of the theme as well. Keep up the good work!

Vaughn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:10am

Enjoyable concept. The audio is a bit grading on the ears after awhile and the collision seems a bit off sometimes. Either way, I was able to beat it after some trial and error. Nice work!

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice idea. I love stealth games. The level 3 wasn't so hard for me. maybe luck?
More levels of this will be great!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:54am

This was fun! More luck based than puzzle, but still, good entry!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:31pm

The shaking effect gave the game a nice sense of urgency. The game had a good amount more strategy than I had originally though. It could definitely use some polish, but I enjoyed it.

gre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I really like the mix between an infiltration game (kind of like Metal Gear) and a steal-and-rush to the exit game mechanism :-)

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Solid game. The weak part are the graphics, but your game is an compo entry, so I think that is reasonable :)

I liked the level design, too bad that the game is short, I want to play more levels! :P (or at least some levels really hard >D )

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:48pm

The concept is cool, Some levels were pretty hard. Would have been better with some music.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Very cool concept - it took me a while to figure out the "rules" of when the guard could see me, but after I got it it was easier. I kind of felt like it was cheating that the guards could see through the red walls too ;)

Awesome stuff though - I played it for ages.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Good game concept! The level design is quite interesting. Enjoyed it :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I'm so close to liking this but there are just too many little things that annoy for me to keep playing for long. I kind of like the grahpics. Although it makes it hard to tell where the guard is looking. Why not have a go at drawing people? I've no artistic ability but I managed to make a character that at least looks like a person. It's not hard with vector art.

I just found it frustrating, they always saw me now matter where they was going. I had to turn the volume down because of the footsteps sound. It sounded like the same sound over and over, perhaps you should have recorded a few footsteps sounds and changed them about.

It still had something about it I liked, but I gave up really quickly mainly because of the difficulty.

cafeine says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

A bit short but really good. It has all the good design tricks to give the game that "just one more try" quality (immediate restart upon failure, good visual feedback...). Good work on the AI too, the movement patterns are just chaotic enough to make it interesting.

The core is solid, add a few more levels and maybe some twists (like new enemies or fake safes) and you have a pretty good online/mobile game.

Congratulations!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I suck at stealth games, so this one wasn't really for me. Once I hit level 3 I couldn't get out of the opening corridor.

Zuige says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Oh apparently I hadn't rated your game yet. I did play it earlier though. :) Here you go!

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:49pm

fun game. this is one of those entries I'd really like to see developed further, definitely has potential.

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice game, i wished there was the vision cone displayed to better prepare my path!

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Funny game - really like those. Great development of difficulty. Nice thing that it supports different controls (keyboard, touch and mouse).

The only thing I found a bit odd, was that the guards escape their "chase the theif"-state; feels like they should keep chasing you or trigger an alarm.

However, great entry!

bytegrove says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Pretty neat stealth game. However, I found it very hard without knowing the guards' line of sight(just having them face in the direction they're looking would help I think). It would also have been nice to have some levels designed so you could hide behind walls and the like. The countdown feature was pretty cool. I never made it past the third level sadly.

BenW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I am the ultimate thief.

It wasn't immediately obvious what the colored zones were. I also really feel like the audio and graphics aren't doing your gameplay justice. Overall it was very fun. I felt like the third level was much more difficult than the last one. Also running back to the exit gave me a pacman vibe.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Was really fun to play! Only the footsteps sound was annoying ;)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:56pm

One of the better uses of the theme, being able to prepare for the ten second rush is a great idea. Really fun game.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Very nice, a minimalist stealth game! A bit more hints on when the enemies can see me would be nice, but overall it's a solid gameplay.

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

I like the style this game has. It's a fun concept and I like the levels. Pretty challenging and fun.

Rafael CP says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Very fun, I love stealth games!

antonijn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice game, could use a couple more levels though. The last one was really tough! Good job.

Gremlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

I like the use of the 10-second escape, escape is underused in stealth games. It's not always obvious where the guards will spot you. The controls are solid, which is a lot harder to do than you'd think, so good job!

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Great idea, and nicely balanced! buen trabajo David!

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Very addictive game. I'm stuck on the first water level, but I'm gonna keep trying a while longer. I wish I could see the limits to the guards' vision.

Aslai says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23am

I'm a sucker for stealth games. It was annoying how some guards could see through walls, but that just meant I needed to be more careful. The sounds were also a little obnoxious.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:28am

cool game, way too tough for me though, started getting frustrating, especially when getting caught on edges trying to escape, or accidentally holding a direction when spawning and immediately getting seen. could be i don't have the patience though.

Gazok says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

I felt collisions could be very sudden, and I found myself running from the start into an enemy ten times in a row without really realising whenever I got caught by surprise, but when the game was going well, it was a lot of fun.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Pretty good. I think it'd work better with conic lines of sights for the guards...I think I saw that mentioned in another comment?

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

Sweet game! It's like a mini stealth game. Loved it.

proc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Just completed it and thought that was fun. I like the panic after you grab the safe.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:28am

Really simple graphics, but fun gameplay! I love how you gave the thief a headband - because all thieves wear headbands :P

siat says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very addictive. It's hard to tell where the guards are looking and how far they can see, though.

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I could not really understand how were the guard seeing me, nor if their color or face had any impact on their behaviour (I saw guard with the same face and ifferent movement speed).
But I liked the concept, and the 10 seconds limit is really well used ; it adds a nice touch to the game.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:10pm

They should hire smarter guards.

pighead10 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I am the ultimate thief! The movement sound was really annoying, but the game was really fun. Good puzzle.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:22am

That was fun.
I really like the use of the 10 seconds and the shaking effect. It creates tension and also some stealth feeling, but I miss some way to know the guard detection zone.

imef says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Nice game! I do agree with your graph in your post-mortem.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This gets super hard! It might be easier if the guards have a line of sight rather than a detection radius, but this is very awesome as is!

Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice entry No_named_guy. I enjoyed the collecting the box. The surpise variance on the different guys was exciting to discover. Seemed a bit hard to win. That damped the excitement. :)

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:41am

The sense of urgency caused by the camera shaking was really nice. It's a pity that this game have so few stages...
But nice game. ^^

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:21am

Solid job.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

Thank you for all the feedback and ratings. This is a game that I hope to improve.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]