August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ToTheRescue

by SaiKai - Jam Entry

Take control of a heroic firemen who has to save helpless civilians out of a burning house.


Control with Left - Right
Up to climb ladders
space to jump
and x to hit doors / repair ladders / pickup and throw civilians and everything else

Game should run on Windows / Linux / Mac ( if that isn't the case..please leave a comment )


Everything was made by myself in 72 hours except the music ( courtesy of FoxSynergy -> http://opengameart.org/content/overdrive-sex-machine )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Fun(Jam)3.68
#37Theme(Jam)3.76
#109Overall(Jam)3.52
#121Humor(Jam)3.11
#141Mood(Jam)3.33
#152Innovation(Jam)3.30
#169Audio(Jam)3.20
#287Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24pm

this is really fun! such a great use of the 10 second theme, the music made me feel like a badass firefighter

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

EPIC

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Nice use of theme ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Fun game. Tomorrow I'm going to start replacing the staircase in my house with a ladder, to honor your bloodline.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Very cool interpretation of the theme. I like the pixely graphics and the smoke streaming through the corridors. I got stuck a few levels in, because I could not make a jump. I always hit my head on the ceiling. But I had a lot of fun up until that point.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Good job! Interesting game mechanics and good interpretation for this theme!

johnfn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Ahaha. I wasn't expecting much from the pictures, but you wildly exceeded my expectations! Funny and tense and very enjoyable! My only suggestion is that the air pockets kinda took away some of the tension, and you really want a lot of tension out of the game, so maybe airpockets should just slow down the rate at which you run out of time instead of giving you all your time back? Just a suggestion. Anyways, it was really good, and a lot of fun! Nice job!

shard123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Loved your entry, it was nicely polished and very fun!

Toadpud says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Well done!

kebabskal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very nice! Good gameplay, Fits theme well, Nice pixel art. Good job!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Fun game. The intense music an sound effects really added to the "mood" for sure. Nicely done.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10am

Very good! The art was done very well and the music was very driving.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:05am

this was a very solid game with execellent use of the theme

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:43am

Well done! Good pixel art, neat game mechanic, great music, and very good use of the theme. Solid!

Khopa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Great game :)

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I liked it, very innovative.

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:31pm

You should put a %.2f to that timer :P
Nice little game, but a bit too easy

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:42pm

That was awesome. Very fun. I love your use of the theme.

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Pretty solid entry. It was a bit easy but the level designs were good and I'm pretty sure with the mechanics you have in place you could flesh out a deeper game with more interesting puzzles and challenges.

Fififox says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Inventive use of the theme, with solid graphics, very good music and humorous dialogs.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Haha! I really like this game. It is unfortunately a tad easy :P but it was mega fun.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

The firefighter was a nice take on the theme, but I almost wish it was even harder by having to rescue the people before they succumb to smoke-- now you can just hang out in the safe zone. But all in all really nice. It could easily be made into a full post-jam game!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:20am

I always wanted to be a fireman.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

Nice one, the gloomy visuals tempted me to try this and it hooked me for quite a while. Really liked the smoke clouds too.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

Simple but effective. :)

5ants team says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:05am

Nice concept, fun and defying. Congrats!

manofdoom says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

Bit rough around the edges (particularly in visuals and level designs) but really fun and having to smash doors down, fix ladders etc was very intense when running out of air. Great use of humour too, what with throwing civilians out of the windows and such. Good work.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Right, this is pretty interesting actually. I was surprised a bit with the game, it had a certain impact that worked well for it. The game works well for the most part, I did find one glitchy-ish thing. If you accidentally jump out of the window you just continue to fall into the blackness until time runs out. A nice remedy would be to just restart the level after they cross a certain distance of falling.

Aside from that the game worked fine. As someone else noted you're going for tension here. So the air pockets really work against some of that often providing too much of an easy route out. Now, since it's worked into the gameplay already I figure a good way to add more tension while keeping the air pocket layout would be to have the air pocket slowly drain of air. Then the tension of being stuck inside without completely unlimited resources is still there, while still retaining the air pocket in the level design.

Aside from that the art was fairly good for what was done, a little rough around the edges for some things (like the air pockets, safe zones, and "edges" of the layout that are surrounded completely by a black abyss). The audio was fine, the song choice fit the intensity and the other sounds worked fine in the game.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Really enjoyable game. I like the sound when you pick someone, and throwing them trough the windows was funny. Good job! :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

good job

dook says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Great use of the theme and the graphics were nice. A little more work and some better levels and this could be a great little game :)

jwolf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nicely done! Your entry is interesting, fun, and really well put together.

Sestren says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:11am

Really great game. I wish there were more levels to play, but as is, it's pretty fun. I like how the screen gets darker as you run out of air.

ahm99 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:55am

Really cool game. I actually see potential for a full version.

Connors says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 7:56am

Awesome. Like many entries it shows potential for being made into a full game...

I'd prefer it be a little harder. Maybe you move slower when you carry people?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]