August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SELF-DESTRUCT

by Mago - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a clumsy janitor that works in thermonuclear plant
and one day by mistake presses auto destruct button.
Now you have 10 seconds to get the hell out off there.

CONTROLLS:
A - run left
D - run right
W - jump

*** EDIT ***
I've finally added web wersion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#384Audio2.84
#407Graphics3.13
#441Humor2.44
#459Theme3.28
#602Mood2.67
#753Overall2.87
#879Fun2.52
#922Innovation2.44

Comments

Starspell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Unfortunately the jar file doesn't want to run on my computer. Most of the jar file entries haven't worked on my computer so it's probably a problem on my end.

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Cool little platformer with a good use of the theme. The controls are a little funky and get stuck on edges/crates. Other than that a sold entry for 48 hours!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Well, I've got mixed feelings about this. Generally speaking, this game is so cool. I love the art style (especially those shadows next to the walls, neat stuff) and the premise. The fact that you can re-use those Abort-switches makes it quite fair, I rarely had to start over a complete level since I could always backtrace a few steps if something went wrong. Also, the level design is fantastic and the How To-screen is nice.
However - the controls are (at least on my PC, maybe that's a factor?) an absolute pain. There's nothing more frustrating in such a game than when it simply ignores your keypresses, and it does that *constantly* which really drives me mad.
All in all it gets reasonably high ratings from me, especially on theme, graphics and mood. If it wasn't for the controls, it would probably be in my Top 5 so far, but this way it's only "good". ;)

Mago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Thank you for comments. I know that controls are a bit off but I didnt manage to fix it in given time.

@Starspell
I tested it on few PCs and one MAC and everywhere it worked fine. If you have troubles with jar files maybe try to reinstall java.

kristof says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice game. The controls feel a bit weird and everything seems to be in slow-motion. The music is very cool!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

So close to being great. Tighten those controls up and you have a lovely game on your hands. Good job!

Optimus6128 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Nice try. I see some flashing noise sometimes, is it a bug or a feature of the game?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I liked the look of the main character. Platformers are always right up my alley.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Hard to control but decent game :)

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

Runs ok, nice platformer, but played only two levels because of the edges glitches. Repair that and it will be ok. Also, quite happy soundtrack for exploding thermonuclear plant :D

goyal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:07am

Haha. poor janitor.
Nice game, controls felt a little weird. For eg: you cant jump when moving forward. Also the jump movement is kinda slow. Otherwise, well done!

Gama says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:18pm

There really is something. Simple but well crafted :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:29pm

nice music, sometimes get stuck, simple and easy to understand good job!

gritfish says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Music seemed totally at odds with the visuals/gameplay.
Others have expressed the issues with the controls.

It's a good game though, and the added pressure of needing to push boxes to get around adds a lot.

reheated says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:40pm

The level design was very well done, & nice graphics!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Cute little character :)

Toadpud says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Nice game.

Bernhard says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Made it! That final abort switch floating above the death trap was quite a dick move >_< Thanks for the soothing music :-)
Very well done all around!

udo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Well done! As "the time is running out on you" jump-and-run games go, this was actually pretty laid back and fun to play!

Gonzo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Good game, except for the controls. The graphics and sound are awesome and made me smile.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:32am

Cool game, found it very hard but very fun! I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

laaph says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:44am

Typos in redme.txt were very entertaining. :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I don't think the controls are that bad, in fact I happen to like them!

Jyrkface says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice job! With the control issues polished and a little more content I could see this being an addictive little game!

truiton says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Cool little platform game :)
But when you jump you... can think you're on the moon. :p

loxo says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I played the web version and apart from the controls and occasional flickering it's a solid game. Nice concept, art and audio. Also you managed to include some levels with nice layout.

EmptyFlash says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Pretty fun little game. Was a little confused what the objective was at first, but got it pretty quick.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 6:32pm

The controls seem a bit floaty and it was hard to distinguish whether the environment details were interactive, walls, or just decals.

A better character controller would make a world of difference.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Good game, i like what you did :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]