August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dark Interval

by alexandervrs - Jam Entry

Fast-paced escape-the-room-type survival horror. You have 10 seconds to explore and survive the obstacles in each room before the Torment Hunter gets to you.

* Supports 1280x720 widescreen HD displays!
* Supports Gamepad with vibration! (vibration only on Windows standalone)

Linux users, make sure you have the OpenAL libraries, otherwise run in Terminal:
sudo apt-get install libopenal1

To install gamepad support on Linux execute in Terminal:
sudo apt-get install joystick

For the Web port, please use a WebGL & Web Audio capable browser like Chrome.
Chrome also has gamepad support!

Controls

* Keyboard:

Left/Right Arrow - Move
Up Arrow - Interaction (Search, Examine, Open Doors, Pickup)
Down Arrow - Crouch
X Key - Run

* Gamepad:

Dpad Left/Right - Move
Dpad Up - Interaction (Search, Examine, Open Doors, Pickup)
Dpad Down - Crouch
X Button - Run

* Esc key closes the game
* Delete key while in title screen clears any existing save data

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#15Mood(Jam)4.07
#69Audio(Jam)3.60
#105Theme(Jam)3.51
#118Overall(Jam)3.50
#171Innovation(Jam)3.26
#177Fun(Jam)3.22
#229Graphics(Jam)3.51
#338Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:27pm

the folder becomes corrupted everytime i try to download it, hopefully it`s just me?

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:30pm

The archive is corrupt for me too, guess I'll wait for the web version or something :P.

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I'm getting the same :(

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:56am

I get this message :( ! The archive is corrupt

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14pm

D'oh! >.< Updated the link. Should work fine now, I'll download it myself to ensure it's not corrupt now, also fixed a game breaking glitch with the last level transition and added a proper readme.txt file.

I am currently working on the Linux port, will be up soon, the Web version will have to wait a little bit as there are plenty glitches with the sound at the moment.

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Linux build added! Ubuntu recommended! Run the command "sudo apt-get install joystick" to enable the gamepad! Unzip and make sure you have the "Dark Interval" file marked as executable in its file properties. (Don't know how to make a .deb package yet u_u)

Anyways, Linux players, enjoy!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:02pm

That was scary

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I re-uploaded the games, completely removed the filter effects as it could cause a memory leak and crash even when playing with it set to 'off'.

The code is pretty hastily programmed to investigate and figure out where the leak is at the moment, so the safe way is to remove the filter effect completely. I did a full playthrough to ensure the game does not crash anymore, please tell me if it happens to you with the new executables.

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Added Web port of the game. Please use a WebGL+Web Audio capable browser. Chrome also supports gamepad!

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Absolutely amazing! And scary! :)

Epiphane says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Pretty fun, tense game, but it gets a little frustrating/repetitive in the later levels. I gave up after dying 5 times to the double-crushy-box things.

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Thanks guys.

Everyone that has problems with that room, first grab the key quickly from the nearby plant, then turn back and wait until the second press is lower than the first one, that should give you enough time to one-shot and not having to stop in the middle at all. Remember to keep running as you do this. There is a save point right after that room. The game follows a 4 rooms > savepoint pattern. :)

alexandervrs says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:14am

I uploaded new builds with some minor fixes,

First I removed that key in the plant in the room with the double press, it was a cheap move since you could not go back after learning the door needed a key and discouraged a lot of people to continue. I did not change the interval of the press though, it is entirely do-able, you just have to wait until the second press is lower than the first one enough. You need to be precise and calm, as calm as it can be that is.

I moved a door in the first room where 2 keys are required so that the player gets the message about the multi-lock first, this was not clear and confused a lot of people as to why some doors were unlocked twice.

I also added a Greek translation for the captions, mainly so that friends of mine here could enjoy the game in their language. You need to change the "language" in the settings.ini to "el". Default is English "en".

Another minor fix is that the text was being overlapped and confusing people as to when or where they found a key. So I modified that so the text scrolls & fades downwards with the newest message on top.

