August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ReTurtle

by Metatheos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple game about taking a boss down in 10 seconds. Unfortunately you don't have the power to do it by yourself. You might do it if you help yourself, but it gets much easier with the help of you, you and you -- or does it? Just try not to shoot yourself, have fun, post your times and sorry for no sound.

Update: Now with post-mortem ( http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/09/03/294584-returtle-postmortem/ ) and post-compo-version.
Update 2: The changes for the post-compo-version explained: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/09/13/returtle-revised/

To start click a pod, more are unlocked after starting through the previous ones.

Controls:
WSAD to move
Left Mouse Button to shoot (Hint: not shooting makes the next shot stronger, the red ring shows charging state)
Right Mouse Button to pull up shield (Hint: some projectiles bounce off the shield depending on angle, bouncing increases their power)

HINTS:
* You can restart the current round by pressing r. I suggest to use this if you get hit really early in the fight. If you did considerable damage and don't understand the rules yet, just let the 10 seconds run out.
* The charged shot (wait one second after a shot to let the ring around the controlled player align again) does significantly more damage, try to use only that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#418Innovation3.15
#446Graphics3.06
#792Theme2.90
#820Overall2.78
#954Audio1.36
#980Humor1.17
#997Fun2.33
#1060Mood1.72

Comments

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

Looks great. Really hard though.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29am

Once I got in the hang of it, it was fun. I didn't understand the purpose of the different spools at first, but I figured it out.

laserbeam says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

I don't get it, sorry, I just don't. I get you play more then once to take out the boss, but why do those previous attempts I had keep dying? Am I shooting them down? No... that's not it, but why? Also there's very little feedback provided to the player, bullets don't seem to have an impact, you die to easy, you have to manually restart the game when you die. The idea is ok, but you could have executed it much better :).

Metatheos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

In fact your guys can be killed by friendly fire. For previous incarnations it also can be a grenade you are drawing somewhere they will move to.
You're right about the lack of feedback, there are quite a few things I had to cut in that regard (obviously sound, visual feedback on hit/block/reflect/projectile-strength, battle-timer/boss-hp, intro/outro, a proper main menu,...).
About having to restart manually: if you mean restarting the current round with r after you get hit, the motivation is that three guys hitting the maximum amount of fully charged shots should be able to take the boss down (two might be enough with some reflect-magic). So if you're at 98% progress after four guys, you can still easily win by landing a few shots, getting hit in the first five seconds and watching as the others finish the job. If you mean clearing progress, that's part of cutting most of the menu, sorry about that.
Thanks for the feedback though everyone, really appreciated. I might add a post-compo-version over the next few days, fixing a few of the things from the top of that list.

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Yup. Super hard. There are some interesting ideas in here.

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Gets its fun factor from its difficulty and it has a lot of that.

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48pm

awwww I can't get the unity web player to work so I cant test this, looks so fun.

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

I agree this is pretty damn hard, but the pattern based movement of the enemy makes the game interesting

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:35am

Didn't know what the hell was going on lol

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

Really nice 3D art. :)

gene-z says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Too hard, but great

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice motion on the boss / AI but the game could really use an intro tutorial / or as others pointed out a bit of feedback - a healthbar on the boss would be enough :)

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:37pm

The idea seems really good and the art is good too. But I couldn't actually beat the very first boss :)
Two problems:
- missing feedback for boss damages, I actually can't tell when I hit him or not,

- when I die, it would be really good to simply go back to menu immediately, no need to force the 10s delay each time. In fact, for my first 2 tries, I was instantly killed by the boss, so the ship disappeared, and I was stucked for 10s each time. Really looked like a bug.

flavio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Waow, the first round was hard !
It took me some time to get the mecanics
Nice job !

DuduSAr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Took some time and patience to understand. I like the idea, really nice. But lacks information on the mechanics. I was not understanding why I had to watch all the boss animation after dead on the pod 1.

