August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sacred Scarab

by Tritax - Jam Entry

You've managed to find your way to the very top of a great pyramid. In a secret chamber, you discover the Sacred Scarab. Unfortunately for you, you've also released the curse of the scarab.

Make your way back down to the base of the pyramid through twenty floors of traps, creatures, and piles of wealth. Be careful, though, each stairway is blocked by a series of locked doors (bronze, silver, and gold).

Search for the keys quickly, as every room fills with a deadly poison gas after just 10 SECONDS!

EDIT *****
I've seen a few people ask in the comments - YES, you can use the keyboard (press Enter when it asks for the A button).



==== Controls ====
Movement - WASD
Whip Attack - Left Arrow
Knife Attack- Right Arrow
"Press A" - Enter Key

** GamePad also supported. A - whip, X - knife.



** requires Microsoft XNA Framework 4.0 ***
installer is included in ZIP (or can be downloaded from http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914).

Thanks for checking it out!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#341Overall(Jam)3.00
#345Fun(Jam)2.80
#379Theme(Jam)2.90
#409Humor(Jam)1.93
#426Graphics(Jam)2.80
#430Mood(Jam)2.50
#498Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

stewthepoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31pm

good stuff, killing things with the whip is fun

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:59am

Does this require an XBox controller?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

Hey nice game, I like the top view gameplay.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

got scared when it told me to press a, but the keyboard controls are perfectly fine. is there really so many people with gamepads at LD?
otherwise - nicely done adventure game.

phi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:00am

Fun game! Could be polished and soundified, but I like the gameplay.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:37am

got scared when it told me to press a, but the keyboard controls are perfectly fine. is there really so many people with gamepads at LD?
otherwise - nicely done adventure game.

Reyn says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Hi. I wasnt sure what to do once I died, I restarted the game every time, for some reason after some of the restarts hitting enter did not press 'A'. I wasn't sure if falling through the floor was something I was suppose to do, given that it deducts life I guess not. After entering a room I sometimes entered onto a baddie, which made the game very difficult. I liked it, thanks

lalanl says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:25am

I kept thinking the doors would open if I walked into them with a key, but I couldn't figure out how to open them.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:45pm

plays well and reminds me of the original zelda. cool game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]