I hope all these changes fall under the accessibility rule. :)

nicotr014 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:07am

Pretty awesome... enjoyed the suspense

van noctar says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Very scary!!!! I'm affraid because of you!!!!! Serioulsly, this game is very fun!

thesunnyk says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Does manage to be scary. The game just oozes atmosphere even though it is fairly bright. quite an achievement in such a short time. However, even though there's a lot of tension the player just ends up mashing the keys to get out, which means not reading any of the flavour text. However, still quite an excellent game.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:05pm

this was AWESOME.
the opening idea of brooding-over-nothing hero who lost purpose in life is greatly overdone in moody jam games, but the ways in which you convey tension and overall polished feel rocked my ass of a chair.
please make more of it.

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Really scary game! Love graphics and animations. :)

Mago says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Scary but fun. I like the graphics and game concept. Good use of theme.

elementz123 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:56pm

The mood just makes this game awesome. Really nice!

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I. Loved. This. Game.

This is the best game I've played so far. The mood and audio was fantastic. The art on the walls was creepy and simple and amazing. The gameplay, admittedly, leaved a bit to be desired. I loved how there was no timer but the room just got shakier. If only the gameplay were a tad better (at the end I ended up more or less just spamming right and up, haha) too cool. Well done.

g_o says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Nice idea, but I don't think it's well enough for a Jam entry, also the script is kinda dull ( and I usually make some horribly dull scripts, but this one was kinda nonsense... )
You could have done better

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Looks cool, but I didn't really know what to do in the dark room...

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:34pm

We need an FX category. You'll get 5/5 in it :) I loved the transitions and the mood. As a critic, it gets repetitive.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Being a fan of the horror genre, I love the fact that you made this! The soundtrack and the impending doom fits the 10 second theme perfectly! The sounds and the graphical changes when its about to hit 10 seconds is sublime. It creates the right tension.
I loved this game. Please expand on this! :)

zn01wr says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Wow, awesome game. I could not hear any sound, I kept on getting an error about OpenAL, but it doesn't matter :)

reheated says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Wow, this game is really scary and hard. I managed to beat it! But I _nearly_ gave in on the set of 4 levels where you meet the scorpions. Good art and good use of sound to set the mood. I see why you put the save points 4 levels apart, having to go back that far enhances the panic.

zzForrest says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Really cool survival-horror esque game. I was actually very surprised when the monster killed me. The screen freaking out was a neat effect and made you panic without causing too much distortion. I ended up hammering up, and just running from side to side which worked a bit too well.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Wow the shaking room really made me want to get moving!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:11am

Great job, especially on the visual effects to really create a sense of urgency. It definitely had me freaking out in certain rooms. Some of the best monster movies are not about how scary the monster is itself, but the fear that the monster creates tangentially through it's presence. This game recreates that quite well.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I CAN'T DO THIS ANYMORE. Brilliant, brilliant game. I only wish that checkpoints were more frequent, because I can't really get past the crushing blocks part.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 4:32pm

... pretty speechless. This is definitely one of the best contributions I've played so far. Fiendishly difficult towards the end, but that just made getting past the hurdles all the more satisfying. The horror is perfect.

My one regret is that I didn't play it after dark. (I like being scared.)

There's a lot more I'd like to talk about (the excellent mood, the audio, the design of the monster), but like I said, I'm speechless. You'll get high ratings, hopefully that's good enough.

Excellent, excellent work. Will recommend to my friends.

SPOILERS:

I thought the ending revelation was a little bit cheesy. It's fairly common in certain types of indie games to have the game turn out to be a metaphor for depression or a symbolic dream. Something like this, with its great gameplay and mood, would work well on its own merits; sometimes you don't need a plot, IMO. But this game is so good in all aspects, I'm not going to complain.

crueltear says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Looking at screenshots i guess i didn't get too far, probably i was getting bored replaying every level before checking readme and learning how to run.
It's good. Graphics look nice (as nice as horror/scary game can get). Almost every room looks nearly the same. Story... well, i can't say much. Looking at Christina's spoilers, seems that my first ideas what it all is about were correct.
Anyway, good game.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:50pm

scary and very hard toward the ending. with the graphics, sound and use of the theme you've created a really tense atmosphere. impressive!

