August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry People With Swords That Are Too Big

by Norgg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Online multi-player sword-flailing.

You've got 10 seconds to live and a sword which is much too big.

Grab a friend to play with.

Let me know on irc/Twitter (@Norgg) if there's server problems.

To connect to a custom server, add #hostname:port to the end of the url (default port is 42424). The server should run in neko 2.0.0, you'll need to host a flash crossdomain file/service too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#306Humor2.71
#393Fun3.11
#403Innovation3.17
#662Mood2.59
#758Overall2.86
#813Graphics2.47
#890Theme2.76

Comments

justi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Flash wolud be a little bigger, so hitting will be more preciseious. Sometimes user is spawned over enemies so was immediately killed. Nice stuff with multiplayer options:)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Interesting concept. Fighting the beasts proved to be much harder than I expected. Moving around is a bit weird, and dying by just touching the beasts feels a bit cheap...

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:50pm

What kind of small beasts are so greedy :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01am

Small eats fast...Oh noes! small fry approching! arghhhhhhh....
Guess it's a bit to much luck for me.

TheDreik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Thats was fun. And multiplayer was a big surprise for me. Not sure I understand the control of the sword as I always die. :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49pm

But they look soooo cute.... why do they kill you so?! This game is minimalism embodied: so simple, but still rich - I couldn't stop! Wish there were some more players - I stuck around for quite some time hoping to dual.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Indeed manipulating a big sword is hard!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Quick bit a fun. Very difficult!

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Manipulating the sword seems pretty hard, and I guess I didn't have much fun because there was no one on the server at the time I played it? Still, it was alright.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48am

Really nice simple game! Only thing I didn't like is when you land on a beast... But you restart so fast it's really not that noticeable. Controls are quite hard, but I'm starting to get the hang of it. Overall, nice job!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

i thought this was wonderful, so much fun!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Pretty awkward controls. Must be more fun with other players but sadly none connected.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Awkward controls ARE THE BEST BIT! Don't change ANYTHING! Don't make it bigger. It's perfect. I keep sneaking back for another round - it's so cool when there are two or three other peeps.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48pm

MULTIPLAYER?!?! AWESOME!!!! Oh, collision detection is off. Dayum.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:49pm

This is chaos, I like it. xD

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:51pm

KILL TO SURVIVE AAHHH!!! Nope I'm dead :) Fun and frenzied game.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

I hate die constantly but there is nothing to do when a bad gamer as me play this type of games. I liked the multiplayer, very good job on it :).

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:29am

I loved it. I didn't bother reading so I thought it was only jumping that swung the sword which was fine by me. With other player it was a laugh. Spawning on things was a bit annoying however. Pretty cool little game. Also the world doesn't appear to loop which might be a good idea but I might be wrong on that.

goyal says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:54am

I just keep dying and keep enjoying the game. I think the beasts are equally hungry as me :D

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

loved the minimal look to it! those little critters aren't scared enough of my giant sword... if only I could learn how to swing it properly!

Norgg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Thanks for all the feedback everyone! For people finding the controls awkward, that is pretty intentional, but it's possible to get quite smooth with them.

If the collision detection seems off it's probably due to that being handled server-side for fairness and you getting some lag (the server is in Europe), it's not doing client-side prediction of hits.

I'm not totally happy with the collisions not being spot on because it can make the awkward controls tend towards frustrating rather than comedic, if I re-did this I'd probably do them client side for the beasts at least.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I liked that it's multiplayer. That was a good touch. I died on spawn a lot though, and the swinging of the sword was hard to get right.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Got a few of my friends playing it with me, it was great. The awkward controls... I know what you were going for, and it kind of works, but with a bit of tweaking I feel it could be both awkward but usable, if that makes sense.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I don't really get it, but I like (as many others) the minimalistic look.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:53am

I thought this was going to be one of those games that ends up being clever and fun because of the awkward controls... but it just ends up being frustrated because touching a beast makes you die. I think it'd be a much better game w/o that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]