Metatheos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone! It's scary how much all those things I had to cut seem to negatively affect the experience. For now I reformulated the description a bit to give some hints on the mechanics. I also made the hint that you can restart a round by pressing 'r' a separate point in an attempt to make it more visible (should have added that as an in-game hint though). I'll really have to find some time to make a post-compo-version.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

really unique idea! the bosses patterns were well made, and the models were great.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

hard but got the hang of it.. looks great!

Jeremias says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Nice concept but very hard to beat the first boss! I would add more feedback of damaging the boss as well as health bars for both.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I think the difficulty screwed up the fun factor. Really needed a better learning curve. Visuals are nice though!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I totally didn't understand what was going on, nice visual style though

dkilford says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Great idea, execution felt a little awkward. Most of the rounds my clones just ended up dying in the first few seconds of the round. Art looks really good, controls felt good. Overall good job!

superfoonly says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I couldn't figure it out. At the beginning there were no ships for me to control, when I did get a ship I couldn't move it

Metatheos says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:59pm

This sounds strange, I think you might have accidentally found the 'replay'-function (clicking the title just replays the current state of the fight). Maybe I should have disabled it in the compo-build.

Reyn says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:10pm

It got too crowded at about 30% through. Looks good and plays well.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I really like this concept, I just wish it wasn't so difficult (friendly fire is pretty punishing). I haven't once been able to beat the boss, but it's been fun nonetheless. I'm definitely glad you're continuing development on this.

Sestren says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Cool concept. A bit hard to manage once there are several of your ships on the screen, though.

Fervir says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:10am

Really fun and challenging.
Very well done difficulty.
Didn't really use the shield as much as I probably should have

Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:11am

Looks great, and I like how much polish you were able to get in for the post-jam! It was a little hard to get the hang of it and understand just what was going on, but I eventually got it.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:56pm

! Great job :).

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Cool idea, very fun! what? hard?? well a little ... xD great job bro!!! n.n

Sh1rogane says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:44pm

That was a hard game and fun too :D
I liked the idea/mechanic.
I just wish there was some sounds.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:16pm

It's a really interesting idea, but very difficult to see what's going on! If you don't move straight away at the start of the first boss, you'll die almost immediately. Also I frequently died with no idea why

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Interesting concept, way too hard for me though. The boss pattern was cool!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Very nice concept but a bit hard, if the shoot was faster that would make things a bit easier. :)

Metatheos says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Thank you all for the feedback. I noticed that people probably use rapid-fire way more than I'd want them to, bad communication on my part here. I added a hint to the description explaining that it's best to let the shot recharge fully.

@Fervir: In the compo-version it's really hard to get any use out of the shield and even in the post-compo-version it's something you'd only use to optimize time, it's mostly there for depth.

@CosmicAdventureSquad: Nice to read some feedback on the post-compo-version, thanks for trying that out too.

@JonathanG: You're right, that you're getting hit by the first batch of bullets is a really stupid quirk of the compo-version, makes a really bad first impression, doesn't it? The thing hitting you randomly might be the grenades the enemy launches at two points in the battle.

@Almax27: Good job on noticing that. You're right, the ratio between player-projectile-speed and boss-movement-speed is really awful in the compo-version. I indeed bumped the projectile speed on the player up a bit and lowered enemy-motion-speed significantly for the post-compo-version.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Really fun concept.
Without your tip of using only the charged shot, I guess I would have never defeat the enemy. The post-compo is definitely clearer regarding the rules but the gameplay is already present and challenging in you entry.
I also like you graphics, colors are a bit cartoon, when design is more serious.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Strange game, but a rather cool idea (if I understand it correctly...). Needs some sound, however...! ;)

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Wow, this game is awesome! That was a great idea!

I'm a fan of shooters, so this was a game that I would easily like. But you took it a step further! The controls are great and having to pay attention not only to the boss's bullets but your (previous) ones, made this something really unique.

It would be great if you made more bosses. :D
(and sounds... this greatly enhances a game)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]