August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jetpack Jacob in The Quest for Time

by Jacic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's time to end Dr. Z's evil plot and SAVE TIME!

Use your jetpack and shotgun to destroy robots and collect time as you make your way through the factories.

Controls are explained in-game but here they are again:
Arrows/WASD to move
Space/Z to shoot

I used Haxe + OpenFL + HaxePunk to make this, in case you are interested.

Watch me speedrun this game here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP40qfJyxwc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#477Humor2.38
#566Fun2.92
#686Mood2.56
#800Overall2.81
#806Theme2.88
#811Innovation2.63
#818Graphics2.46
#820Audio1.95
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Terrabyte says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:33am

Woo! Linux builds first! I like your style :)

You may want to add a shell script to the post-compo version to make running the game easier. It was a little long-winded to find the executable, and in the end I had to run it in Terminal to get it to work!

Anyway, the actual game is great! The controls are slick, just like the graphics, and it's quite fun! :)
My only question is "where does 10 seconds" come into this? I know there's a timer, but still. I haven't got through the whole game (I suck at platforming), so it may be at the end and if it is then I'm wrong. :P

Although, in future, can you not name a linux build linux.tar.gz? I'm sure that I'll end up with quite a few linux.tar.gzs by the end of the compo :)

Jacic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Oops, I meant to change the name when I uploaded. :p As for running the game, I forgot about what was necessary. I'll change those things and re-upload.

The 10 seconds applies to the time the jetpack can be used for and the time it takes to recharge. I didn't have enough time (irony) to make the win condition include having a time less than 10 seconds.

Thanks for playing! :)

poohshoes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:19am

The Windows link is broken.

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Whoops, fixed now. Thanks poohshoes. :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02am

I found it way too hard x_x robots can almost always shoot before or at the same time as you and you end up being in a disadvantage. Also, the text could have been a tad slower, it's hard to read the intro if you're not fast enough haha.

Still, it wasn't a bad game. The windows version (post-compo) worked without any trouble!

Jacic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I tried to make this game almost a stealth game. Assessing the situation carefully before acting is important. That's why the robots are so deadly, but I agree that it's definitely too difficult.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36am

Really enjoyed this! Didn't make it very far, but I loved flying around trying to sneak up on all the robots. They're TOUGH!!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15am

Cute little game. Good Job!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:17am

Cool game, the jetpack can make for some fun combat. Great game for 48 hours!

Joxno says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28am

You can never go wrong with jet-packs, enjoyable, well done

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:36am

i like the use of the theme in reverse, good idea -- controls were a little wierd, and it got annoying dying as soon as i got shot once. nice effort

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Wish I could win, guess I'm not good enough :) Very nice, obviously a bit light on the graphics but I liked the concept. Kinda wish the character was a bit smaller so it'd fit everywhere.

Anyway, nice LD entry, keep them coming!

Jacic says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Thanks for the kind words sP0CkEr2. :)

Shooting the enemies but not killing them alerts them to your presence.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:42am

Oh dear. Robots with shotguns.
This is a lot harder than I expected!
Great job putting all this together in 48 hours :]

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:46am

I feel your pain, I really do, but the difficulty here is simply offputting. I toyed around with it for about 10 minutes and never made it very far, all of that death and reset repetition was not fun. I finally gave up when I took a hit from an enemy I couldn't see and died from full (I may have had one heart lost already actually, I don't remember) in one hit. If the gameplay was really engaging I wouldn't mind as much, but the fun wasn't there to justify it. I feel bad marking you down for difficulty, especially when my own entry has a similar issue, but it really just ruined the experience for me.

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:37am

I agree with most others about the difficulty. Apart from the robot "deadliness", at the beginning, to the far left... once you go in there, it's nearly impossible to get back, since the character thinks he's hitting a wall... the jetpack speed needs to be almost at 0 to pass through. Maybe make the character-hitbox a tad bit smaller, just a pixel or two, unless his hair are supposed to be made out of steel or something^^
I managed to clear the bottom two floors eventually, never came any further than this. Maybe add a bit more variety to your tiles, making the playfield appearing less "empty". Also, please don't deduct jetpack energy for regular jumps, I'd really like to have it recharged after jumping up the "stairs". Having the timer count on and on, while you need to wait for it to recharge is driving me crazy :P

sans_seraph says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:20am

This game is actually pretty challenging and deep, though you wouldn't guess it from the arcade style audio and MS Paint graphics. I really liked the difficulty of the robots, as you said it made me take a more stealthy approach. If you made a full length version of this I would totally play it. Also, thanks for the linux build!

Jacic says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 8:17pm

sans_seraph: Thanks for the response! :) I'm actually in the middle (well, not quite that far) of remaking this game to be a sequel, with a lot more levels and enemy types, as well as a level editor!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]