August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Open the box

by Beerman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

More of an LD12 than an LD48, I started work on this around lunchtime on Sunday. Should run on anything with java >1.6 installed, android build coming soon.

Press space to open the boxes and win prizes. Beat the target to make it to the next level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#175Theme3.62
#188Humor3.05
#209Audio3.19
#226Graphics3.50
#411Mood2.91
#430Innovation3.14
#466Fun3.03
#471Overall3.14

Comments

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:15pm

A game with a bit of lottery and very addictive for me. I like the presentation. Cool game.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Wow that was intense, awesome vibe also.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Simple, yet addicting game. Mashing the spacebar worked for the first levels, but didn't really help me on the later ones. I like it. :)

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

Woah! Nice! Pretty addicting.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Kitten "Instant win"! You won Internet sir! ;) I would love to have this on Android device :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

really awesome game seriously 5 out of 5.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Cute simple idea, well executed, love the look and feel of it, could see it doing well on phones. Gameplay got a bit samey for me after a while but it is what it is. Nice one.

rejome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Interesting idea but too repetitive for me. Nice music though!

berkano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Great fun! Love the mix of retro 2D fonts and 3D models. Didn't find it too challenging but stopped after t6he first 6 or 7 levels... does it get harder?

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

It does slowly get a little harder - I didn't have a huge amount of time to balance the difficulty properly though so if you get a lucky run of kittens and multipliers it can be a few levels before your score starts drifting close to the target again.

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Also, android build's now available on the Play store.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Great game but a bit too reptitive.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice idea, but I wish there was something added to give it more depth and maybe make it less dependent on randomness.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Quite addictive! I enjoyed the countdown music :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16am

Holly hell! I love you man :D Thanks for Android version! You rock!

Threef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28am

It's simple interpretation of theme, but I like it. Also both music and graphics are good.

Ninja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

You took the box! Let's see what's iiinnnn the box!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Doesn't work in osx (mountain lion) D:

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Countdown music is interesting, gameplay a little repetitive and random, but fun :)

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Not predictable, but tasty! I mean, funny.

Got bored after 2100 and getting several Kittens in a row, and then failed when opening all the boxes. Maybe I'm doing something wrong - not drinking beer before playing, to be exact.

Good audio.

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cute game. A lot more fun than all those "time your clicking/button pressing right" games. A bit too random though. I lost a level in spite of opening all the boxes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]