August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds

by 3ndo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simplistic time-based spelling/word search game with similar mechanics to Boggle.

* Click each letter to select, clicking a second time completes the word.

* Letters are refreshed every ten seconds.

* Letters with a 'persistence' counter will remain after the refresh, but with a reduced count.

* You'll need to be quick at spotting and selecting combinations.

* Scoring is based on rarity of constituent letters. Minimum word length is 3 characters.

* Uses a reduced 'Americanized' dictionary (circa 80,000+ words).

* Coded in Haxe and exported for Flash. If you'd like other platforms, please ask.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#925Theme2.70
#1051Graphics2.00
#1097Overall2.36
#1139Fun1.89
#1154Innovation1.86
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

PaulSB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Cool, I am partial to a word game. Finding words in 10 seconds is pretty damn tough! Intense.

Nice clean look to it. Bit more feedback/sound would be nice.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I'm not really sure this kind of game is suited for the whole "10 seconds" thing... 10 seconds is way to little time to sometimes even find one word :P
It's got a nice look to it, though :)
Btw, if you enter a game in the compo, you have to give a link to the source code :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

wooooow this is a lot harder than I thought. As said before, the best word to describe it is "intense" :3

Now add screenshake and dubstep

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Wow, that's harder than you'd think it would be.
I liked it! I would've liked a smaller grid, and the ability to click&drag, but pretty fun regardless.

Bjeaurn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Kinda fun! Didn't get any scores though, so maybe I did something wrong (or I missed something in the explanation).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Okay, on my third play I found out that you double click the last letter to get the points. It's a pretty nice concept for a game. Although 10 seconds isn't enough scan-time to find and click through longer words. I found myself limiting to 6 letters or less, but, such is the limitation of the theme here.

Some click sounds, confirmation yays and a tutorial / instructions would have helped me to get more into the game out but I can see this game becoming a lot more playable post-compo, good game!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

The stress of the ten seconds add a new dimension to this kind of game.
You should write somewhere that the double click is validating the word, without Refreshcreations I guess I would have never found it.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

My English requires some improvement...

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Great game, Boggle is one of my favorites. I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

alts says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:33am

Game seems well put together. I don't know how I feel about the combination of a strict time limit and a word game. I feel like the time limit restricts the player form ever getting a sense of what they might be able to do with the board.

dlowe says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Resetting the letters every ten seconds: harsh!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]