DreamTeam says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:46am

LOVE the style of the incoming horror. It gives you a VERY serious sense of urgency and panic when things start to get louder. GREAT job on the mood. Also, thanks for gamepad support! Made the game much more fun for me! Great work!

Jeremias says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:15pm

This was... somehow scary :D very basic puzzles, but the atmosphere is great.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:18am

Very well put together horror game. The aesthetics are rather well done. However, after a certain point I found the game too frustrating to continue playing.

meszka says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Quite long and frustratingly hard at times. Some puzzles required perfect timing. I would prefer to have a checkpoint after every room but maybe that would make death less meaningful. Anyway, very nice atmosphere. The audiovisual effects as the time runs make the game really intense.

dudsen says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:43am

Cool stuff, but some rooms to try&error-ish. The repetitive play of some harder rooms destroys the atmosphere (for me). First time i went over 10 seconds in a room was pretty scary ;)

alexandervrs says ...
Sep 29, 2013 @ 4:20pm

A little delayed but I added a Mac OSX build for the game (as I recently got a Mac Mini!)

I had submitted this game also on Newgrounds and Kongrefate, got some really good attention on there plus here and from friends that made me consider remaking this from scratch, keeping the base mechanics and concept but adding more content and spicing things up!

Also replies to all your comments above:

@nicotr014, @Mago, @elementz123, @naufr4g0, @jomomomo, @withoutpillow, @Jeremias
Thank you all!! Glad you enjoyed it!

@van noctar
Good to know you enjoyed it, hope you recover from the terror soon! ;)

@thesunnyk
Yes, that's a flaw really, it should have a small delay when examining things and a bit more spice to it.

@kibertoad
Thanks! I am considering to remake this!

@zconnelly13
Thank you! Yes the shake idea was on my mind for so long and finally got to use it. I wish I had more time to spice up the gameplay, but as I am considering remaking this there will be improvements!

@g_o
Aw, I am sorry you didn't like it. Hope if I remake the game it'd be much better.

@Martin_Monosys
Dark room? All of them are dark... kinda!

@manuq
Thanks!! Yeah repetitiveness is an issue, especially if you make games that rely in common shared mechanics across levels without adding enough spice to the gameplay. For me traps and "puzzle"-like rooms added a bit more variety but it needed more at how the game handled.

@Diptoman
Thank you! Long time horror fan too! I will certainly consider expanding this!

@zn01wr
If you're using Windows you should not have this issue(?). If you are using Linux, perhaps you need to install the openAL library via "sudo apt-get install libopenal1" in the Terminal.

@reheated
Thank you! Yes, I did not want to add checkpoints in each room, since the rooms can be also beaten so fast. I needed to have some kind of effective punishment to the player, I believe games today are too forgiving. However there are people who would like to play the game because of the horror theme but wished the game to be easier. I could have added an easy mode if I had more time, but will certainly consider if I remake this.

@zzForrest
Thank you! Will revise the exploration mechanic if I decide to redo this.

@Brian Stegmann
I agree, a reason I wasn't showing the monster all the time but only a for brief fraction of second as you died. Nowadays many games that advertise themselves as horror games rely heavily on jumpscares rather than creating anticipation of the worst slowly emerging from a place you either know or don't expect.

@BadgerPriest, @jwolf, @meszka
Thanks! Will consider an easy mode if I remake this.

@Christina Nordlander
Thank you! Yes, playing in dark with sound up and a gamepad with vibration is highly recommended!
And no problem, I do have a more complex story which I keep for a future horror game I have in mind, but for such a straightforward game I provided a simple story.

@crueltear
Hope to make things more interesting in the future!

@DreamTeam
Thank you! I try to add gamepad support to all my games, the more control schemes the better, more enjoyable and more accessible the game will be! Control is everything in games!

@dudsen
Thank you! Perhaps if there was more time in each room so you can observe and look for solutions first. I stuck to the 10 second theme which did not leave for much time in each level. I'll try to remedy the trial and error issue if I remake this.

Thank you everyone for your comments! All were really inspiring & helpful!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]