August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hair Cop

by PixelRebirth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a cop with very good hair who is tasked to defuse various bombs. Terrorists guard the explosives and may arm them remotely. Beware, if you don't pick up the schematics you will have to flip a coin to decide which wire to cut.

Xbox 360 Controller recommended.

Keyboard controls:
WASD + SPACE

Hint:
Press down near the bomb to disarm. Left or right to choose a wire to cut.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#38Fun3.83
#62Graphics4.04
#112Overall3.63
#137Mood3.42
#215Humor2.98
#233Theme3.51
#602Audio2.46
#626Innovation2.86

Comments

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07am

Wow, really exciting gameplay :D Love the NES style, even tough I didn't liked how it was blurry...

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

Thanks for playing! It shouldnt be blurry actually, but it kinda depends on the browser I guess. Use Chrome or any Chromium-based browser for best experience.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56am

It looks good, it play well ! Hair Cop is a really cool game as it is in fact. Plus, and that a real plus, the graphics are near awesome. Overall, enjoyed it, even may consider replay.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

Loved it. Great old school experience. And I always love a good mullet!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

I loved the audio, graphics and gameplay. Really nice style and atmosphere! Embarrassingly, I couldn't work out how to get past the second level but I'm sure that's my problem not yours...

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

Almost perfect game, I'd suggest to show SPACE instead of A/B when no gamepad is found, otherwise I get frustrated...

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03am

Awesome graphics!

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:21pm

80's Hair Cop + NES Graphics. What an excellent throwback! Could've used a soundtrack.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

This is one of my favorites so far. Nice job!

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Good retro style game! Hardcore.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Wow, great game and great pixel art!!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I love the NES style graphics and the game is very fun. My only issue is that I can't use my xbox 360 controller, don't not why but it's not working.

I'd like to see a longer version of this game.

renaak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Love the 8-bit inspired graphics, but I don't see anything specific to the NES there. This could be reproduced on just about any 8-bit computer.

Good luck!

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Great art style and concept. The sound effects aren't bad... they serve their purpose, but could have been designed a bit better. The bad guys get alerted too easily - they should have to have a line of sight on you. The second level was unbeatable for me, couldn't figure out how to reach the lower platform without hitting the spikes. Definitely needs a super cheesey '80s style chiptune soundtrack to complete the atmosphere. Not a bad interpretation of the theme. Tight controls (with the exception of that falling mechanic which is what I assume kept me from beating level 2).

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Awesome gameplay. Really hard, but enjoyable :D

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

@Dooleus You need to jump in order to be able to move while falling and not just drop down. And you're right about the chiptune soundtrack!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:25am

Nice NES feel :D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18am

Good entry!
love your old-school style =)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

Nice work! I appreciate pad support!

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Whoa Counterstrike on NES! Good ol' days ;)

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice job, I enjoyed it. Cool old-school graphics. Somethings very satisfying about kicking in the doors.

thethey says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:53am

Hair Cop is the shiiiiit, it reminded me that I needed to watch Axe Cop. Great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

really nice game -- spikes -- why does there always have to be spikes

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very nicely executed! The plaforming has a very good feel to it and I like the twist with the avoidable coin flip.

domrein says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Loved this game. Thank you for making this.

PixelRebirth says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

@domrein You are very welcome! :)

And also thanks everyone for playing and commenting!

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:06pm

this is an awesome job for just 2 days.
One of our best rating is for you.
Well done :)

michail says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Is there a reason for enemies bullets to go through the walls and mine not? A little unfair. Also I didn't like the falling mechanics. Anyway, I must say this game has a very nice style and graphics.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Omg so AWESOME. NES+oldschool difficulty and a mel gibson wannabe. This was fantastic! Top marks, seriously!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Wonderful NES graphics and style.
It's a shame it was so short. :)

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:56am

Nice game with great style.

gmaker says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:34am

really cool game! IT's Five I Think!

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:35am

My first impressions on the game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NL6xgK7Lnk ^^

GagaPete says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very nice game. Looks and feels pretty polished. The only negative is that the controls sometimes don't recognize jumps.

motty says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:03am

Pretty damn good.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:30am

Prince of Downtown ^^
Nice one.

Cryovat says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I loved this. At the beginning I felt it was a bit on the hard side, but once I got used to it, it all worked very well. Loved the NES-style graphics (it seriously looks like a retail title from the eighties, impressive work!). The sound effects fit, all it lacks is a heroic soundtrack.

I'm a fan, hats off! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]